We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Art Series - The Cullen

TravelocityUS$142*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Art Series - The Cullen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,060 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Cullen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,047: English reviews
The Entrance, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight in a Cullen Suite, which is a 2 bed studio. Concept of the room is great, privacy but open planned at the same time. Wonderful art everywhere and wonderful staff. Unfortunately if your a stickler for attention to detail like me, you notice the cobwebs. You notice a T.V. doesn't work and that one of the soap containers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CC_Tourism_Journal
Stephanie A, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear 'CC_Tourism_Journal', Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review. While the feedback regarding our team and art is wonderful we never want anyone to have a less than excellent experience and I am sorry to hear of the issues you mention above. We have not received any direct email feedback but would love to get...

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Location was great. Tram line straight outside and 5 min stroll to the train station. Lots of great choices for coffee and food. The room was spot on and really enjoyed all the art. Will book here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 10 April 2017

superb hotel in a great location. Prahran is super trendy with lots of incredible cafes and bars within walking distance. Tram is also on doorstep. The hotel itself is both comfortable and stylish and the staff very helpful. Will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Melbourne.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank EwenCameronSmith
Stephanie A, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear 'EwenCameronSmith', Thank you for your lovely comments. Prahran truly has so many incredible cafes and bars it is easy to spend a whole weekend indulging without ever leaving! If your ever feeling curious about another suburb we have smart cars available for hourly and daily hire. They can take you as far as the Yarra Valley or as close...

Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Fabulous hotel in a great location. Around the corner from Chapel st shops and cafes and cinemas. Hotel is modern with great contemporary artwork. Two convenient onsite restaurants. Breakfast available there. Rooftop bar across the road was buzzing. See pics

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
Seymour, Australia
Reviewed 3 April 2017

My mum and dad recently spent the weekend in Melbourne; being a good daughter I booked their hotels for them and also being a lover of the Art Series hotels booked the Cullen. My mum has just phoned me to tell me how much they both loved it, how wonderful the staff were, how good the location was, how lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherie G
Stephanie A, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear 'Cherie G', I am so happy to hear your parents enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for recommending and booking them in with us. We hope you all enjoy your time at our sister property The Larwill Studios! Kind regards, Stephanie A Duty Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

If you've read the other reviews, no need to read mine. If you haven't, go ahead, read theirs, it all there and it's all true. ▪Quirky design that works ▪Brilliant staff ▪Clean, pleasant rooms ▪Nicely located to food, transport and entertainment I can only add a big thank you to the staff member who booked us in; Your recommendation for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coffeenut64
Stephanie A, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear 'coffeenut64', Thank you for happily sharing your awesome experience with us. We are all committed foodies at Reception and are delighted to learn you enjoyed our recommendations. There are so many great spots for you still to discover you will just have to come back. There is always some good coffee waiting for you! Kind regards, Stephanie A Duty...

Reviewed 1 April 2017

My partner was scheduled for an MRI at the Alfred on Saturday morning at 8.30am so we opted to stay close the night before to avoid the city snarl on a Saturday morning. The pre check in via the internet was a great idea as there was no waiting when we arrived. The service was prompt and very helpful booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne Z
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 1 April 2017

My husband and I were attending our nieces wedding and it was my husbands birthday the next day, so we decided to find a hotel to stay over night. We picked The Cullen because we were intrigued with the idea of an art series hotel, and had previously stayed at Melbourne QT which is part of the same hotel group...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri B
Stephanie A, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear 'Terri B', Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Now that you are intending to hunt down all of our Art Series properties it sounds like we have done our job well! The Cullen is certainly the most quirky find in the group with our Spanish inspired cows in reception however you will find...

Reviewed 24 March 2017

This is one is one of the most awesome hotels around, the hotel has a nice feel, it has so much charm and character. It is certainly not another pre-fab hotel. It is as unique and different as the art that it is embellished with. Would stay here anytime, it is in a great location with a great array of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stan R
Gold Coast Hinterland, Australia
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

I had not much of an idea where I'm going to stay during my just short passed visit to Melbourne last weekend. The Cullen stay was arranged by my soon son in law. He did well. I arrived around 4pm where I was greeted in a nice, happy and friendly way by the receptionist. He pointed out that my room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agreub

438 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (278)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (142)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (121)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Growler Penthouse (42)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
1,647 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 159 in Melbourne
2,015 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,334 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#26 of 159 in Melbourne
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Price Range: $175 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The one suggestion would be, better reading light! Everything else was perfect.”
Bjpusa, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Get the vibe off Chapel St and Commercial Rd on the lower floors....”
Lace4774, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The lights in the bathroom are on separate switches, one just outside the bathroom and one connected to the main ceiling lights in the apartment. It's easy to think one is not working. ”
susanvJ8697WT, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing Commercial Road were a little noisy with window open. I liked the tram sounds, nothing too loud. Very quiet when windows closed”
robynl96, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was a bit on the chilly side outside but that's Melbourne weather.”
yvonnez596, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$142* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$142
CancelonUS$156
Hotwire.comUS$142
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates