We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

680 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
See the most recent reviews
Showing 678: English reviews
Ryde
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Joined a history tour of the hotel, Very interesting and informative. The tour ended in the cafe shop, which has many items from the old days. I found these two machines and was fascinated how far the technology has taken us...

Helpful?
Thank 907xinh
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear 907xinh, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent History Tour of the Hydro Majestic Hotel. It is indeed fascinating all the old treatments that were offered at the Hydro Majestic when it... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

My wife and I had been wanting to stay at the Hydro for many, many years. Finally we were treated to a stay by our daughter for my wifes 50th birthday. We arrived early afternoon on Friday. Initial impressions were good, although a little puzzled by having the hotel reception mixed in with the lounge and bar in the Belgravia... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bellbirdweb
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Bellbirdweb, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. While I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the renovations and found the staff to be helpful and pleasant I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay due to noise... More 

Travellers are raving about these Medlow Bath hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This is going to be a long review as I was not happy! I was very excited to be visiting the Hydro, one of those places I have always been fascinated by and wanted to visit. I received a gift voucher from my daughter for my 50th and when I rang to book was advised it had to be a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa T
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa T, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. While I am glad to read that you enjoyed the renovations that were completed here at the Hydro Majestic Hotel, I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed in some areas... More 

Kellyville, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

So where do I start With the negatives but finish on a positive No dropping off check in area for the car....... go park and walk your luggage back Someone to open the door and greet you.......... nope Check in is in the bar area and breakfast eating room...... why not in the Casino room where there is a concierge... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Mark B, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience in the wintergarden restaurant. I am however sorry to read that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. Please allow me to... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I have been promising myself a trip to this iconic Australian hotel for years and last night was the big night. I'd booked a "Heritage Room" B&B package at $419.00. Heritage sounded good in this grand old hotel. Imagine my disappointment to arrive at one of the smallest rooms I've ever stayed in in Australia -with a view of the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Mary C, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed in some areas to provide you with the service, and attention that we are striving to achieve and be renowned for. I hope... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Well this hotel was in my bucket list I can now tick it off But probably will never come back Service was atrocious Nothing at all to do at hotel but drink the expensive cocktails ;( Rooms small Dust And holes in curtains Shower well u would need to run around to get wet although this posed as a problem... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kristabel1971
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Kristabel1971, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. While I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the renovations, I was disappointed to read that we failed in some areas to meet your expectations for your recent stay at the Hydro Majestic Hotel.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here prior to the latest upgrade.It has been upgraded again, we were absolutely gobsmacked with the latest look and feel of this hotel yesterday. I remember staying here as a child back in the 50s and the feeling is back. It is a hotel rich in history and the art deco look is unbelievable.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Wayne B, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us and very much appreciate your kind words about the Hydro and indeed the great team of people we have working here.... More 

Thornton, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

While visiting the Blue Mountains we stopped at the Hydro Majestic for a bite to eat. The hydro providores is an shoppers delight, the coffe and food was delicious and when we finished we walked through the refurbished Hydro Majestic and it lives up to its name Majestic. Thourghly beautiful,amazing views and I am told fantastic accommodation.My husband and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Cathy C, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Hydro Majestic Hotel, in particular the Pavilion. We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of... More 

Morisset, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

After closing for six years this mountain gem has found a wonderful new life. The view is still the most outstanding feature, but it is a close call to the beauty of the Hydro itself. We take ourt hats off to the restoration, the attention to detail, the passion to re-create the original features and the ability to have the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary W
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Gary W, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains I am delighted to hear that you appreciated the revitalisation works that was completed at the Hydro Majestic and enjoyed the history tour. It is always rewarding to hear that the time, effort and... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I brought 100 seniors here for lunch, and was disappointed. The venue was booked by the group, prior to their booking of transport, so I have had no direct dealing with the hotel. Firstly, there is no suitable drop off point for coach groups. Especially seniors, who may have mobility issues. We dropped where the concierge told us to drop.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Misrabelle
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Misrabelle, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. Please allow me to address points in your review below; -we have a designated coach drop off area which is located outside the pavilion, this leads onto a fully accessible ramp which accessed the main... More 

876 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (529)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (118)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (263)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (315)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Belgravia Room (34)
Viewed
Belgravia Valley View Suite (34)
Viewed
Executive Valley Suite (60)
Viewed
Hargravia Valley View (38)
Viewed
Heritage Valley view Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medlow Bath
4.9 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
785 reviews
4.5 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.2 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
6.5 km away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains is one of the most historical and iconic hotels in Australia. Situated on the escarpment edge overlooking the Megalong Valley which adjoins the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in Medlow Bath, NSW, Australia. With the picturesque Megalong Valley and Majestic lookout, abundant wildlife and a scenic attractions right at your doorstep, the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains has 54 guestrooms to choose from and offers several accommodation options to meet the needs of every guest. The accommodation rooms have been refurbished in the Belgravia main building and the Belgravia Gallery wing with each room being designed to reflect the rich heritage of this iconic hotel and of the Blue Mountains with the glamour of yesteryear. Each room features a seamless blend of art deco inspired design with a black and white colour scheme and have been finished off with a modern edge. Our iconic Blue Mountains hotel offers a range of onsite facilities to meet the needs of each and every guest. Relax in the comfy Belgravia Lobby Lounge with its plush lounges and ornate fireplace, spoil yourself with lunch or dinner or maybe an afternoon high tea in the Wintergarden with panoramic views overlooking the Megalong Valley. Celebrate all that is Chinese in the history of the Hydro Majestic in our Shanghai chic team room and bar, decorated in rich Oriental reds, with a delectable yum cha menu in the Salon Du The or maybe sample a cocktail or two in Cat's Alley whilst gazing at the majestic sunset over the Megalong Valley. Sit back and relax in a casual dining atmosphere of the Boiler House Cafe which is set in a unique industrial heritage space whilst overlooking the panoramic views of the Megalong Valley. Experience the "Taste of the Blue Mountains" whilst venturing through the Hydro Majestic Pavilion which is an interactive living history space and vibrant providores showcase which demonstrates the best regional gourmet food and wine of the Blue Mountains. Located within a 1 hour and 45 minutes drive from Sydney CBD, the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains is a breathtaking escape for romantics, a delight for gourmets and a wonder for lovers of nature and the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains

Address: 52 - 88 Great Western Hwy, Medlow Bath, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Medlow Bath
Price Range: $168 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Katoomba
Hydro Majestic Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just go for a drink at the bar, or maybe dinner but stay elsewhere, it is not worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles tim_jones_sydney, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“there are no lifts so best to stay on the ground or first floors.”
 of 5 bubbles vicky_kvisle, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a heritage view room but beg them to check whether the windows open.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahwC7454IC, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't expect to get what your paying for. This is a beautiful hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles r0wdy_1961, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“An escarpment view room is best.”
 of 5 bubbles PerryB137, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay