We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portobello By The Sea

PricelineUS$156*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$163*
US$156*
Great Deal
US$163*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Portobello By The Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
Start your review of Portobello By The Sea
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Relaxing time for our family of 5. Even though the weather was not the best the appt is spacious and well supplied and the beach and the pool still beautiful. Plenty of good places locally to dine eg Tuk Tuk Thai, Surf Club and well stocked reasonably priced bakery and butcher.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
GuestServicesBDM1, Guest Relations Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear Steven P, Thank you for choosing Portobello by the Sea and for taking the time to review your experience. We're so pleased that you had a relaxing and enjoyable time. Kind regards, Portobello by the Sea

Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

The staff at the Portobello are very friendly. The accommodation is very good, self contained units have everything you need and are clean and comfortable. Fantastic location close to the beach with shops and restaurants close by. The restaurant downstairs - Three Bar and Grill is first class, best steaks ever and very good service. The Portobello is our family's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
GuestServicesBDM1, Guest Relations Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear Paul C, We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you kindly for your 5 star review. We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Portobello by the Sea

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Location was practical for our requirements. The apartment was spacious, clean and had all that we required plus an ocean view. As it was within walking distance to the beach, the three days proved to be very therapeutic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrigitteGordon
GuestServicesBDM1, Guest Relations Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear BrigitteGordon, Our sincere condolences for your loss. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us, and experienced some down time at the beach. Kind regards, Portobello by the Sea

australia
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I made a mistake when booking through booking.com and booked for March instead of February. We had our granddaughters 3rd birthday on Saturday morning at Currimundi Lake and then were going to stay up the coast for the night to escape the relentless heat. I called at 12 to see if we could check in early and then found out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crfrancis
GuestServicesBDM1, Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear crfrancis, Thank you for your feedback. The standard policy is that there is an extra charge per person and limited to 3 people in a 1 Bedroom unit. As you had 2 extra people, you suggested to use your own blow up mattress instead of the sofa bed. The other matters as mentioned will be addressed (as applicable), but...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Secure parking with key access - same for access after 6pm to property. 200m walk from beach (across 1 road at pedestrian crossing). Patrolled beach. 4 cafes and 1 restaurant in easy walk, BWS and Pharnacy part of commercial tenancy attached to property. We had a 2 bedroom unit, it was clean and nicely appointed. Air-conditioner was beautiful but had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QFWP
GuestServicesBDM1, Guest Relations Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear QFWP, Thank you for choosing Portobello by the Sea and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our location, secure parking, BBQ area and found the apartment clean and well appointed. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Portobello by the Sea.

Cleveland, Australia
Reviewed 30 January 2017

This was my 2nd time staying at this property, the first time was exactly a year ago. The property is now under new management and has become a little run down since my last visit. More attention to detail needs to be made, our cupboard in bedroom had cobwebs and dust in them, the floors were grainy with sand and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jazmik
Manager M, Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review

Appreciate your feedback and some comments on the points raised. The cleaners & procedures are exactly the same as before and we would have immediately addressed the cleaning issues should this have been reported to management. Pleased that we were able to sort the air-conditioner leaking problem out the same morning and the recommended notes were necessary to ensure the...

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Signage is 'luxury', it's 3 star if that. On arrival to Unit 50 the smell of cigarette smoke hit us. Whole unit stunk and bedlinen stunk. We complained and management gave us glen 20 and airfreshner. Lounge was dirty and smelly old we wouldn't sit on it. All 4 chairs on balcony were broken, fridge and stove 20 years old....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tan2711
GuestServicesBDM1, Guest Relations Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear tan2711, Thanks for sharing your feedback again. As per the email that we sent you we are addressing related matters with the unit owner. We appreciate your feedback. Kind regards, Portobello by the Sea

Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Portobello by the Sea is in a great little spot. Everything is within walking distance. Dicky Beach is not high end but it has a few restaurants and takeaway shops, an IGA, newsagent, hairdresser and chemist. Perfect for families that dont want to swim in amongst thousands of people at Caloundra and other beaches. There is still a parolled beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank macandmui
GuestServicesBDM1, Guest Relations Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear macandmui. Thank you so much for choosing Portobello by the Sea and for your great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Portobello by the Sea

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 26 December 2016

So one can only presume that if adults are drinking beer in the pool for hours on end that eventually they will need the toilet, however not a toilet in sight around the pool area, so guess what?? Pretty gross really and irresponsible of complex not to provide a toilet. Lots of stairs all the time with this complex, if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sneeky76
GuestServicesBDM1, Guest Relations Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear Sneeky76, We are glad that you enjoyed our location, size of the apartments and found the beds comfy. Thank you for all of your feedback, your comments have been noted. We hope that you'll consider staying with us again in the future. Kind regards, Portobello by the Sea

Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

We have been coming here for many years and we still love the place. The staff management go out of their way to help out to keep the place clean and the gardens lush. The vibe in the area is family friendly and it's so close to the shops and beach. Recommend this place to anyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmyAr84
GuestServicesBDM1, Guest Relations Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear AmyAr84, Thank you so much for your glowing 5 star review and recommendation of Portobello by the Sea. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Portobello by the Sea

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dicky Beach
2.5 km away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2.3 km away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
233 reviews
4.5 km away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
610 reviews
2.4 km away
Aspect Caloundra
Aspect Caloundra
#6 of 51 in Caloundra
146 reviews
2.5 km away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Affordable 4 star luxury Caloundra Holiday Accommodation, just an hour’s drive north from Brisbane. Portobello By The Sea is located opposite beautiful Dicky Beach, an unspoilt stretch of sun-drenched white sand, on Queensland's magnificent Sunshine Coast. With a superb patrolled beach at the front door, excellent for both swimming and surfing, a holiday at Portobello will be both refreshing and memorable.The spacious one, two and three bedroom Caloundra resort apartments are set amidst landscaped tropical gardens and feature an open-plan design with large timber decks or private balconies to enjoy the sea breezes whilst enjoying your Caloundra holiday. Laze by the lagoon style heated pool with wading area perfect for the children, or enjoy a sizzling BBQ by the poolWith local shops, restaurants and cafes nearby, just park your car and relax whilst on vacation on the Sunshine Coast. And when it's time to take in the sights, Portobello is only minutes away from the heart of Caloundra and close to all the major tourist attractions on the Sunshine Coast - Australia Zoo, Underwater World, Montville, Maleny, The Glass House Mountains, The Hinterlands and so much more... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portobello By The Sea

Address: Portobello 6 Beerburrum St, Dicky Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra > Dicky Beach
Price Range: $137 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello By The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portobello By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portobello By The Sea staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Portobello By The Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room on the side of the lifts overlooking the pool.”
Jazmik, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room looking towards the road, otherwise the pool noise is all you'll hear”
Sneeky76, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a nice view”
SagMoonTravels, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“great hotel”
  • Inside our room
JerkyWez, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Unit 60 is the only 3 bedroom with water views.”
stevenpI9039WR, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$156* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hotels.comUS$163
Hotwire.comUS$163
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates