Castelo de Itaipava Hotel

Castelo de Itaipava Hotel

BR 040 Km 56, Itaipava, Petropolis, State of Rio de Janeiro 25740-340 Brazil
Traveller (1291)
Suíte Imperial
Room & Suite (213)
Salão Real - Café da Manhã
Dining (79)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#7 of 14 hotels in Itaipava
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Wifi
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Banquet room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour front desk
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

BR 040 Km 56, Itaipava, Petropolis, State of Rio de Janeiro 25740-340 Brazil
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 66 out of 100
66
Internacional Airport
52.8 km
See all flights
Santos Dumont Airport
60.2 km
See all flights
1,119Review13Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 543
  • 220
  • 145
  • 104
  • 107
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Yanet P wrote a review Nov 2023
Otta, Norway73 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The castle is gorgeous but the rooms definitely reflect the age of the property. I stayed at the Suite da Torre (Tower suite) and it's one of the most interesting rooms I've ever stayed in with breathtaking views. The bathroom though has a constant sewage smell. The fist day we had left the windows ajar and door open and then in the next day the smell was nauseating. We had to keep the windows open to dissipate the smell. My sister also mentioned having the same smell in her room. I must note that to get to the room there is a very narrow spiral staircase so it might not be accessible for everyone.
There is just one very slow elevator in the hotel so it takes a while at busy times.
Staff was excellent and the grounds had several activities for kids and adults and also several options for dinning. The views of the grounds and surrounding are gorgeous. My niece had her wedding at the castle and it was like a fairy-tale.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John F wrote a review May 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Place looks fantastic, food wasn't bad.

Unfortunately our room (Samurai Suite) had a musty, damp smell which was not pleasant. There were also super-bright house lights aiming right in our window, and the 'black out' curtains supplied did nothing to keep the high powered neon illumination out. Overall not the best. When checking out I made a complaint and said I would not be leaving a positive review unless my issues were recognised. They said that because I booked thru an external site, they couldn't offer any discount.

Weak
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't choose the Samurai Suite, it smells damp and you'll be kept up all night by bright...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 9 May 2018
Hi, John! We are sorry for the inconvenience and our facilities and services have not met your expectations. Anyway, we thank you very much for your evaluation and apologize for what happened, because this is not the standard that we cherish. In fact, we have already forwarded their considerations to those responsible so that this kind of situation does not happen again. Thanks for the feedback. Hugs, Team Itaipava Castle.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CariocaBonito wrote a review Nov 2015
Eugene, OR182 contributions110 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Simply put: it's a real castle, built of stone from a nearby quarry and crafted by craftsmen imported in the early part of the 20th century.
The Baronesses' room is vast, the bathroom is a work of art: it is all marble, with a life-sized satyr's head faucet emptying into a massive (marble, of course) tub. Flanking it are two beautiful nymph bas-reliefs, museum quality.
The amazing beauty of this castle are matched by the attentive staff, the wonderful breakfasts, and the dining room that faces the pool and mountains beyond.

I cannot imagine a more romantic place for a couple's special celebrations!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The Baron or Baronesses' rooms are magnificent and worth the (reasonable) expense.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
duckvader wrote a review Jan 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom194 contributions110 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I may be based in UK but lived in Brasil for 4 years, spent a couple years travelling about the country. This time here to see family (wife is from Rio) so we both know what to expect from hotels.

Missus and I were with her parents and they wanted to show me this part of Brasil, of which I've not been. Amazing drive from Rio to here once out in the interior with lush forests which certainly amp up the atmosphere.

On checking in, it was frankly silly. We were the only 4 in the queue and it took a ludicrous 45 mins reception thought it was just my wife and I (we did the booking on hotels.com). There was a lot of too-ing and fro-ing between staff and hotels.com to ascertain there was indeed 2 rooms booked - we even had the app showing them it's TWO rooms booked. After a stupid wait and filling in paperwork we got to our room (elevator didn't work so had to take the stairs with our suitcases).

Room spacious with AC but there are no tea/coffee making facilities, no drinking water so make sure to take that yourself. TV didn't work not that we were bothered otherwise would've moaned to front desk. It's open internet so use a VPN if doing anything like banking or confidential - good consistent speeds so we could watch some Netflix on our tablet.. Grounds are also very nice, if not a little on the fake side, wonder what fellow Europeans think!

Shower was a saving grace with amazing pressure and as hot (or cold) as you want....very good. Bed was incredibly comfy and we slept like babies (saved me giving 1 star).

We were all very much looking forward to dinner at the taberna after reading all the reviews.

Whether there's another taberna that we don't know about because if not, then I've no words on our dinner experience.

Being a Friday night, we thought it'd be packed, especially since there was a wedding going on at the same time.

Staff were not only moody but incredibly slow for a dining hall which was only a quarter full, they all just seemed to stand about and natter amongst themselves. We literally had to wave at them to get any form of attention.

Missus and I opted for bife de ancho for two. In-laws ordered churrasco de Barao (pieces of beef, sausage and chicken) for 2. After a 30 min wait, food arrived. we could tell our med-rare beef was over....infact, it was soooo tough and over it was more leather than what was a living animal. We could also tell the quality of the meat was very poor. Asked the waiter we would want a replacement and please be sure it's med-rare. I mean, comon, whether you're at home or a chef in a busy resto, it's not difficult to grill a steak. Replacement comes. Not only had it not rested with the pool of blood on the plate but it was BLUE, like proper raw. We then said for it to be cooked so it's MED-RARE. He barked back at us declaring that's med-rare. We didn't know whether to laugh or cry. He took it away and 10 mins later gave it back but it was still on the rare side. We put up with it. By this time, in-laws had eaten their dinner and working on the sides. Our beef was simply awful quality - it comes as 3 separate steaks. We each only had about half a steak each as it was frankly, inedible. I've never come across a place which serves meat so badly. My in-laws also didn't eat all theirs either. Then we asked for bill and they took some plates away...waited 15 mins and nothing then another waiter collected some more plates and again we ask for the bill. Waited and waited and waited with a whole load of sides and empty glasses and 30 mins later another waiter came with unwanted beer to finally click we were finished and wanted the bill. Finally after about an hour just waiting for the bill were we set loose, hangry!

Breakfast buffet was just ok....coffee awful (it was filter coffee but tasted like it had been around for a bit). The coffee machine wasn't working but since hardly anything seems to actually work in this hotel, we weren't surprised. I had what I think was scrambled eggs and again, inedible. How difficult is it to make eggs or steak? Anyway, left hungry once again but thankfully we were off to Petropolis and enjoyed a much better experience at the consequent hotels.

Hence for the time wasted at arrival, the awful dinner (and breakie) I'm being generous and giving 2 stars and we'll never return. Shame!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Ross wrote a review May 2019
24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel itself is beautiful and very good for business.
One can choose any restaurants the hotel offers, but i sugest the one inside the very castle, restaurante do castelo.
Breakfast and service of a five star hotel.
I use to stay there whenever it is possible.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 14 May 2019
How's it going, Ross123peter? We were flattered by your evaluation and immensely happy to know that you had a good stay. We hope you will visit us again very soon and take time to check out our other exclusive suites. After all, each one was designed to be useful to our dear guests! Thank you for evaluating us and see you soon! Hugs, Team Itaipava Castle.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter Ross wrote a review Dec 2018
24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything is perfect at the hotel. The staff, the room, all the 3 restaurants and mainly the castle. A masterpiece of the brazilian architect lucio costa, all stone made with very elegant and luxurious materials as carrara marble and so.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 13 Dec 2018
Hello, Ross! How are you? Thank you very much for your review and we were extremely happy to know that you had a good stay. On your next visit to Itaipava, take time to visit the Solar, our Bar and Restaurant. We have snacks and full meals and an area specially planned for children, if you want to come with your whole family! Hugs, Team Itaipava Castle.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yebiisyou wrote a review May 2018
Auckland Central, New Zealand11 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room (Samurai Suite) smelt damp and mouldy. The floodlights that illuminate the property shine straight into the room, and the 'blackout curtains' supplied do nothing.
When I asked for a discount after an average night's sleep, they offered nothing as I booked from an external site. What a joke.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Samurai Suite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 22 May 2018
Hi, Yebiisyou! We appreciate your assessment and apologize for this, as this is not the standard we cherish. We have already referred your considerations to those responsible so that this kind of situation does not happen again. Hugs, Team Itaipava Castle.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carolinafzs d wrote a review Dec 2017
Rio de Janeiro, RJ508 contributions106 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were invited to a wedding in the Castelo de Itaipava and made our booking to overnight here.
In our checkin we got a free upgrade and a larger room was offered to us, the Suite do Príncipe. The decoration is lovely, the bed was very cozy for a good rest after an amazing party. We were concerned about the noise but it was very quiet in the room.
The hotel did not have a ironing service for the clothes but quickly a board and an iron were provided, so we could be well presented in the wedding.
The breakfast is in a small place but well organized. The lady who was working in the breakfast was very kind and with a beautiful smile. We were those guests that arrive late for the breakfast and she did not stop feeding us :)
The hotel has a high price but it is very convenient if you have an event here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 2 Feb 2018
Hello, carolinafzs. We are honored with your evaluation and with every compliment. Our team is very grateful for the warmth and recognition of our work. Come visit us more often and get to know our restaurants. It will be my pleasure to welcome you! Hugs, Hotel staff at the Castle.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ernst Daniel N wrote a review Sept 2017
Rio de Janeiro, RJ82 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
You get an authentic feeling of being in an old castle. They did a good job on the decoration.
don't carry too much luggage if you stay in the upper rooms... no elevators!
For business, family and friends.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 15 Sept 2017
Hello, how are you? Many thanks for rating us on TripAdvisor. We love to know you had a good experience with us. We work for the client to have a great stay, with excellent service! We look forward to welcoming you on a new opportunity. A big hug. Team Itaipava Castle Hotel and Bistro.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SommelierProSP2013 wrote a review Aug 2017
Lenzerheide, Switzerland105 contributions92 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Itaipava Castel is really a folly of a person who had everything transported from Europe to build a European castle. The room we had was very nice, even though the design requires some getting used to.
The breakfast was pretty horrible, no service and total disorder, the few staff incapable of coping with the crowds that were swallowing everything.
Overall, I think it is overpriced and should really only be considered if someone wants to do something totally out of the ordinary, knowing that it has its deficiencies.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2017
Hello! Thank you very much for evaluating us. We were very happy to know that we had a good experience in our Hotel. We will check your thoughts on the Bistro so that we can apply the necessary improvements. A big hug. Team Itaipava Castle Hotel and Bistro.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wanderer33378532134 asked a question Jun 2023
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
A piscina é aquecida?
Answer from Hélia Valéria
Rio de Janeiro, RJ455 contributions110 helpful votes
Olá. Não é aquecida, porém ela é coberta, e tem as hidromassagens que são bem quentinhas.
Ana Rosa asked a question Nov 2022
Rio de Janeiro, RJ26 contributions2 helpful votes
Há facilidade para pegar e chegar de uber?
Viviane M asked a question Aug 2021
Rio de Janeiro, RJ207 contributions36 helpful votes
Animais ( cães) são permitidos ?
Answer from Fabi Medici
1 contribution
Sim
WMEES asked a question Aug 2021
Goiania, GO3 contributions1 helpful vote
A piscina é aquecida?
Answer from GlauciaRJ
State of Rio de Janeiro2 contributions3 helpful votes
Quando eu fui, estava aquecida e era verão.
tatiana carneiro asked a question Apr 2021
1 contribution
Tem atividade para as crianças?
Answer from Ester M
Rio de Janeiro, RJ202 contributions59 helpful votes
Sim.... uma área interna com brinquedos.
Yebiisyou wrote a tip May 2018
Auckland Central, New Zealand11 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Samurai Suite"
Read full review
John F wrote a tip May 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't choose the Samurai Suite, it smells damp and you'll be kept up all night by bright lights"
Read full review
goodtogethome wrote a tip Dec 2016
London477 contributions159 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"check various sites for prices as they vary enormously"
Read full review
RaylerErse wrote a tip Aug 2016
Rio de Janeiro, RJ54 contributions55 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The main tower is wonderfull, with a nice view from the garden."
Read full review
CariocaBonito wrote a tip Nov 2015
Eugene, OR182 contributions110 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Baron or Baronesses' rooms are magnificent and worth the (reasonable) expense."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Itaipava area.
PRICE RANGE
S$46 - S$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of Rio de JaneiroPetropolisItaipava
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASTELO DE ITAIPAVA HOTEL: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,400 Photos (Brazil) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Nearby attractions include La Grande Vallée (1.1 km), Praça do Cavaleiro Medieval (0.09 km), and Castelo de Itaipava (0.02 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Tradição Mineira Itaipava, Antonio, and Umami.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting La Grande Vallée (1.1 km).
Does Castelo de Itaipava Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Castelo de Itaipava Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Itaipava HotelsItaipava Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ItaipavaHotels near Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire