We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
BR 040 Km 56, Itaipava, Petropolis, State of Rio de Janeiro 25740-340 Brazil
9 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$39
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$39
View deal
Destinia.com
US$29
View deal
Hotels.comUS$39
TravelocityUS$39
PricelineUS$39
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1145)
Room & Suite (204)
Dining (78)

About

#5 of 14 hotels in Itaipava
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Wifi
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Banquet room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour front desk
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese

Location

65Somewhat walkable
Grade: 65 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 1 km
3Attractionswithin 1 km
1016Reviews12Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 499
  • 204
  • 127
  • 96
  • 92
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
duckvader wrote a review Jan 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom214 contributions110 helpful votes
I may be based in UK but lived in Brasil for 4 years, spent a couple years travelling about the country. This time here to see family (wife is from Rio) so we both know what to expect from hotels. Missus and I were with her parents and they wanted to show me this part of Brasil, of which I've not been. Amazing drive from Rio to here once out in the interior with lush forests which certainly amp up the atmosphere. On checking in, it was frankly silly. We were the only 4 in the queue and it took a ludicrous 45 mins reception thought it was just my wife and I (we did the booking on hotels.com). There was a lot of too-ing and fro-ing between staff and hotels.com to ascertain there was indeed 2 rooms booked - we even had the app showing them it's TWO rooms booked. After a stupid wait and filling in paperwork we got to our room (elevator didn't work so had to take the stairs with our suitcases). Room spacious with AC but there are no tea/coffee making facilities, no drinking water so make sure to take that yourself. TV didn't work not that we were bothered otherwise would've moaned to front desk. It's open internet so use a VPN if doing anything like banking or confidential - good consistent speeds so we could watch some Netflix on our tablet.. Grounds are also very nice, if not a little on the fake side, wonder what fellow Europeans think! Shower was a saving grace with amazing pressure and as hot (or cold) as you want....very good. Bed was incredibly comfy and we slept like babies (saved me giving 1 star). We were all very much looking forward to dinner at the taberna after reading all the reviews. Whether there's another taberna that we don't know about because if not, then I've no words on our dinner experience. Being a Friday night, we thought it'd be packed, especially since there was a wedding going on at the same time. Staff were not only moody but incredibly slow for a dining hall which was only a quarter full, they all just seemed to stand about and natter amongst themselves. We literally had to wave at them to get any form of attention. Missus and I opted for bife de ancho for two. In-laws ordered churrasco de Barao (pieces of beef, sausage and chicken) for 2. After a 30 min wait, food arrived. we could tell our med-rare beef was over....infact, it was soooo tough and over it was more leather than what was a living animal. We could also tell the quality of the meat was very poor. Asked the waiter we would want a replacement and please be sure it's med-rare. I mean, comon, whether you're at home or a chef in a busy resto, it's not difficult to grill a steak. Replacement comes. Not only had it not rested with the pool of blood on the plate but it was BLUE, like proper raw. We then said for it to be cooked so it's MED-RARE. He barked back at us declaring that's med-rare. We didn't know whether to laugh or cry. He took it away and 10 mins later gave it back but it was still on the rare side. We put up with it. By this time, in-laws had eaten their dinner and working on the sides. Our beef was simply awful quality - it comes as 3 separate steaks. We each only had about half a steak each as it was frankly, inedible. I've never come across a place which serves meat so badly. My in-laws also didn't eat all theirs either. Then we asked for bill and they took some plates away...waited 15 mins and nothing then another waiter collected some more plates and again we ask for the bill. Waited and waited and waited with a whole load of sides and empty glasses and 30 mins later another waiter came with unwanted beer to finally click we were finished and wanted the bill. Finally after about an hour just waiting for the bill were we set loose, hangry! Breakfast buffet was just ok....coffee awful (it was filter coffee but tasted like it had been around for a bit). The coffee machine wasn't working but since hardly anything seems to actually work in this hotel, we weren't surprised. I had what I think was scrambled eggs and again, inedible. How difficult is it to make eggs or steak? Anyway, left hungry once again but thankfully we were off to Petropolis and enjoyed a much better experience at the consequent hotels. Hence for the time wasted at arrival, the awful dinner (and breakie) I'm being generous and giving 2 stars and we'll never return. Shame!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Peter Ross wrote a review May 2019
24 contributions
The Hotel itself is beautiful and very good for business. One can choose any restaurants the hotel offers, but i sugest the one inside the very castle, restaurante do castelo. Breakfast and service of a five star hotel. I use to stay there whenever it is possible.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 14 May 2019
How's it going, Ross123peter? We were flattered by your evaluation and immensely happy to know that you had a good stay. We hope you will visit us again very soon and take time to check out our other exclusive suites. After all, each one was designed to be useful to our dear guests! Thank you for evaluating us and see you soon! Hugs, Team Itaipava Castle.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter Ross wrote a review Dec 2018
24 contributions
Everything is perfect at the hotel. The staff, the room, all the 3 restaurants and mainly the castle. A masterpiece of the brazilian architect lucio costa, all stone made with very elegant and luxurious materials as carrara marble and so.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 13 Dec 2018
Hello, Ross! How are you? Thank you very much for your review and we were extremely happy to know that you had a good stay. On your next visit to Itaipava, take time to visit the Solar, our Bar and Restaurant. We have snacks and full meals and an area specially planned for children, if you want to come with your whole family! Hugs, Team Itaipava Castle.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yebiisyou wrote a review May 2018
Auckland Central, New Zealand11 contributions4 helpful votes
Our room (Samurai Suite) smelt damp and mouldy. The floodlights that illuminate the property shine straight into the room, and the 'blackout curtains' supplied do nothing. When I asked for a discount after an average night's sleep, they offered nothing as I booked from an external site. What a joke.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Samurai Suite
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 22 May 2018
Hi, Yebiisyou! We appreciate your assessment and apologize for this, as this is not the standard we cherish. We have already referred your considerations to those responsible so that this kind of situation does not happen again. Hugs, Team Itaipava Castle.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John F wrote a review May 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Place looks fantastic, food wasn't bad. Unfortunately our room (Samurai Suite) had a musty, damp smell which was not pleasant. There were also super-bright house lights aiming right in our window, and the 'black out' curtains supplied did nothing to keep the high powered neon illumination out. Overall not the best. When checking out I made a complaint and said I would not be leaving a positive review unless my issues were recognised. They said that because I booked thru an external site, they couldn't offer any discount. Weak
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't choose the Samurai Suite, it smells damp and you'll be kept up all night by bright...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 9 May 2018
Hi, John! We are sorry for the inconvenience and our facilities and services have not met your expectations. Anyway, we thank you very much for your evaluation and apologize for what happened, because this is not the standard that we cherish. In fact, we have already forwarded their considerations to those responsible so that this kind of situation does not happen again. Thanks for the feedback. Hugs, Team Itaipava Castle.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carolinafzs d wrote a review Dec 2017
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia439 contributions101 helpful votes
We were invited to a wedding in the Castelo de Itaipava and made our booking to overnight here. In our checkin we got a free upgrade and a larger room was offered to us, the Suite do Príncipe. The decoration is lovely, the bed was very cozy for a good rest after an amazing party. We were concerned about the noise but it was very quiet in the room. The hotel did not have a ironing service for the clothes but quickly a board and an iron were provided, so we could be well presented in the wedding. The breakfast is in a small place but well organized. The lady who was working in the breakfast was very kind and with a beautiful smile. We were those guests that arrive late for the breakfast and she did not stop feeding us :) The hotel has a high price but it is very convenient if you have an event here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 2 Feb 2018
Hello, carolinafzs. We are honored with your evaluation and with every compliment. Our team is very grateful for the warmth and recognition of our work. Come visit us more often and get to know our restaurants. It will be my pleasure to welcome you! Hugs, Hotel staff at the Castle.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ernst Daniel N wrote a review Sep 2017
Rio de Janeiro, RJ18 contributions
You get an authentic feeling of being in an old castle. They did a good job on the decoration. don't carry too much luggage if you stay in the upper rooms... no elevators! For business, family and friends.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from CasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 15 Sep 2017
Hello, how are you? Many thanks for rating us on TripAdvisor. We love to know you had a good experience with us. We work for the client to have a great stay, with excellent service! We look forward to welcoming you on a new opportunity. A big hug. Team Itaipava Castle Hotel and Bistro.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SommelierProSP2013 wrote a review Aug 2017
Lenzerheide, Switzerland112 contributions92 helpful votes
The Itaipava Castel is really a folly of a person who had everything transported from Europe to build a European castle. The room we had was very nice, even though the design requires some getting used to. The breakfast was pretty horrible, no service and total disorder, the few staff incapable of coping with the crowds that were swallowing everything. Overall, I think it is overpriced and should really only be considered if someone wants to do something totally out of the ordinary, knowing that it has its deficiencies.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from CasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2017
Hello! Thank you very much for evaluating us. We were very happy to know that we had a good experience in our Hotel. We will check your thoughts on the Bistro so that we can apply the necessary improvements. A big hug. Team Itaipava Castle Hotel and Bistro.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SommelierProSP2013 wrote a review Jan 2017
Lenzerheide, Switzerland112 contributions92 helpful votes
The Castle is a curiosity, built 1920 with materials imported from Europe, the owner created a mock medieval castle. It is used today for events. It also has a hotel, but the hotel is really a sub-function of the event section: "normal" hotel guests are not allowed to the event areas (which occupy the major part of the castle) and are highly regulated. Rather than a real welcome, you get a paper that states in no uncertain terms what the rules are that you have to obey. You break anything in your room, you will have to pay a penalty of twice the value of the goods. Welcome to Itaipava Castle! The greeting was average, I was told right away to park my car elsewhere since the space for unloading and loading was not meant as a parking space. Save that there wasn't any other space left, and we hadn't finished unloading. Very nice and welcoming. We had ordered a roll-in bed for our daughter, which was supplied. They did not supply an extra set of towels for her. We asked for it again, were told that yes, it would be brought eventually, but it wasn't. When making the reservation, my wife had indicated that we stayed for my 65th birthday, and she wanted a special table reserved in the restaurant. There being no response, she finally made other arrangements, and surely, the hotel did not even take ANY notice of her wishes. Breakfast is in a room that is crowded with families with small children, which seems to be the main type of guest here. No service whatsoever, everything is self-service. Get your own plate, cutlery etc., save that plates were missing. Scrambled eggs were out. No more orange juice. There is only one person there, and she understood her role mainly as a control ward: what room number, don't break any dishes. Is this a youth hostel or a luxury hotel? Forget the luxury part. And forget the service. In Portuguese, o serviço é lixo. The predominance of the event character of the place (there is a warning in the paper: we do not guarantee a quiet night, since we are an event place, and there may be noise all night) unfortunately overshadows the ancillary functions, like hotel. Would we come back? No. Never.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
goodtogethome wrote a review Dec 2016
London456 contributions157 helpful votes
Stayed here on an amazing deal and had an upgrade so I would give this 6 out of 5 for value. It certainly had the wow factor. Not sure I would say the same if I had paid at the going rate. The double bed was in fact 2 beds pushed together and the sheets didnt quite fit over the entire two beds so we had to get up in the middle of the night to push the sheets back up over the mattress, which was annoying. The bathroom had quality towels and the shower pressure was excellent. Good idea to place instructions in the shower as each bathroom seems to be different in Brazil. Shampoo, soaps shower cap are all provided. The grounds at the back were nicely kept though the approach via the dual carriage overlooks the huge car park making it seem seem a bit industrial. As this is a wedding venue I appreciate that they need a huge car park. The swimming pool is for show only, not for use. There is a smalll central outdoor seating area with several jacuzzis. The ground floor rooms in the castle are beautifully furnished and make for a fabulous backdrop for weddings and functions. It was fun exploring and everyone was impressed with the setting. The staff are very friendly but not obtrusive, and the place is small enough for them to remember who you are. The food however was a let down. When you arrive you think wow. So we expected the same from the food. I appreciate that the kitchen is some distance from the dinning room, but luke warm food is unacceptable. The fish was dry and tough like chicken and the tomato sauce reminded me of ketcup. As a result we only ate there once. But for the bed and dinner I would have given this a 5. As this is a new hotel I am sure it just needs fine tuning, and next time I hope to give it a 5 as it is a rather special place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: check various sites for prices as they vary enormously
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$37 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of Rio de JaneiroPetropolisItaipava
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASTELO DE ITAIPAVA HOTEL: See 14 Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,254 Photos (Brazil) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Castelo de Itaipava Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Nearby attractions include La Grande Vallée (1.1 km), Praça do Cavaleiro Medieval (0.09 km), and Castelo de Itaipava (0.02 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Serra Bahia, Taberna do Castelo, and Solar Castelo de Itaipava.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Castelo de Itaipava Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting La Grande Vallée (1.1 km).
Does Castelo de Itaipava Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Castelo de Itaipava Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.