We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

H2ostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
H2ostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for H2ostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We were staying for only one night. It is good located quite central close to the river. The wifi was good and the beds were OK aswell. It was quite cheap as well. Nice and welcoming staff. It didnt make any special impression on me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Pauline F, thank you for staying with us and we hope we can improve the impression during your next stay. Best regards!

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

This hostel was pretty good. The rooms were pretty standard but it was amazing that all rooms had their own separate kitchen. The staff were very friendly and forthcoming with information on what to do in the city. H2ostel was great value for money and was located only a 5min walk from the centre city and 2min walk from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 709chelseaf
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear 709chelseaf, we really appreciate your review - thank you! So that means you will be back someday :)? Wish you all the best. Kind regards from Ljubljana

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Excellent location, very central and also close to the train and bus station. The place was recently refurbished (in progress) so the rooms were very fresh and clean but no pictures, bed lamp and no wardrobe (for you picky ones). The service was excellent and we got our laundry done there quite cheaply too. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir S
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Vladimir S, thank you a lot for staying here and for your nice review. We know we have to do some improvement and we are working on that. Kind regards and welcome back anytime.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

My chief criterion for choosing accommodation is the location; this did not disappoint, it is excellent, being relatively close to train station and city centre. I stayed in a four bed dorm which was reasonably good value. Staff were helpful and welcoming and responsive to minor problems which were fixed very promptly. The dorm room had a useful kitchenette and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme2014
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Graeme2014, thank you for staying with us and for your comprehensive review. We really appreciate it, because we really like to know what are our guests thinking about. We will work on the details, so your next stay with us will be even more perfect. Enjoy life and all the best!

Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

the location was perfect, and also the security - unfortunately our room was just horrible. there was a penetrating smell in the house, especially in the room, which is the most important reason why i wouldn't recommend staying here. the room wasn't finished, it was still under construction - there were pipes that were simply filled with plastic (bags?), no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Patricia B, we truly apologise for your experience. We were in a process of renovation and we didn't want to spoil your vacation. And we agree with you that this is not ok - we work on the rooms all the time so we can improve your stay. Thank you for being here and once again sorry. Best regards.

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Everything the place lacks it makes up in location - it's nearer than a stone's throw away from the quiet passages straddling the river. But it does have its downsides. Our place was rather tiny, with the window opening towards a sidewalk and a street. The bathroom gave out some foul stench, but room was otherwise very comfy, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krajeski
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Unfortunately THE PLACE IS FULL of mold and bathrooms are very dirty !! When entering the room, you'd smell a foul odor coming from the bathroom and no table or any chairs no furniture in the room at all !!! And the room looks at back alley with horrible dirty passage!!! The place is a disaster avoid at all costs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monika M
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Monika M, we are sorry you had such a bad experience. We have different places yes, but not because of that. We can guarantee you we've upgraded our rooms and services since your visit. Wish you all the best and thank you for staying with us. Kind regards!

Reviewed 5 January 2016

Clean rooms, with wifi and modern furniture.Hostel is very well presented with free bike hire - at least I think it was free, we weren't charged. Room had a great view of the canal. I would recommend this hostel as well as hiring their bikes to see ljubljana it is very beautiful and can be traversed bestride a velocipede.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manbearpig G
Ohrid
Reviewed 29 November 2015

we got a room with shared bathroom in some new part down the street, however the toilets were not functioning and the shared bathroom was not equipped as well as the room. It should be considered what room you get before you agree for a sleepover :) might be that it will improve but at this moment.... do stick to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lebedce
San Pietro in Casale, Italy
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Very close to the center, clean, comfortable with parking place. Staff always available for all our need. We had a 6 bed, not so big but with little kitchen, very usefull.Thank you so much Nina and Simona

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vjnny

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 km away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 29 in Ljubljana
1,209 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 29 in Ljubljana
1,443 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 29 in Ljubljana
770 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
0.8 km away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 29 in Ljubljana
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
H2O Hostel is located in the centre of Ljubljana, capital of Slovenia. We have dormitory rooms and private rooms. In only 5 - 10 min walk, you can reach all the important tourist attractions as well as pubs, restaurants and cafes. Most dormitory rooms have their own kitchen or you can use one in the reception area where is also a small common place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about H2ostel

Address: Petkovskovo nabrezje 47, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Hostel Simbol Castle)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Price Range: $23 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — H2ostel 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your H2ostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from H2ostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from H2ostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms sort of face each other, in a villa-style way. They all seemed fine to me, honestly.”
 of 5 bubbles X8408CTphilp, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book early!”
 of 5 bubbles StuartL49, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“looks at back alley all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles B5597TSmonikam, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for canal view.”
 of 5 bubbles manbearpigg2016, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the annex - ground floor, not at the street. It was quiet and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles emengee, 7 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5