We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Expo ter 2., Budapest 1101 Hungary
Lowest prices for your stay
US$78
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.comUS$78
Orbitz.com
TravelocityUS$78
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (286)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (14)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 18/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 18/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#129 of 407 hotels in Budapest
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Expo Congress Hotel looks over the Budapest Exhibition Centre, East of the centre of Budapest. The hotel offers a bar, sky bar and restaurant and 160 standard and superior guest rooms designed for the modern business traveler. For visitors wishing to see the sights of the city, the downtown area is easily accessible by bus or metro in less than 20 minutes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Rooftop bar
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Hammam
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian
880Reviews20Q+A57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 272
  • 341
  • 160
  • 62
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alex B wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I was a guest there with a group! I used the safe deposit box in my room and, on my departure, I forgot the money inside the safe deposit box. The safe was locked so no one but the employees couldn't open the safe. When I called the hotel and ask them to take care of my money (it was around 900,00 eur of my company's money) they said the safe was open and there is nothing in the safe. Shame of them! Disgrace, shame...crime!!! At the end they said that the hotel is not responsible for whatever is in the safe deposit box in the room. So they can steal from their clients as much as they want! This is the warning to all furter guests of this hotel. DO NOT USE THE ROOM SAFE DEPOSIT BOX!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sonja R wrote a review Aug 2022
Valjevo, Serbia66 contributions39 helpful votes
Hotel was very secluded in regards to nearest public transportation station, which is 20 minutes walk through one very dark street and across fairly secluded parking lot. So if you are staying alone in this hotel, it is very unpleasant to reach it in night time. Rooms were also very average, breakfast was also very average. In addition - sun deck and other things are not in function.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gergely Bobák, Guest Services / Front Office at Expo Congress Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Dear Sonja! Thank you for taking time to share your in-depth review on TripAdvisor public website. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve guest experience. I regret reading that you have clearly missed asking the receptionist about the transportation options. Daytime, you may use the bus number 10 to reach the metro station or a main traffic junction, other option would be the elite taxi if walking bothers you. However, our location comes with another advantage, better prices than the city center. If you would more specific on average, that would be the base of further improvements. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback, and I do hope that we may welcome you back again. Kind regards, Gergely Bobák
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura R wrote a review Jul 2022
Cluj-Napoca, Romania49 contributions1 helpful vote
The location of the hotel is great. A big bonus is that it has many parking spaces and they are all free. It's also pretty close to the city center. We used a car to get around and it was extremely easy, but you might struuggle a bit if you're using public transport. The hotel is close to Budapest Arena, so it's a great choice if you're going to an event there. Breakfast is absolutely delicious and they have a big variety of options. Staff was lovely as well and they actually chaged our room from a double bed to a twin, on request. It doesn't look like a 4* hotel anymore, everything is a bit old and rundown.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: The views are great from the 10th floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gergely Bobák, Guest Services / Front Office at Expo Congress Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2022
Dear laurarN5004XM, I appreciate the valuable time you took to share your personal experience in regard to the Expo Congress Hotel. We were glad to learn that you enjoyed the advantageous location of our hotel and loved our breakfast offer. I regret that there were a couple of things you were not completely or not at all satisfied with, hopefully the renovations starts at the end of this year. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Gergely Bobák Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flo wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Waited 55 minutes to check in. Carpets on the way to the room have stains, room was ok and clean but not what I have become accustomed to for 4 star, no toiletries as advertised.Room not even made up during the day (see photos) Need a car to access anywhere touristy. No restaurant or bar open as advertised. Towels and bedding thin and worn, we asked for a double duvet as most rooms are twin and after an hour wait (despite asking in the morning) a grumpy man arrived and literally threw another single duvet onto the bed. No tea or coffee making machines,no water and the mini bar fridge was broken and dilapidated. Shower soap dispenser was empty. They do have a sauna and steam room but these are off, if you ask they will turn them on for you. Szechenyi baths offer a great day or half day out and local restaurant 1.5 mile away Ypsilon cafe was recommended by hotel staff worth a visit! Hotel I wouldn't recommend at all I'm afraid unless needing to be next to the expo or Derby.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gergely Bobák, Guest Services / Front Office at Expo Congress Hotel
Responded 28 Jul 2022
Dear Francesohotmail, Thank you for your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Expo Congress Hotel. I checked the camera system, as I noticed a corporate group checked in before you, every one of them asked for company invoice individually therefore you had to wait 40 minutes. It could be an uncomfortable situation for you, but we have to fulfill those kinds of requests one by one. I took the time to personally check, the restaurant opening hours advertised correctly on our website, probably you had false information from somewhere else. I regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the location of the Hotel, which is shared on any public websites. Regarding our location: the hotel was built for conference purposes next to the Hungexpo exhibition complex, probably you missed the advantage of free parking. Which is not an option for any other hotels in the surrounding area, just like in the city center. I do hope that, despite your disappointment, we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel at some point in the future. Kind regards, Gergely Bobák Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carbo1960 wrote a review Apr 2022
Belgrade, Serbia194 contributions163 helpful votes
24 hour reception desk and very professional and efficient staff (even during the small hours). Large, clean room. Minibar in the room was larger than in most hotels. Abundant and varied breakfast served 7-10 AM. Free parking. If you are not arriving by car, this probaby is not a hotel for you, as it takes about 30 minutes on foot to reach the nearest metro station Puskas Ferenc Stadium on the M2 (Red) line. There is also a city bus that stops near the hotel, but this passes very rarely. The parking is free for everybody (not only hotel guests) and it fills quickly, specialy if there is an event in the nearby halls of Hungexpo fair ground. If you are unlucky enough that such an event is a concert (as it has happened on Saturday 23.4.2022 and lasted till 6 AM the next day), be prepaired for a sleepless night because of terrible noise even in the room at the 11th floor.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Try to get a room on one ot the top floors.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gergely Bobák, Guest Services / Front Office at Expo Congress Hotel
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Dear Carbo1960, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comment about the Expo Congress Hotel. I was pleased to read your lovely review about our rooms, and the welcoming check-in experience. At the same time, I regret to learn that during your stay you had an uncomfortable night because of a concert in the neighborhood and I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences, we have warned the organizers about that. Once again, I appreciate your feedback and hope that this single experience will not dissuade you from staying with us in the future. Kind regards, Gergely Bobák Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raffael S wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
As a returning guest I have visited this hotel every month for 8 days. Why I come back? – Most of the time it is calm furthermore, there is a spa on the top floor included in the price, it is really calming after a tiring day. You can park your car free in front of the building. If you want better prices, ask the reception for a possible discount. The hotel staff in general very friendly and helpfu,l the restaurant and the breakfast was quite good. There are some shops nearby and two huge shopping centres. The hotel has a shuttle service to the airport, or they can call you an elegant taxi and it’s only only about 30 minutes distance. Very clean rooms, fresh towels every day. Overall, a very pleasant stay and I would definitely be staying with them again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: the rooms are very big , also bathroom , so you can stay very confortable
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gergely Bobák, Guest Services / Front Office at Expo Congress Hotel
Responded 18 Feb 2022
Dear raffaels345, It is wonderful to read the generous feedback you shared on the TripAdvisor website regarding your recent stay at the Expo Congress Hotel. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to Budapest and you had a memorable experience. We look forward to having you back again. Kind regards, Gergely Bobák Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
G L wrote a review Jan 2022
London, United Kingdom31 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
I have travelled a lot and stayed in a wide variety of hotels, from 2* upwards, yet this a supposed 4* hotel is the WORST PLACE i have stayed. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY NOR TIME HERE! details below. We booked a room for 3 adults for 2 nights. We had 2 single beds (if you can call them beds), and a camp bed, which was BROKEN on arrival, when i went to sit down, the bed collapsed and threw me across the room! we repeatedly tried to fix it, and it kept collapsing and tipping over due to the broken metal. note: 'mattress' on this bed was like ply wood and it felt like sleeping on a bench. the shower was also broken, meaning the water only came out scolding hot. Not bearable heat, dangerously BURNING boiling water. No fix for this no matter how much we tried, resulting in not being able to shower. Went to reception in the morning to inform them of the bed and shower, asking for the bed to be replaced or fixed. went out for the day only to return to see nothing had been touched or changed in the room. So as if the hotel isn't bad enough, it was followed up by incredibly poor service. The woman working on the front desk shouldn't have her job if she isn't going to do it! other points to make: - all towels and bedding had HOLES in, and were very dirty white meaning very old and in need of replacement - bathroom door was broken and didn't shut properly - all furniture poor quality and tatted / broken. - lack of lights in room makes it feel like you're in a prison, main light source is dim lamps, which you have to unplug to charge your phone - the gym (poorly equipped) had the HEATING ON!! which made it unbearable to work out in. - spa advertises jacuzzi on info paper but doesn't have one - steam room / sauna had lights on but didn't work only positive of the whole experience is free parking. I'm incredibly disappointed upset and angry about our stay, and urge you not to visit this hotel. Many better alternatives in budapest.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gergely Bobák, Guest Services / Front Office at Expo Congress Hotel
Responded 13 Jan 2022
Dear Georgia E, Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your comment about your stay. I am really sorry that the disappointment with the room ruined your trip to Budapest. Unfortunately, we haven’t got any information about these problems from the reception. Is it possible, that you haven’t asked them to change your broken bed? Our constant aim is to provide only the highest level of service and hospitality to our guests, and we are sad that this time it was not the case. As a congress hotel, our main room type is a two bedded room (double or twin) according to the demand. For obvious reasons, it is more adequate for three adults to book two standard rooms. I personally checked your room after reading your remarks. Unfortunately, mishaps occur in spite of our best intention to offer a seamless service. The extra bed was really broken, however it was functional during the previous guest’s stay. All the lighting were available and working. The bathroom door can be closed. Since it is -10 °C out there, all our public areas are heated, just like the fitness room. Instead of the jacuzzi, we offer an infracabin from the beginning of 2019, I am curious where you saw that advertised. For safety and environment protection reason, the sauna and steam cabin is operating up to request as it is written in the guest directory. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in spite of this displeasure. We would do our best to regain your trust in our hospitality. Kind regards, Gergely Bobák Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon G wrote a review Sep 2021
Budapest, Hungary29 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in this hotel for 10 nights because were part of the ONE WITH NATURE expo at the HungExpo. Check in was a nightmare. Only 1 staff member on duty so it took half an hour. Furniture in the reception area is old and broken. The restaurant was closed for dinner, except for 3 nights of our stay (staff could not tell us why they opened for only these 3 nights, that weren't even in succession.) There were 30 of us in our group and every other evening we had to get taxis to a restaurant as there are none within walking distance. Sky bar was closed permanently, except for 1 night, when they inexplicably decided to open. But only for that 1 night. So the only drinks that we could get was beer, from a tiny little fridge in reception, which a member of staff had to open. Management is seriously lacking, as the hotel was full because of the ONE WITH NATURE expo. They could have made a lot of money if they opened the dinner restaurant and the Sky bar every night. The spa was also closed permanently. No staff member could explain why these were all closed, or if they would ever be open during our stay. The curtains in our room were hanging off the rail. The twin beds are very small and the covers didn't go over the sides of the bed. The room was never cleaned or made up properly. The towels are old and threadbare. There are no toiletries in the bathrooms. There are no coffee or tea making facilities. I had some laundry that I sent to be washed and the next day it was still sitting behind the reception desk - it had not been sent off for cleaning! The breakfast was adequate but not 4 star quality. The location is only good if you are going to the HungExpo buildings. Otherwise it is far from restaurants, pubs and attractions in Budapest.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the railway line. The trains are very noisy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gergely Bobák, Guest Services / Front Office at Expo Congress Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Dear Sharon G, Thank you for staying at Expo Congress Hotel and taking time to post your feedback. First and foremost I regret to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel. Please, accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences. Concerning this part of your comment: The restaurant was closed for dinner, except for 3 nights of our stay (staff could not tell us why they opened for only these 3 nights, that weren't even in succession.) You reserved your rooms through a travel agency and asked only for breakfast service. Your group leader called us when you arrived, we explained him everything, he might not have given you the information. Later he called the travel agency as well and he got the same answer. Our a’la carte restaurant was closed in March 2020 because of the covid regulations in Hungary. Later we could open the hotel, but it wasn’t true for the restaurant. From the beginning of July 2020 we serve lunch and dinner for groups, so we informed all of our partners about this opportunity already last summer. Although you didn’t order any meals in advance, we tried to organize it last minute for your group and offered a solution for the mentioned 3 days. Our restaurant bar was also open for your group during these days, where you could drink any types of drinks, not only beer. (Just in brackets: we have been serving buffet dinner for the whole period of One With Nature exhibition for our hotel guests without any previous reservation from the 26th of September and our restaurant bar is also open for anybody until the 14th of October.) Regarding the spa: our spa is open for all hotel guests from 7 am till 10 pm, your room key opens it. It is true for 365 days of the year. I am so sorry for the problems you experienced concerning the service, but I’m afraid in some cases the lack of communition caused them. I do hope that you will give us a second chance to prove our professionalism. Kind regards, Katalin Sóvári General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matija86 wrote a review Sep 2021
Pozega, Croatia49 contributions64 helpful votes
We have stayed at this hotel several times already. We were never disappointed, only it got a little old over time. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom is a bit outdated. Breakfast, as always, was great. Free parking included in the price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gergely Bobák, Guest Services / Front Office at Expo Congress Hotel
Responded 24 Sep 2021
Dear Matija86, Thank you so much for choosing Expo Congress Hotel Hotel and taking time to post your lovely feedback of your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your gracious comments. Happy to read that you were satisfied with our services. We do hope that we can welcome you back in the not far future. Kind regards, Gergely Bobák Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
42lynn43 wrote a review Jan 2020
Cheshire, United Kingdom217 contributions73 helpful votes
Hotel is clean, tidy efficient, staff are very nice, breakfasts are very good. Sky bar is lovely. Taxis arrive promptly when ordered from reception. This hetel is to far out to walk into Budapest, average tavi price is 3500 HUF always get a price on your retue as the taxis are keen to rip you off. Would I stay here again? But due to location and nothing else
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ExpoCongressHotel, Rooms Division Manager at Expo Congress Hotel
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear 42lynn43, Thank you for the retailed review. I was peased to read your compliments about the staff efficiency. Pease note that we are selling budapest cards at the front desk which is a good way to spare some money on transportation, or you may call the reception to get you a trustful taxi returning to the hotel. We would be honored if you chose to stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards, Gergely Bobák
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$67 - US$92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
HungaryCentral HungaryBudapest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
160
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Expo Congress Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Expo Congress Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kincsem Park (0.4 km), Church of Saint László (1.0 km), and Tuzolto Skanzen (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Expo Congress Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Expo Congress Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Expo Congress Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Expo Congress Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Expo Congress Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vietnami Specialis Melegkonyha, Kis Kapucinus Beer and Pizza, and Milagro American Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Expo Congress Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Expo Congress Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Expo Congress Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Expo Congress Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Expo Congress Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Expo Congress Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Expo Congress Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.