We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Budapest

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Budapest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,368: English reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Great hotel, staff very helpful, location is outstanding. Hotel is on the banks of Danube, within walking distance to Great Synagogue, Market Place, and fine dinning. Breakfast at the hotel is a must.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim B
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Jim B, Thank you for writing your compliments about the staff and mentioning that the breakfast is a must. Hope to see you returning. With warm regards, Claus Geisselmann

Homosassa, Florida
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We were placed into the Intercontinental Hotel on the banks of the Danube River in Budapest because the locks were malfunctioning and we could not access our Vantage tour boat on time August 1, 2014. It was disappointing, for a short time, but the outstanding room overlooking the River and Palace on the Buda side of the River made up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Ronald R, Thank you for writing your comment. I am happy that you could have the chance to dive into the fascinating sights of the Buda Castle and Danube. Maybe your stay was not perfect but I see that it was an outstanding one for keeping nice memories of the city and the hotel. Thank you for choosing InterContinental...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at the Intercontinental in Budapest. We had a breathtaking view of the Danube from our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed here prior to a Viking River Cruise and discovered our room overlooked the dock Viking uses. The location was ideal to the main sights of Budapest.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmarti50
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear pmarti50, Thank you for writing about your hotel experiences. I am pleased to read your compliments on staff and best sights of Budapest. I hope you left with spectacular memories. With best regards, Claus Geisselmann

London
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights towards the end of August 2014. We booked a river view room (well worth the additional spend or you would have absolutely no view save for a dingy building at the back of the hotel). We were greeted warmly. The hotel is wonderfully located near the Chain Bridge with lovely views across the river...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blonder_ambitions
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear blonder_ambitions, Thank you very much for writing your thorough review. I am glad that you noted lots of observations. I regret that we could not exceed all your expectations although all your comments are valuable for us for future development and for targeting perfection at each and every detail. Thank you for mentioning the spotlessly clean room and the...

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel is worth staying. My experience was amazing. Location, service and food are great. Additional thank you to staff - everyone was helpful and really friendly. I have spent great 2 days and will definitely come back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirjysha
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Kirjysha, Thank you for writing your compliments. I am happy that you had an amazing experience and liked the friendly staff. Looking forward to your soon coming return. With warm regards, Claus Geisselmann

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Me and my 19 year old daughter stayed here for 4 nights in August we had a wonderful time.I dont think we could find any faults with the hotel.It was clean all the staff were great nothing was any trouble and everyone was happy to help they spoke very good English.The hotel had many different nationalities staying in it. Its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debz2765
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear debz2765, Thank you very much for taking your time writing your comment. I am fascinated how you describe your experiences you've been going through with your daughter and it makes me happy to read all about it. Thank you for your compliments about the hotel staff speaking very good English and being helpful every time. I am glad that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The Hotel is close to many places of interest. the Royal castle is just opposite on the other side of the river bank. it is advisable that you upgrade to higher floor rooms with a view of the River . fantastic views of the opposite bank and chain bridge. Breakfast is well stocked and even has sushi for breakfast. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KKKenan
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear KKKenan, thank you very much for taking your time for your notes. The riverside high floor rooms are providing a truly unique experience to look out from the window. I am more than happy that you had useful and friendly recommendations from the front desk staff. I could also just recommend to visit a bath in Budapest since it...

milwaukee
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here recently 3 nights before leaving on river cruise. Could not have been more pleased! Lovely and spacious room with river view and of castle on the other side. Located right on promenade so make walking tours of the city very easy. Close to many good restaurants. Concierge desk helpful 90% of the time, breakfast at cafe and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egreer19
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear egreer19, Thank you very much for posting your review. I am pleased to read about your three nights stay in our hotel. I am happy that you liked your spacious room with river view and were enjoying both inside and outside attractions. Thank you for recommending us to other visitors. I look forward to be hosting you again when...

Roswell, Georgia
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Recently spent two nights at this hotel as part of an Avalon River Cruise on the Danube. The location is perfect - at the foot of the Chain Bridge. The hotel is clean, and the rooms are large and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and very good. The attentive staff spoke excellent English. The concierge was very helpful when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 3508Nana
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear 3508Nana, Thank you very much for writing your comment. I am pleased that you mention many points of satisfaction such as the comfort, cleanliness, breakfast and special thanks for complimenting the attentive staff with helpful concierge services as well. I would be happy to host you on your return to the city. With best regards, Claus Geisselmann

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Amazing location for a Danube river view room , (especially if you are ever there on August 20th when they have national day fire works on the river and the chain bridge just in front). Great staff who all speak excellent English amongst no doubt several other languages. Drinks perhaps a little expensive by local standards, but you are paying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMT54
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear KMT54, Thank you for placing your review. I am grateful to read how much you liked the National Day celebrations with fireworks. Thank you very much for your compliments on the staff and services. I hope to be welcoming you back again. With kind regards, Claus Geisselmann

2,221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1619)
Viewed
View from Room (275)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (184)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Dining (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (303)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
4:38
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (698)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (485)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Deluxe Family Room (38)
Viewed
Junior Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Presidental Suite (71)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Standard Room (43)
Viewed
Suite (52)
Viewed
Superior Rooom (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Upper Level Standard Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (117)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#34 of 340 in Budapest
2,689 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 340 in Budapest
3,805 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 340 in Budapest
6,656 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District V / Inner City

Neighbourhood Profile
District V / Inner City
Discover the Inner City along the banks of the Danube, with its fashionable shops and iconic buildings. The Inner-City Parish Church and St. Stephen’s Basilica stand out as two of the finest examples of architecture in the area. If you are still hunting for more historical treats, then the ruins of the medieval city walls on Kecskeméti Utca are a must-visit while the Soviet War Memorial is also worthy of attention and relevant to Hungary’s more recent history. If shopping is on your itinerary, then be prepared: the market squares in this area are an absolute delight, particularly during the Christmas period, but even throughout the year you’ll find the latest trends in the shops on Vaci Utca.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Price Range: $181 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Budapest staff and other travellers.
50 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (50)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“executive lounge is a must.”
 of 5 bubbles dxr7779, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Always ask for a high floor and a Danube view”
  • View of Buda palace
 of 5 bubbles theteddys, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a river view are nicer.”
 of 5 bubbles DaisyChain2013, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you choose a suite ask for the ones that both rooms have view to the river.”
 of 5 bubbles van2017, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles jasper999, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay