We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Bern

Show Prices
#25 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 854: English reviews
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A basic hotel with good service and location near old town. It is easy to arrive if you are coming from ferry port. Breakfast was ok, but nothing fancy. Rooms are basics as well. It is value for money if you don`t expect anything special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pajula
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear Pajula Thank you for your feedback! It was pleasure to host you here and we are already looking forward to the next time! Kind Regards, Sven Liiv Front Office and Housekeeping Manager

Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We arrived at this hotel from the ferry from Helsinki and it was an easy walk from the ferry port. Our room was of a good size and being at the back of the hotel was quiet. A buffet breakfast was served on the basement floor and was of a good standard, certainly plenty to set you up for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank quin88
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear quin88 Thank you very much for your kind words! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the lovely words you use to describe your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you would stay with us again. Until next time. Sincerely, Sven Liiv Front Office and Housekeeping Manager

Reviewed 29 October 2016

Small hotel with good service and clean rooms. Location is very good. The breakfast and the breakfast room was ok, but nothing special. Hotel Bern offers a good base for two nights and value for money, since it was an affordable option being so close to the old town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elina S
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear Elina S Thank you for choosing Hotel Bern for your stay in Tallinn. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate that you mentioned positively our service, rooms and location. Thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Sven Liiv Front Office and Housekeeping Manager

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

A basic hotel with a good location close to Old town. We booked our room through the hotel website and got a welcome drink at the reception. Friendly service, quiet rooms and a sufficient breakfast. We will keep this hotel in mind in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mirva A
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear Mirva A We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate that you will keep Hotel Bern in mind when you should wvsit Tallinn again. Greetings, Sven Liiv Front Office and Housekeeping Manager

Eastern Norway, Norway
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

The positives: Near the old city Taxistop nearby Rimi across the road Negatives: Smelly corridor with old carpet. (Really smelly!!!) Can't open window in room AC/heatpump not working but started in the middle of night with loud noises and no effect. Thin duvet and fat pillows Laid down matresses Freezing cold room Thin walls between rooms=much noise Emergency exits blocked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Salvatrix
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear Salvatrix Thank you for your letter! I am truly sorry that during your stay you felt like we did not have all the details quite as you had expected from us and it was mostly negative. Your instructions, nevertheless, will be a great help for our improvements. There is nobody working at hotel Bern who does not have a...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Was here for three nights in October 2016. The service was very good, the rooms were clean (and were cleaned every day). Good breakfast included in the price. The "old town" is only a short 2 min walk from the hotel, and there is a Rimi store just across the street which is very convenient. The only thing I have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ida S
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear Ida S Thank you for your feedback! Your positive notes as well as your suggestions about the air conditioner, will surely be helpful for our everyday job here at hotel Bern. I am looking forward to have you here again and to present you an even better experience. Greetings Sven Liiv Front Office and Housekeeping manager

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Just on the border of old town Tallinn so an easy walk into the main attraction as well as the modern part of the town. Hotel staff were very polite and helpful. I had read the reviews and asked for a quiet rom which was available luckily! Breakfast was ok. Handicrafts market just behind the hotel. Supermarket just in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S J
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear S J Thank you for your feedback! Thank you for mentioning our hotel location positively, I agree that it is very convenient to visit top attractions in town. We are grateful that you mentioned positively our staff and breakfast. We are looking forward to see you again. Kind Regards, Sven Liiv Front Office and Housekeeping Manager

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Staff was friendly, room was compact, but have to mention that the pillows were really nice ones! Brekkie ok. Location exellent if you want to hang out between the shopping center and the old town on Tallin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mari A
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear Mari A We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you had an interesting time here in Tallinn. We hope to see you again if your travels should bring you back on Tallinn. Greetings, Sven Liiv Front Office and Housekeeping Manager

Malta
Reviewed 17 September 2016

This small, no frills hotel is very close to the old city where you may arrive after less than a 10-minute walk. It is also within a 5 minute walk to the main department stores. Hotel and room are kept quite clean. Shower area is a bit small and would have benefited from having its own shower tray rather than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boffer
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear Boffer Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are glad that you would stay in our hotel again, next time when you decide to visit us contact us directly at bern@tallinnhotels.ee and be sure to ask our DeLuxe room which is more spacious and more suitable for...

London, UK
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The Bern is conveniently located being a short walk from the charming old town but the disadvantage is that it is in a rougher part of town and shares a courtyard with a beer cellar. Our room was of medium size but rather jaded with light coloured walls and a somewhat worn reddish brown carpet. The bed was uncomfortable with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mfranks911
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review

Dear mfranks911 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the interior of the hotel and that the bed was uncomfortable for you. We will definitely look into the aircon and fix it. We hope you still had a good time in Tallinn. Thank...

384 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (172)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (33)
Viewed
Double Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Second Double Room (20)
Viewed
Single Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Twin Room (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 km away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
693 reviews
0.5 km away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#21 of 82 in Tallinn
642 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
564 reviews
1.1 km away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#20 of 82 in Tallinn
673 reviews
0.3 km away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Price Range: $65 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Bern staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Bern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth upgrading to the best available as most rooms rather basic”
 of 5 bubbles mfranks911, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is set back from the street so I would think any room is good.”
 of 5 bubbles 285kathyb, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you want a quiet room ask for one not facing the courtyard/entrance”
 of 5 bubbles prozerran, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Third floor room facing courtyard was quiet but small, A/C quiet”
  • View of Courtyard, Old town in distance
  • Small Room but comfortable beds
  • Small but comfortable room
 of 5 bubbles burnabytraveller, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room to the backside, it is probably quieter”
 of 5 bubbles ArneL956, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay