We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Gutenbergs

AMOMAUS$84*
View Deal
#7 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$91*
US$84*
Great Deal
US$91*
US$90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Gutenbergs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 317: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Gutenbergs
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked room for 4 days in this hotel cause our friends were staying in this place at the same time.. And that was mistake. Price was quite steep but location was so good that I tought why not. We drove to Riga from Finland and first ofcourse we wanted to park our car. Person at counter told us our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremi P
Sandis S, General Manager at Hotel Gutenbergs, responded to this review

Thank You very much for the review, about the parking - it is a walking street and parking is not legal! Just because You complained, reception offered to leave the car at the hotel, but police could charge You 40 euros :) . I am sorry for the restaurant and waiters and all the other things which You are mentioning....

Amherst, New Hampshire
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is a gem! Charming rooms, spacious, interesting history. With the exception of an unpleasant waitress in the rooftop bar, all the staff were very pleasant. We were given two complimentary drink tickets and breakfast was included and the buffet was varied and plentiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LG58
Sandis S, General Manager at Hotel Gutenbergs, responded to this review

Thank You very much for such a nice review. I am glad You liked our Latvian style hotel breakfast and the new Rooftop restaurant! Best wishes from Sandis Solims & Team!

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very impressed with the excellancy of this hotel! Very much content with the stuff, pleasant stuff. The days I spent in early April of this year - were marvellous and unforgettable, thank you for the hospitality and my colleagues who invited me to Riga and made me comfortable in Hotel GUTENBERGS. Lola Sanaia from Tbilisim Georgia

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lola S
Sandis S, General Manager at Hotel Gutenbergs, responded to this review

Thank You very much Lola from Georgia for such a nice review! I am glad You liked our hotel and You had a great stay in Riga! With the best wishes for Georgia from Sandis Solims & Team!

Buenos Aires
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice hotel with really friendly staff. The breakfast was excellent. During the night the temperature in the room was around +14 degrees celsius and we were freezing in our bed. Not nice. :| The room floor was not level, so nor was the bed. -> one if the worst nights I have spent. Too bad, as this hotel would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juutana
Sandis S, General Manager at Hotel Gutenbergs, responded to this review

Thank You for the review! It it written in our web that the building is from 16th century and that the floors are sloping. The beds are even. We can't and don't want to change it because that's the feeling of old town. I am relay sorry for that cold night, it was very hot before and the heating system...

Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awesome, very nice staff, breakfast was very nice with everything you could wish for. Room was nice and clean. Complimentary drinks included to the rooftop restaurant. Nice gesture! Location is very good, like 5 min to the old town and 5 min to bus 22 that takes you from and to the airport. Overall very satisfied!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakob m
Sandis S, General Manager at Hotel Gutenbergs, responded to this review

Thank You very much for such a nice review! I am glad You liked our rooftop terrace and the our hotel! Best regards, Sandis Solims & Team!

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spect a nice weekend here. Very nice old building modernized with good taste and still keeping its romantic atmosphere, excellent location in the old town. Friendly service, good breakfast and nice view from the rooftop terrace restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JjaJmatkalla
Sandis S, General Manager at Hotel Gutenbergs, responded to this review

Thank You very much for such a nice review. I am glad You liked our Latvian style hotel breakfast and the new Rooftop restaurant! Best wishes from sandis Solims & Team!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quaint hotel in Riga Old Town with many historical artefacts dotted around. Hidden away in the old cobbled back streets with plenty of character. Rooms are comfortable but a bit small - however I imagine we got one of the smaller ones. Room facilities are generally good but the in-room coffee was disgusting and there was no milk products to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashwin V
Sandis S, General Manager at Hotel Gutenbergs, responded to this review

Thank You for honest review! Sorry for the small room and Julius Meinl coffee! Should be one of the best, but unfortunately, You did not like it! Thank You again and I hope You enjoyed the Riga! Best regards from sandis Solims & Team!

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's not often that I have the pleasure in staying somewhere that, in my opinion, is perfect. It's difficult to say much more. If I have the pleasure in visiting Riga again then I know where I'll be staying.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ksidne_962141
Sandis S, General Manager at Hotel Gutenbergs, responded to this review

Thank You very much for coming back again! Best regards from Sandis Solims & Team!

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel's location, price, amenities and the staff helped to make our stay simply wonderful! We liked the building and atmosphere.Very easy access to places in Riga as well as to the airport, railway station and the bus station.Very nice selection of breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zbigniew121
Sandis S, General Manager at Hotel Gutenbergs, responded to this review

Thank You very much for such a nice review! Thank You for mentioning the breakfast! Best regards - Sandis Solims + Team.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed with my girlfriend for three nights. Great room (suggest you upgrade to a suite). Staff attentive and polite and spoke English (as we spoke no Latvian). They suggested places to go and restaurants to eat in. The Guttenberg restaurant the food was beautifully presented only down side was no caviar starter which is what my girlfriend really was looking...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ifrost_199913
Sandis S, General Manager at Hotel Gutenbergs, responded to this review

Thank You very much for such a nice review! I am glad you visited the Rooftop terrace. I am sorry for the caviar, we are preparing for the new season menu and there is lack of caviar because of off season for the particular fishes. Sorry for that. With best wishes - Sandis Solims + Team.

275 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (241)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 km away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 km away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
708 reviews
0.5 km away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
572 reviews
0.8 km away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Gutenbergs

Address: Doma laukums 1 | Entrance from Muku street, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Price Range: $91 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gutenbergs 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Gutenbergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenbergs Hotel Riga
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Business Hotel in Riga
#29 Family Hotel in Riga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Gutenbergs staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Bloomington, IL
2 months ago
Lufkin, Texas

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Gutenbergs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quiter rooms, comfortable service, central location.”
120lolas, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pick suites in the older part of the hotel if you can.”
825meelisv, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“room #311,spacious sitting area,separate bedrom,WC”
mikisVilnius, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The oldest are the quaintest !”
serena99, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check if the room\shower is clean the minute you get in it. Don't leave it for later.”
passenger_Demiyan, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
AMOMA
US$84* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$91
Expedia.comUS$90
TravelocityUS$88
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates