We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,446: English reviews
Nashville
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Big old Fremantle hotel that's had a bit of an upgrade now Rydges have taken it over. Nice new bar and coffee shop out the front now and a few other nice touches added. Still a bit pricey but in a great location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

We appreciate you providing your feedback as a part of our ongoing commitment towards improving the overall experience of all our guests. We can confirm that the pricing and rates offered by The Esplanade hotel are competitive and are keeping within the industry standards for the area and hope to see you again soon. Regards Paul

Perth Hills, Australia
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Great hotel staff were excellent. We had breakfast included which was great. Plenty to choose from at the buffet. Our room was upgraded on our our arrival which was a pleasant surprise and appreciated. The room was great overlooking the pool. Plenty of room with everything we needed. The hotel is in a great location to the shopping in Fremantle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traceyj146
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments; it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your complementary upgrade, hotel facilities and location. The Valet service is $29.50 overnight for secure parking which is in keeping with the current market trends for hotels in Perth, it is a secure and convenient option...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this property for three nights over a weekend in April, whilst on holiday in fremantle. I stayed in the Resort Wing of the hotel and found my room to be spotlessly clean, bright and superbly comfortable and had lovely blackout curtains to allow me a cheeky weekend sleep in. The hotel itself is in a brilliant location,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HappyWanderluster
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I glad we were able to exceed your expectations on many fronts and I have passed your comments onto the housekeeping manager to share with her staff. Our location is perfect for exploring Fremantle and the surrounding areas, our Dream Beds are simply the best and hopefully you have managed...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The hotel was booked for me by my cruise company so I didn't know what to expect. It's a well placed hotel within walking distance of attractions and with a bus stop for the free buses close by. My room was very comfortable. I was very impressed with the service. The receptor noticed my walking difficulty and offered a change...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anon475
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments; it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you made the most of our location and warm hospitality, it pleases me that reception noticed you had walking difficulties and a room move closer to reception made all the difference. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Paul

Yamba, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

24 hour checkin was a great benefit having arrived from a Gold Coast flight at near midnight. Night Manager was very helpful and courteous. Room was comfortable and clean with a lovely outlook over the interior pool area. Maybe we are out of touch but we considered the tariff to be over the top but we had to pay as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay with the Esplanade Hotel. We can confirm that the rates offered by The Esplanade hotel are competitive and are keeping within the industry standards for the area. The credit card fee policy isn't uncommon in the hospitality industry and you do have the choice to pay by...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight with my husband as a treat. Paid the extra ($345.00 for the room) to get a park view room and breakfast. Room was spacious and nice. The ensuite was adequate though flooded the whole floor if you didn't shut the shower door very promptly. The outlook to the park was nice which was what we paid for. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marita P
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your most recent stay with us. I have notified our maintenance team to investigate your shower, along with the balcony. We have recently discovered that the balconies in certain rooms are not weathering to well; we have already undertaken repairs on the balconies that require some TLC. I would recommend that you join our Priority...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Fantastic location and although our room was a little dated it was comfortable and just fine for our stay. There's a great selection of bars and restaurants in close proximity and we found the hotels own bars to be really good. All the staff we encounter were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melinda8448
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. Glad you make the most of our warm hospitality and great location; hope to see you again in future. Regards Paul

Nelson Bay, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We stayed 3 nights prior to renting a campervan. The location is fantastic. We were given a street level room which we complained about and were moved to a room overlooking the pool area. The rooms are comfortable and clean. It reflects the price. We ate at the Masters Harbour using the room deal and the food was beautiful as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ijb69
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your most recent stay with us at the Esplanade Hotel. It pleases me that we were able to exceed your expectations with regards to the levels of service and hospitality you received. We pride ourselves on the service we offer our guests and our managers have a love of the job and I sure you...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 24 April 2016

I had an event in Fremantle so a friend and I chose to stay at the Esplanade hotel. Although I am from Perth many years ago I do feel like a tourist these days. The hotel is in an incredible location in Freo just across from the Esplanade park (hint was in the name) and is easily walkable to all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzeDXB
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank for commenting on your most recent stay with us. Glad you made the most of our location, exploring the best that Fremantle has to offer, I have passed your comments onto the maintenance team to review the signage for our lifts. I can only apologise for the unwanted knock at 09:30 especially after having a function, unfortunately our breakfast...

Caloundra, Australia
Reviewed 24 April 2016

I was expecting just a little more from this Rydges managed hotel. The outside view does suck you in, and the price probably reflects the quality, there were too many options for having my rental undercover, which added another $100 to the bill. The hotel was positioned with everything well in walking distance...lots of bonus points here. The presentation of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank overtemp927
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to comment on your most recent stay with us, our Valet service does offer a safe and secure option for parking one car and there is a nominal charge for this service. We appreciate that the concierge staff can get busy during peak times and the drive can be a bit of a challenge when...

612 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (254)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (310)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Dolphin Pool (9)
Viewed
Executive King Room (39)
Viewed
Parkview Room (37)
Viewed
Premier Spa Suite (50)
Viewed
Resort Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
185 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
393 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
261 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Price Range: $175 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
Albany, Australia
Melbourne, Australia
8 months ago

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would assume rooms on higher floors have more natural light.”
jimmywerro, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in a room looking over to resturants with a balcony very quite”
26lawrences, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the atrium foyer”
471fionag, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Away from the central atrium for a good sleep (not that it was loud at all).”
andrewsU4172ZL, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“apparently don't book through a third party or they will punish you and put you in the worst room available.”
Santamonicamama, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5