We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Akaroa House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Akaroa House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Akaroa House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
New Zealand
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We agreed 6 months ago it was so nice with such excellent owners who attend to every little detail that we should return so we have. The only change from our first visit is that it reinforces our strong appreciation of the place. Had the pleasure of meeting Alison which was nice to meet in person this very caring lady....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rikijohn
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Oops thought I'd replied to this review : ) Lovely to meet you and the team this time and thank you so much for the compliment of booking to stay at Akaroa House a second time. The house is just perfect for special friend reunions - like yours - so important to take the time to enjoy friendships. We appreciate...

Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 March 2015

4 day weekend here with friends - perfect house - beautifully renovated - lovely bedrooms and bathrooms. Fabulous open plan, well equipped living areas, which open out to the huge veranda's and outdoor entertainment areas. Morning sun on the veranda simply gorgeous for the start of the day. Great BBQ for evening meals made easy. No driving - relax and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joy75a
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Hello Joy - thank you so much for your review, and what a fun weekend you were all having - such a neat idea to all get together to celebrate a milestone birthday :) the house is perfect for small special gatherings and Akaroa is such a beautiful spot - and you had such gorgeous summer weather :) Kind Regards...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 February 2015

My friends and I selected Akaroa House on FEB 2015. We traveled New Zealand from China. Elison has been very kind and provided excellent services. We really enjoyed our stay over there. Every room and every detail just perfect. It is very comfortable for 8 of us. The house is beautiful and I think the stay in Akaroa House was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travell0ver106
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

I am so pleased Akaroa House worked well for your group, and it would have been a special finale to your NZ trip. Kind Regards Alison :)

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 January 2015

We decided to have our wedding at Akaroa House in Jan 2014. It was a beautiful setting, and the perfect size for our families to stay in, with the ceremony out in the garden. We were superbly taken care of, with everything looking sparkly and shiny. It made our special day perfect, and we would not hesitate to recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mightymonkey
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We do our very best to make sure stays are special - and of course weddings deserve to be extra special. We like to check that all is OK and it happened that we were in Akaroa to welcome you and your family in person. Having raked the Norfolk pine needles ready for the...

New Zealand
Reviewed 18 September 2014

We get together with very close friends every six months. Our last Sept 2014 we selected Akaroa House after excellent communication with the owners. Well what a house, every room and every detail just excellent, topped off with a well stocked gift basket for the 9 of us to share. What impressed us the most is the attention to detail....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rikijohn
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

OOps - don't know how time has flown to respond to these reviews. Thanks so much and such a compliment to us that I believe you are coming back to Akaroa House next month. That is such a great idea getting together with friends, and Akaroa House is very special for reunions :) Happy summertime.

Methven, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We stayed here for our annual "girls weekend away" and found everything to be just perfect. We had plenty of room, and being 7 women together - plenty of bathrooms for all. I loved having the fire, sky tv to watch international rugby, and such a beautiful setting to sit and relax. The house is beautifully appointed, with everything we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monksontour
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Thanks for that (Sorry - albeit very belated!) We were away in September and then crazy times since!! The house is great for Girl's weekends - plenty of space and the claw foot bath is such a treat. Lovely views from the windows whilst you wallow! and the fire is great for that special winter warmth - along with the...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We are a group of ladies who take an annual girls trip somewhere in the South Island. This is the 3rd time we have been to Akaroa over 20 years of doing this and this time was a highlight! Akaroa House is beautifully appointed and every detail has been well thought out. Our hostess went out of her way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Thank you Deb - I was rather nervous with you all coming from a luxury lodge background - it was lovely that you get together - your review is very special. The house is gorgeous and I'm thrilled others enjoy it too for special times :)

Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Tis is such a grt house for any group or family;Its awesome views & garden is is an extra pleasure ..Allisons attention to every detail was evident. We all loved & appreciated the homely warm & spotless presentation of Akaroa House..Thankyou Allison we will be back..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10pennyc
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and so pleased you all had a great time - can't believe I've overlooked responding for so long - apologies :)

Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Celebrated a family occasion here in August and had the most fantastic time- the house is absolutely gorgeous and very well decorated. Everything we needed was in the house so it felt very comfortable and welcoming. Even the little things that had been pre-organised eg. setting the fire, made such a difference. House is in a great location, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth1408
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Hello Beth - that was such a lovely idea meeting up with your family as a holiday break for all :) The heat pumps are great to boost the temperature - but there's something special about the real flames of the log-burner for winter warmth.

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We booked Akaroa House to meet up with our daughter at a halfway spot between Nelson and her home in Dunedin. Being close to CHCH also gave us the opp to invite some old and new friends along to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. From the moment we walked in we knew we were in for a great weekend and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rigornz
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

So pleased the house worked well for your family reunion and Akaroa certainly a handy spot - about half-way. Thanks for staying. Alison :)

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.4 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
59 reviews
1.6 km away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
229 reviews
1.0 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
1.1 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
1.5 km away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Treat yourself to Akaroa House. Offered as luxury holiday home accommodation. Stunning sun and views over Akaroa village and sea - then up to the hills. A beautiful heritage property fully restored in 2004 offering five bedrooms and four bathrooms. The French Tub ensuite opens out to the gardens. A peaceful retreat in a great location in Akaroa village. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Akaroa House

Address: 13 Aylmers Valley Road | PO Box 205, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range: $700 - $1,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Akaroa House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Single beds can combine as kings, except in the downstairs room with 3 singles (prob the only not-so-desirable room, unless for kids etc.).”
 of 5 bubbles Cec27, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Close to town centre yet clear of busy people and vehicles. Perfect in our opinion.”
 of 5 bubbles Rikijohn, 29 Mar 2015 | Read review
“5 couples can stay here and be altogether for a fabulous get together.”
 of 5 bubbles Joy75a, 2 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms in Akaroa House are superb.”
 of 5 bubbles mightymonkey, 22 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Floor level room beside the lounge, has the most amazing claw footed bath.”
 of 5 bubbles Monksontour, 3 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5