We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Akaroa Waterfront Motels

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Akaroa Waterfront Motels
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We had a room upstairs, very clean and modern, serviced daily. Only downside for us, you couldn't see the TV from the bed, probably wouldn't bother others. Couch was very comfortable, I ended up sleeping on that, being a person that likes to fall asleep with the TV on. Impressed with the 'extras' - an outdoor pool table, Pentanque set,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thank you for your nice comments about the unit and cleanliness. We apologize for the noise, from the private house, next door of the office side units (half of the complex), unfortunately there is not much we can do about it, however we have an agreement and work is done Monday to Friday only, 8am-4.30pm. Since your review...

London
Reviewed 21 February 2017

My mother and I were upgraded to a suite, so we had a bedroom and a bed in the living room, which was perfect. Lovely service, and you can't beat the views from the balcony! Right on the water, clean and well-equipped apartments and walking distance to all the sights of Akaroa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jojeba
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great time and enjoyed our beautiful location right on the water edge, and our lovely service. Do not hesitate to come again! kind regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels Team

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Our group from Christchurch stayed overnight as we had to play Interclub Golf at a Golf Club nearby the next day teeing off at 9 a.m. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay as we were accommodated in a three bedroom unit upstairs at the end of the complex overlooking the harbour. All amenities were very nice, very clean, quiet and comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Yes the 3 bedroom is a great unit for group or bigger family. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the cleanliness, our housekeeping team is working hard to keep our high standards, We are definitely waiting for your next visit. Best Regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels Team

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

The room we had was very clean & the daily servicing was good. Location is excellent, walking distance to restaurants & shops. If the room we stayed in had been refurbished it must have been some time ago. At $225 per night not good value, have stayed in much nicer & larger accommodation with as good a view or better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kim B
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Dear Kim, Thank you for your feedback, it is important to us. Please be aware your hot water cylinder was check on the first day during the service. Unfortunately since we took over (2.5 years ago) the motel we had to replace already 6 hot water cylinders for different reasons: earthquake, water pressure modification, road work or age...So we have...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 February 2017

From the time I booked this motel I was impressed with the very professional and polite emails. I had to take my elderly father to meet a cruise ship. Normal policy was a two night stay but when I explained my circumstances the motel managers were happy to oblige with a one night stay. The motel was spotlessly clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnemcmorran
Coldwater
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We are two couples travelling together from Canada - spent 3 delightful nights here Feb/17 - the accommodation was spit spot clean, very well equipped with comfy beds, had everything we needed for a comfortable stay - the staff were very friendly and welcoming - the location was perfect - would definitely stay here again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Solstraale
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in February and found the staff to be very responsive and helpful. The room was very clean and nice. The only issue we had was that the door did not lock properly but aside from that it was absolutely perfect! A beautiful location!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peggyh9
Auckland
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Booked two rooms for two nights, back in August 2016. Elise and Fraser's attention to detail here is exemplary! Nothing appears to be too much trouble - from booking dinner to looking up phone numbers. Amazing value for money and all the Staff we have met truly appear to love working here. Our USA MI travelling buddies are also very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pokeno8
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights. The room wasvery nice and with a lot of room. It had one main room with twinbed, open kitchen and dining area.. Of course also the tv. The 2nd room was small but with enough room for 2 single beds. The kitchen was small, but well layed out and it had all you'd need....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Smeets
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

I have just had the most amazing weekend in Akaroa, this is the first time I have stayed in this motel and certainly won't be the last. The facilities are great the apartment was immaculate and the views on the front from the balcony were stunning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbie d

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.7 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
59 reviews
0.1 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.4 km away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.7 km away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#9 of 24 in Akaroa
126 reviews
1.1 km away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the beautiful, historic French village of Akaroa, just 1.5H from Christchurch. With 24 refurbished units to choose from featuring studio,1, 2 and 3-bedroom units, you can enjoy affordable comfort with the waterfront right at your doorstep. With most units offering views of the water, spacious living and well-equipped kitchens you have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. We are only a minutes stroll to the art and craft shops, restaurants, cafes and other attractions Akaroa has to offer. You could also relax in our private hot tropical spa pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Akaroa Waterfront Motels

Address: 56 - 64 Rue Jolie, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range: $138 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akaroa Waterfront Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Akaroa Waterfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Waterfront Hotel Akaroa
Driftwood Hotel Akaroa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Akaroa Waterfront Motels staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Akaroa Waterfront Motels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Downstairs at the waterfront edge!”
 of 5 bubbles Hakataramea, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We chose upstairs for the views”
 of 5 bubbles kitandgail, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs room No 90 great view”
 of 5 bubbles michaelhA6897NQ, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check before booking, is construction still going on”
 of 5 bubbles 164angelae, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a larger, upper room, overlooking the water”
 of 5 bubbles Jojeba, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5