We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Start your review of Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A bit difficult to find but well worth the effort! Very nice accommodations, friendly hosts, excellent breakfast! We stayed here night before taking ferry next day. If your looking for a Bed & Breakfast, this is a good one!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
nz
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Great view from deck, spacious room with bath(room 3), delicious breakfast which included gluten free toast and good choice of fresh fruit plus usual cereals, juice, tea and coffee, v comfy bed, friendly hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avoca063
NikkiRol, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

Hod Hasharon
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Located on a hill in Picton, this B&B is the best place to stay before taking the Ferry on the following morning. With such a warm Welcome of the owner, very nice and comfortable rooms, a tasty Breakfast, very close to the restaurants and the main street of Picton, its a winning combunation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harari2012
NikkiRol, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Yes our B&B is only a few minutes from the ferry terminal and plus we can also see it arriving. I'm glad you enjoyed your time in Picton. Regards Nikki

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here after taking the Interislander from Wellington. It was a great location. The room was perfect and the hosts were lovely. The view from the deck of the harbor was awesome, next time I would like to stay there longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JcqieA
BrentfromPicton, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It was lovely meeting you both. It was a shame you didn't get to sit on our deck and soak up the view longer. Enjoy the rest of your time. Kind regards Nikki

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

The Sounds vista has a beautiful viewing room and outside area to watch the boats in the sound go by. A bracing walk into the centre of Picton you find fine dining on the quay. Located perfectly for wine tastings and local exploration and at the end of the day a nice house and room to return to. In the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 553meb
NikkiRol, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write our review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and our continental breakfast with the yummy croissants. The view can be very distracting at times watching the ferries sail in and the cruise ships arriving, but I guess that is what having a view is all about. Regards Nikki

NYC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Awfully hard to top this place. Nikki and Brent are wonderful hosts, and the rooms are huge and ludicrously clean, with great views of Picton and the sound. And when I say clean, I really mean it: the B&B is nine years old, but everything looks absolutely brand new, because the owners seem to take relentlessly great care of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WildBoarNYC
NikkiRol, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Yes, the bathroom with the heated tiled floor is actually easy to keep nice. We have been lucky over the years to have nice people, like yourselves stay, whom appreciate our home. Regards Nikki

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed there one night before we take the ferry from Picton to Wellington. We didn't really have time to spend there, but the little time spent there was very nice. Very welcoming owners. Since we had been staying in hotels, it was nice to stay in someone's home where it was very personal and warm. Though the breakfast time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HM1212
NikkiRol, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Sorry you didn't get a chance to relax on the deck and unwind taking in our harbour view. As we like to travel ourselves, we understand the early morning starts. Continental breakfast works well for times like that and of course an espresso coffee. Regards Nikki

Scotland
Reviewed 20 November 2016

A warm welcome from hosts Nikki and Brent. Their B&B is situated a short walk from the township of Picton. It is warm and homely. The twin room we were allocated was well furnished, including a refrigerator, tea/coffee making facilities, TV/ DVD player, which were available to loan. The spacious bathroom was well appointed with a sunken bath and walk-in...

Review collected in partnership with statravel.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M4zzy
BrentfromPicton, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. This is our first season with the Twin room and value your input about the lack of sockets. We will attend to this concern. We hope the rest of your time in NZ was an enjoyable one. Thanks again for staying with us. Regards to you both.

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

My partner & I stayed here for two wonderful nights having come off the ferry from the North Island of NZ. We were greeted by Nikki a lovely & welcoming lady. We had a huge big room with lovely big bathroom & walk in robe. The bed was the best I had slept in since arriving in NZ. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
BrentfromPicton, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. Glad you enjoyed our comfortable bed. It's nice to have a decent night sleep and a hot shower. We enjoyed chatting with you both at breakfast. Hope the rest of your stay was pleasurable and that we see you again in the future. Take care.

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Unfortunately we only spent one night here (arriving late and having to leave early to catch the ferry the next morning). We had the large room downstairs -- it had a queen size bed, single bed and pull-out sofa. Beautiful room with large screen TV, fridge, coffee, tea etc. Small but nice bathroom was upstairs. Big terrace at front of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacklin1

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
1.5 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
245 reviews
5.0 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
1.4 km away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Harbour View Motel Picton
1.5 km away
Escape to Picton
Escape to Picton
#5 of 22 in Picton
163 reviews
1.5 km away
Glengary Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
SOUNDS VISTA B&B has 2 well appointed luxury bedrooms - both with Queen size beds & spacious en suite bathrooms with amazing heated tile floor - feeling is believing - both with wonderful sea views. Also available a downstairs family room that sleeps 4 comfortable - 1 double bed & 1 king single bed & a sofa bed.This room has a detached bathroom upstairs. So not ideal if getting up and down stairs is a problem. All rooms with free Wi-Fi. SOUNDS VISTA B&B is located in a private setting & only 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive into the centre of Picton township where you will find a variety of shops, cafes & restaurants as well as the waterfront, where the many boats that cruise the Marlborough Sounds depart from. We can book your wine tour from our B&B, or go mountain biking on the Queen Charlotte track. SOUNDS VISTA B&B has stunning views of the harbour where you can watch the ferries go in and out while soaking up the view from our deck. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast

Address: 58 Dorset Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Price Range: $165 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seemed nice!”
L1411SHbillb, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 if you want a bath, rooms 1 and 2 if you want a view”
avoca063, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are nice”
Harari2012, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great view from front terrace.”
jacklin1, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The upper rooms do provide a great view above the city.”
JanA956, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
Orbitz.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates