We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast

Save
Share
101 5th St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-5935
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (5)

About

#18 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in one of the oldest and historic neighborhoods in Washington D.C. Originally built in 1894 and updated with modern amenities while retaining the Victorian styling of the original architecture. Within walking distance to capitol attractions and conveniently located near the Supreme Court and the National Mall. 11 rooms with a mix of shared and private bathrooms. Check in 1-5 PM daily.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
86Good for walkers
Grade: 86 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
6Attractionswithin 0.5 km
99Reviews7Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 26
  • 14
  • 11
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Emmanuel V wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
First night, Okay I get what I paid for! It's okay; stayed in room #9! Wrong... Okay, it started getting weird after that first night! I noticed the first day on arrival that the window sash locks didn't function as intended! They installed window stopper's; that at first sight looked to work, more on inspection! The windows could be pushed inward from the out side and/or be opened from the outside with delicacy by a butter knife! Of which, I found on the roof when one night. I woke up to an intruder attempting to open the widow shutters, that are installed in the inside of the window shut out all light from the outside! I dared not exit that window and chase them in fright of my life! If they reached that far bypassed the window and now attempting to open the shutters on the inside! Only directed me to one conclusion the care keeper is still doing this and has previously done it before! Also, there is a small glass window above the door of which tilts open ,and not only that! The two little spring levers may be removed if pulled in-ward, in order to remove that little tilt glass window of which comes off completely! At first, I thought I could stop anyone entering the room by placing the beds in-front of the door to place weight and thought I would notice incase they had an extra key! This was prior to me knowing that the window above the door tilted and came off completely! Stayed there from three week by the way! On another night after I made sure there were no entree point; pretty sure this upset them! At that point I smelt an unknown smell in the room of which could have been chloroform or cyanide of many things! There's a vent in the room of which central air is pushed in that room and other other's by the Central A/C whom the main air filter in pulled in through, that resides in the dinning room! Felt nauseous, headache, weak stomach, diarrhea, and chest in my pain! Research the symptoms, and you'll see! If there's A guy in the #11 room to claims to be a reverend Cassey or Kassey, I would be skeptical of him! He may be apart of the problem, there! In other word's if you plan to stay there, be wary!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Seth B wrote a review Nov 2019
West Orange, New Jersey30 contributions27 helpful votes
This has not been a good experience for us. We came here with the family. The room we got has two twin beds for 4 people. Perhaps we made a mistake when booking, but we did indicate the size of the family and should not have been offered this room. There were also only 2 towels in the room. I would normally just ask for more, but there is no staff on site to speak to. The check in process includes calling a number to get the door code and then looking for an envelope with your name on it among all the guest envelopes and then locating your room. The room is down steep steps in a basement. This feels like an afterthought space. The “shared bathroom” is a dingy bathroom with one toilet and shower down the hall that 3 guest rooms share. It is dirty and feels like a bad dorm room experience. The pealing paint The windows in the room do not close tight. In fact, there are gaps that are each several inches wide to let in the icy air. The host is off putting. She was snappy at guest and seems annoyed that we are requesting services (like water or coffee or adjusting the heat). I mentioned how incredibly hot it was in our room the previous night and asked if the heat could be reduced a little. I received a long and nasty speech about how other residents will just turn it up since they might be cold. She never did tell me where the thermostat was, it was better for me to just deal with it and be uncomfortable. Did I mention that we killed multiple bugs in and around room, plus there were stains on the walls and ceiling which appeared to be the remains of bugs killed by other guest. The breakfast is very simple. There are a few types of bread put out, along with some cereal and a coffee maker. You find the dishes to eat with in the kitchen yourself (not near the food) and be sure to put the dishes in the dishwasher when you are done. This is a self service breakfast and not what a typical B&B experience provides. While I love DC, I would not stay here again and would advise others to find alternate arrangements. 0 Stars!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EdwardD1832, Manager at Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast
Responded 5 Dec 2019
Seth, I'd like to start by apologizing, its clear that we did not meet your expectation for for that i am truly sorry. We do our best to be upfront with the description of our guest rooms and property with the goal of making it clear that our beds in all of our rooms are twin size beds, that the bathrooms are shared and the breakfast is self service. It's disappointing to see that our team members gave the impression of being off putting, our only reason to be here is to take care of our guest. Seth, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, we've got a few things to work on. I hope that you'll give us an other chance to show you that were better than the experience you described. Thank you for staying with us at the Capitol Hill B&B
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KarwKa wrote a review Sep 2019
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland4 contributions6 helpful votes
The only pros is the location. Other than location: stuff is rude, don't expect you receive breakfast (it is not 100%, I didn't receive anything ...the lady was late & extremely rude to me, no words of explanation or apologizes), walls are made of paper you can hear everything form next room, AC is loud, bed are more then 1 meter high, you will need a chair to climb on it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: go to another place if you want to be treated as a guest
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Happiness16340410614, General Manager at Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Thanks for reviewing! We apologize for the inconvenience of your stay. We’re working to improve our property and your comments helps us to make these changes. I do apologize if the staff was rude and the breakfast wasn’t on time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noreen N wrote a review Sep 2019
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Does the District of Colombia have an agency which inspects 'historic homes" owned by churches? Please go to 101 Found Places Capitol Hill today. no way will never return. something to be endured when you book last minute and do not read previous warnings contained in reviews... ....basement rooms, broken lock on a double room. , bathroom recently installed in a shabby space, shower water left standing more than 15 minutes, washing machines running.in the space near shared bathroom. ..aren't there basic safety and hygiene standards ? the 3 basement rooms and general shared area should be inspected by an agency especially after reading the disturbing reviews from elderly customers who were unable to climb into those stupid loft style bed. space, , this should be reported to the Better Business Bureau along with Department of safety/hotel quality control of the District of Colombia ...the stairs are poorly lit, but there is a smoke detector with a sign to 'call the Fire Department'.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Room Tip: ask questions well ahead of the time, 3 rooms in basement are substandard. steep stairs to all...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Voyage681926 wrote a review Sep 2019
Hyderabad District, India11 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed here for three days. The b&b is ideally situated for travellers wanting to visit the Capitol Hill, Museums and Arlington. The railway station, the Senate building, the trolley tour stop and the metro station are within walking distance. The entry to the b&b is through a code sent to you by email. We found the b&b to be user friendly and comfortable. Additionally we met travellers from five different nationalities and chatted up over coffee and breakfast. Overall a memorable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Paul M wrote a review Jul 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom19 contributions40 helpful votes
Check before where they’re going to put you if you must go! After reading about how quaint and old fashioned styling this property was. I found myself in a glorified basement with a small view onto a weed strewn garden and passerby’ feet. The bed (as others have previously mentioned) was really high and the bed sheets and pillow cases, although clean, had holes in them! The room tv didn’t work and there was nobody available after 5pm to help. The walls in this reclaimed basement are very thin and I could clearly hear other guests. On arrival the one toilet in the bathroom (to be shared by 6 guests) was blocked and overflowing. This didn’t get fixed I’ll next morning. This same bathroom had lots of peeling paint and looked really run-down. The A/C in the room was old style poor with no controls. Not great for hot July! The breakfast cereals were unappetising and of poor/cheap quality. Overall, I cannot recommend this guest house to anyone other than vagrants or tramps. For another $20 a night I stayed I the POD hotel which was much closer to all attractions and was 5 star in comparison with this place. The only good thing about this accommodation is that it’s reasonably quiet (25 min walk from National Mall at a brisk pace) however with 1 shop and 1 bar/restaurant close by it may be too quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Ask for a room above ground level.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from EdwardD1832, Manager at Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast
Responded 6 Aug 2019
Teampuma, You outlined some major issues you experienced with us and I too am disappointed you experienced this at the Capitol Hill B&B. We take great pride in the cleanliness and upkeep of our late 1800's Victorian house. We we are is a clean safe place to stay within easy walking distance to all things people want to see and experience in Washington D.C. Thank you for letting us know about the issues you experienced we will do our best to correct this to ensure that all of the explorers who come to the Capitol Hill B&B have a great experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miltonhill wrote a review Jun 2019
London13 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
The maintenance staff would not adjust the beds (a two minute job), Being two seniors, they were so high we couldn't get on them without climbing on a chair. If you fell out you could break am arm, seriously. So we slept all five nights on the floor, nobody cared. There were cockroaches for company. When we told the staff they laughed and said there were also rats. Charming. The floors and furniture were filthy. We were refused the tv remote control in case we stole it! So nobody could watch tv in the lounge. Soap and shampoo were fixed outside the shower! Cameras spied on you, Can't think why. The house really was a hell hole. A money making scheme with no regard for the people staying there.Being close to the sights does not make up for the place being absolutely awful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't stay here is the best tip.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EdwardD1832, Manager at Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast
Responded 1 Jul 2019
Miltonhill, We take great pride in the care and upkeep of our victorian home and to hear your discription leaves me at a loss for words. Taking care of our guest is our only reason for being here and we missed the mark on all fronts, for that I apologize. We are better than this and i will ensure that the concerns you raised are corrected.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
athoras wrote a review May 2019
38 contributions40 helpful votes
We stayed here for 4 nights. The location is very good, it's 5mins walking from the Capitol within a quiet residential area. There is a small market close by. The room is quite small, with 2 small single beds. The a/c and the ventilator was not working, but at least we were able to open the windows. The breakfast offered was basic, but ok.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EdwardD1832, Manager at Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast
Responded 6 Jun 2019
Athoras, Our Location in the shadow of our Nations Capitol is a great home base to explore our fine city, you can easily walk to the mall with all of the Smithsonian museums, the library of congress and the Supreme court. thank you for staying with us at the Capitol Hill B&B.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cindy S wrote a review Mar 2019
Page, Arizona5 contributions1 helpful vote
Plus: historic building and neighborhood; close to Capitol, National Mall, Eastern Market; relatively inexpensive. Minus: creaky floorboards whenever anyone walks on them when you try to sleep; 19 narrow stairs to 2nd floor so travel light (x2 for 3rd floor); typical city noise at night; sparsely furnished; A/C unit in window prevents wooden shutters from closing; TV in room didn't work (take TVs out - make it historic!); Keurig coffee machine = environmental waste; forget the breakfast and go to Johnnie T's. I arrived at 9 p.m. and had late check in instructions, but Google Map gave me an address of 105 5th NE vs. actual 101 5th NE, making it very difficult to find with dark street lighting. There were no signs listing the name - only on the mail box in small print. When I told the employee the next morning, she said I should have searched for "Found Places" vs. "Capitol Hill B and B". Since there were no staff when I arrived, I couldn't ask about the heat (small space heater), didn't know how it worked, so plugged it into the wall and blew a fuse/breaker, casting the room in darkness. Fortunately, I had a bathroom with light. Could not find an extra blanket, employee told me the next morning it was in the nightstand vs. closet. Lots of Christian literature and Bibles displayed which you can peruse or not - but I found the constant "Fox News" on the living room TV very annoying.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from EdwardD1832, Manager at Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast
Responded 6 Apr 2019
Cindy, Thank you for taking the time to give us some much valuable feedback. The positives I feel outweigh any shortcomings, things like the location and ease of access to all the D.C has to offer is one of our best qualities. Being a historic home it is a constant work in progress maintaining things like the creaky floors and stairs, it a labor of love. You also outlined some easily correctable items that will help us be better in the future. I apologize that you had to deal with these challenges,we should be easy to find using our name in google maps, the TV should work and the blanket should be easy to locate. Thank you for staying with us at the Capitol Hill B&B. Edward
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jon C wrote a review Mar 2019
St. Albans, United Kingdom14 contributions9 helpful votes
Shared bathroom, but not a problem. Could come and go as you wished, though you do need the door code in advance if you arrive outside office hours. This was emailed to me. Basic facilities, but everything you need, including a good basic breakfast with plenty of tea and coffee. Run by helpful and obliging people. Excellent location in a pleasant neighbourhood, a few minutes' walk from the Capitol.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: No lift so you may wish to avoid the top floor if stairs are a problem
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from EdwardD1832, Manager at Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast
Responded 6 Apr 2019
Jon, Whether you have business at the Capitol or are in town for some R&R, our location in the shadow of Capitol Hill is a great home base while visiting Washington D.C. Thank you for staying with us at the Capitol Hill B&B. Edward
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$31 - US$31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCCapitol Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Supreme Court (0.5 km), Belmont-Paul Women's Equality National Monument House and Museum (0.4 km), and Folger Theater (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro Cacao, Cafe Berlin, and Jimmy T'S.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Washington DC.
Are there any historical sites close to Found Places Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (6.1 km), Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (7.4 km), and The President Woodrow Wilson House (5.2 km).