We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Capital View

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Capital View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Capital View
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

The location of the place was ok, only a short 15 minute walk from the train station and about the same to get down to National Mall. The hostel staff were very warm, welcoming and friendly. The price of the hostel for 3 nights was also fantastic. The Hostel and facilities itself were sufficient enough and very comfortable, it felt...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leifstarkey
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

hey there, thanks so much for your review. We do refill free coffee/tea/sugar/creamer/oil/pancake mix and peanut butter daily, and I've reviewed the logs, and saw it there at all times; I'm sorry if somehow coffee was empty every time you checked, must have gotten refilled right after. Also we use a real time integrated software that doesn't allow for overbooking,...

Reviewed 26 April 2016

I stayed there with a friend of mine for 2 nights. It was a NIGHTMARE. It happened so many things that a single post wouldn’t be enough, but I will try to explain in a few sentences what a horrible hostel Capital View is, to warn all of you before it’s too late. 1. We reserved through the website Hostelworld.com...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marco G
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, but I have to address it on multiple inconsistencies, since they are very untrue. "1. We reserved through the website Hostelworld.com for 2 nights by credit card. We also paid a 12% deposit (19$) for the hostel" - Correct, there was a deposit paid, and when you arrived the due total was what was listed...

York, Maine
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Capital view was a hidden gem. It was quick walk from Union Station and a yellow circulator stop. My daughter and stayed in Room #8. It was very clean and the mattresses were Ikea comfortable.It was a great way for her to experience life in a dorm sized room.We had a shared bath but I think we were the only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BethMurphy2014
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Hey there, thank you much. Not all rooms are entirely equal, and you being in a private room, have brand new mattresses - something that we are working to deliver to all of the rest of the rooms in the next week or so; seeing your positive experience review, I'm looking forward to getting more of that, once we finish...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 17 April 2016

It was nightmarish trying to get the car into the nearby parking the hostel guys recommended but that was because of DC's maze-like one way systems. The hostel is a sweet old building, really clean and well kept with a communal kitchen and sitting room, a rooftop deck area and private or dormitory rooms. It is very much a hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

hey there! Thanks so much for your nice comments! Dc has one of the highest homeless populations in United States percentage wise, so that is an issue all over the city, but surely don't feel discouraged over it, when traveling around the US. It's a sad fact of life everywhere, and we try to be supportive in our ways when...

Cannes, France
Reviewed 14 April 2016

I spent a night in this hostel for a school trip, and I would NEVER recommend it to ANYONE. The person in charge was very nice, but: - The rooms were dirty, and had not been cleaned up: there were even blood stains on some beds. - Some friends could hear animals scratching in the ceiling. Apparently they were not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AEBcannes
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Since this is the same group responding, please accept our copied response. Thank you for your comments, as we do listen to all of them We make sure the building is extremely clean, as we clean it every single day for multiple hours. We did notice some dust missed on the blinds, and we're sorry about that - we do...

New York
Reviewed 27 March 2016

For a last minute trip on a long weekend there weren't all that many options left, but I was really glad I stayed here. Much more quiet than larger chain hostels, and I met some really great people. Also in a really central location, and great if you're getting the bus / train to / from Union Station. Beds could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Thank you so much! Beds could and ARE being updated! We have almost all new mattresses now, and are checking with new folks checking in, on what few of the last year's that we think are great should be changed when it's time! Thank you!

Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet hostel then this is absolutely fine, if you are looking for parties and lots of sociable travellers then another hostel is probably better. The prices are good and the location is close to stations. Stan who works there is really nice and funny and Will is nice too. Stan helped me with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jess W
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

thank you, and sorry about your slightly different experience when meeting other staff. They're all nice, just in their own way, and we've made sure to have a talk to that fella, thank you

Ossining, New York
Reviewed 18 January 2016

I have been staying at Capital View for a couple of days each week since August, and I'm loving it. The hostel is of perfect size, so it doesn't get exceedingly crowded--never too many people occupying the kitchen nor a long line to the showers. With very rare exceptions, hot water is always in abundance. The common area is far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ania H
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

It's a nice place, I went by myself to the DC, the price is right for what you get. There is hot water, some entertainment areas. It's about 10 minutes from Unios S. It's close to Chinatown, and even, the national mall. Melanie from staff, nice!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juan G
Reviewed 31 October 2015

I stayed here on 2 occasions during my stay time in Washington. On both occasions i was delighted with the choice I paid. Lets set expectations, this is not the Hilton or the Ritz but you get what you pay for and for what you pay here you get a great hostel atmosphere, a warm welcome and a room you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian G
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

thank you so much for your positive comments, even though we know we have a few things to work on, from other comments!

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
153 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#60 of 140 in Washington DC
752 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
The Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
2,076 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The most centrally located hostel in Washington, DC. We are just blocks, and less than 10 minutes away from The Capitol, The Monuments, The Museums, and all of the major attractions in the Capital. Feel free to explore, or just spend the time on our roof top patio, and utilize our roof top pool and Jacuzzi access on weekdays! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capital View

Address: 301 I St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2524
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square , Upper Northwest
Price Range: $63 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capital View 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital View staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Capital View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 8 is a private room on top floor with 2 beds (bunks) close to rooftop deck and restrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles kathydZ734MR, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“room #2 gets really hot. while room #3 is on the chillier side”
 of 5 bubbles 329aniah, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The online info was accurate and description didn't disappoint.”
 of 5 bubbles 815seamusc, 1 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Always ask for the below bed”
 of 5 bubbles PMCortez, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Third floor has two private showers with better water pressure.”
  • Second floor 4 bed room
 of 5 bubbles I1737PMpauld, 10 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5