We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The St. Gregory Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The St. Gregory Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The St. Gregory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,094: English reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

While the lobby looks nice, the unfortunate part is when you get to the room. While using the restroom, I notice something move on the basket they put in the rooms. Upon further inspection, I noticed bugs (hopefully not bed bugs). They moved me to another room. Apparently they must have thought I might have carried them from the original...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MHess1222
w_cupido, Front Office Manager at The St. Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

We thank MHess for his comments and extend our apologies for any inconvenience caused, however we need to make some corrections. There is no mold where the person has stated and this has been checked and verified. Also with regard to bugs –if it is the same individual who came to the front desk with a bath mat saying that...

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I've stayed the St. Gregory multiple times and will continue to choose it as my go-to place when i'm in DC to conduct business. The rooms are well appointed with comfortable beds, sitting areas and work spaces. Bathrooms are spacious. It's clean and the staff are friendly. No, it's not the Ritz and it's not 5-star accommodation, but it's perfectly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IdahoSpudgirl
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I stayed at the St Gregory while traveling for business. I showed up an hour before check-in and was able to check in early by upgrading to a suite, which cost only $20! The room was huge and clean, and well furnished. I found the staff at the front desk (and everyone else I encountered) to be very friendly. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LJ21983
w_cupido, Front Office Manager at The St. Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

We like to Thank LJ21983 for their recent comments. We are very pleased to hear that you were able to check in early into a suite. Even though you were in town for business, we hope you were able to take advantage of all our city has to offer. Next time you’re in town do book directly so we can...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We spent 2 nights at St Gregory when visiting Washington DC for travel. The room was clean and spacious but a bit noisy because of the construction works nearby. The hotel is a bit away from attractions ( 20 min walk to the White House ) but the other hotels were even more overpriced. Good but not the best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tangofan
w_cupido, Front Office Manager at The St. Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

We like to Thank Tangofan for their comments. We apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. Unfortunately we are unable to control any construction made by the city but we definitely would like to make it up to you. Please contact us directly at 202-530-3600. Again We appreciate you taking the time to write about...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The staff was horrible. One of the managers went as far as to tell me that he didnt care if I told the president of the company about the place he was not giving ou anyone's name. The staff left the dirty room service plates outside of the door for three days straight. All of the coupons offered when booking...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ada W
w_cupido, Front Office Manager at The St. Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

We offer our apologies to Ada W for any inconvenience caused to her – however it is difficult to allow for an abusive guest not to show the same level of respect for other guests, employees and hotel management who tried to assist her in every and which way. We still extend our apologies as we feel that all guests...

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Booked through Priceline. Was looking for a place within walking distance to Georgetown. This was a stretch - was told 7 blocks away but the heart of Gtown was more than 10. Not suggested for those who aren't up for a hefty, vigorous trek. Welcomed by valets who were extremely pushy and rather rude. Wanted to check in and ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poipoi29494
w_cupido, Front Office Manager at The St. Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize to Poi Poi for any inconvenience. but we find it inconceivable that any member of our staff would make such a remark. We value our Priceline guests as we do all our guest. The comment we find has no basis. We also are not near any bars in our location and the street traffic is normal and all...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a great stay. I had read mixed reviews, so was naturally nervous, but we have no complaints. Large comfortable room, modern, clean, located close to a number of bus lines (plus the metro is within easy walking distance) and easy to get around. I booked through Priceline and thought we got an excellent deal. Other reviewers complained about old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christina_tripster
Reviewed 28 September 2012

DONT LET THE PICTURE and HIGH STAR RATINGS FOOL YOU !!! This place has old furniture, tube tvs, old mattress, old falling apart lamps. Rude or at least workers with actitude. Bed bugs bed bugs bed bugs ..... I saw someone (another revier) took a picture in Jan and they still have them ! Is this a bed bug hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank FCKUU
w_cupido, Front Office Manager at The St. Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

In reviewing FCKUU, We find that the description offered by the respondent is not our hotel. As such we feel this person did not stay at The St Gregory Hotel. The Management and Staff of The St Gregory Hotel

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 26 September 2012

During my recent stay at the St. Gregory I experienced world class service, excellent accommodations and a front desk staff that went above and beyond the call of duty. As a frequent traveler I was especially impressed by the professionalism of the staff from the front desk to housekeeping and the doormen. The hotel offers modern decor in the nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shaye222
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We spent a couple of nights here while we did a whistlestop tour of DC. Had a bit of a problem finding the hotel as the Supershuttle driver didn't know it! But we were impressed with the room and enjoyed a cocktail in the bar before we headed to friends near Dupont Circle. Lots of eating options within easy walking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stufio_7
w_cupido, Front Office Manager at The St. Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

We like to thank Stufio_7 for their comments. We’re sorry to hear that finding the hotel was very difficult but very glad that you found us. It seems like you took the time to have a full tourist experience and that is always wonderful. Please give us a call next time you’re in town so we can make your experience...

385 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
0:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bed Room (5)
Viewed
Junior Suite (7)
Viewed
Luxury King Suite (89)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Sky Suite (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
1,154 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
1,591 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#40 of 140 in Washington DC
2,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
1,179 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Li...
#100 of 140 in Washington DC
179 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The St. Gregory Hotel

Address: 2033 M St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3301
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Price Range: $163 - $1,401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The St. Gregory Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The St. Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Gregory Hotel And Suites
St. Gregory Hotel Washington Dc
St Gregory Washington Dc
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#75 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St. Gregory Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The St. Gregory Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get the room facing the main street for breathing space and sun light.”
 of 5 bubbles Hospitalitymba, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good and access is protected by elevator key cards.”
 of 5 bubbles seanaa2013, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the elevators as the noise does ravel into the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles KirstieG1646, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do your research for places to eat ahead of time - not many in the area to choose from.”
 of 5 bubbles Q1010RZmargaretm, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the 9th floor and loved the view”
 of 5 bubbles michellehU6372LA, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay