We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sofitel Washington DC

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sofitel Washington DC
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,035 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,624: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riesjart
Joseph C, Director of Operations at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in January and loved the hotel at the very first moment. Very nice and helpful staff. Quick check in, great large rooms with large beds, lots of closet space. The bar is also very nice with great small bites like wagyu sliders and pork buns.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zwampen
Joseph C, Director of Operations at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review

Dear Zwampen, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the personal service we strive to provide to our guests. We hope you will make a tradition of visiting us! Sincerely,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a stretch away from that special person, you have to put Sofitel on your list of places to rendezvous. From the time we drove up, It was apparent Sofitel is classy place to stay, after all, its just around the corner from the White House. The staff were friendly, our room was darling, the food and service were to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay Z
Joseph C, Director of Operations at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review

Dear Jay Z, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such lovely comments. Guest feedback is imperative to maintain the level of personal service that we strive for. We are glad to hear that Sofitel Washington DC is the right place to re-charge your batteries! We hope you will make a tradition of visiting us...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Sofitel Hotel Washington DC in October 2016 and we really enjoyed our stay. The first welcome at the hotel was fantastic. All of the staff at the hotel did a terrific work every day as they all seemed to try to recognize you. One of the bellboys told me a morning that he really liked my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel L
Joseph C, Director of Operations at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review

Dear Gabriel L, Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to our Nation's Capital! I have shared your comments regarding your experience with our General Manager, Alexandra Byrne, who appreciates all guest feedback. I am glad glad to know that you took advantage of our personalized service as well as our central location, in the heart of downtown Washington...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First, pay no attention to other reviewers -- the closest metro stop (for blue/orange/silver lines) is McPherson Square. Take the Vermont St./White House exit (not 14th St.), walk straight out of the station and walk down I Street, in 1/2 block turn right on 15th. Walk another 1/2 block and on the right, you'll see the French flag - voila,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbie21144
Joseph C, Director of Operations at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review

Dear Barbie21144, Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit! I am glad to know that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our central location. As you mentioned, we do not have coffee machines in our rooms, however we have them available upon request, and we would be happy to send one to the room. Just ask! We also...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I just spent 4 nights at the Sofitel DC and I am very pleased with the experience. All details were taken care of. Bed was very comfortable, we could regulate the temperature in the room, the bathroom was super clean and practical, wifi was convenient and fast. The best was probably the staff, so polite and so nice. We felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbuesmendi
Joseph C, Director of Operations at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review

Dear cbuesmendi, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am glad to know you enjoyed the customer service you received during your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our 3 day stay at Sofitel in DC. Hotel offers classic deco with very comfy beds and good service. Large rooms with all expected amenities. Our only but would be that rooms had awful views into an inside court. I appreciate the hotel offers room with cityviews but, for the pricetag, we found views from our rooms a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jose Luis G
Joseph C, Director of Operations at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review

Dear Jose Luis G, Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to our Nation's Capital! I am sorry to hear that the views from the room you booked did not meet your expectations, and as you mentioned, we do have rooms with city views, make sure to take a look at them on your next visit! I have shared...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gosh, always hard to write, but for the dollars spent at downtown DC hotels, one would think they would be on spot on every little detail. Not the case at Sofitel, though IMPORTANT to note that MAJOR efforts were made to resolve issue(s) in the beginning. Then the ball drops again. It is almost ALWAYS housekeeping--originally light bulbs out or...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelwR3514QJ
Joseph C, Director of Operations at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review

Dear michaelwR3514QJ, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest feedback is imperative to maintain the level of personal service that we strive for. I am sorry to hear that you did not have the same experience that so many of our Trip Advisor guests have enjoyed. I can assure you that this is atypical of our standards and...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel does not have a fancy lobby. The halls are kind of dingy. The breakfast is not great. But, wow, the bed is incredibly comfortable. And for a room that is only a few floors above the street, I thought it was pretty quiet. Nice bathrooms (which is unusual for a French hotel). The staff is friendly. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chilango M
Joseph C, Director of Operations at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review

Dear Chilango M, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am sorry to hear that some of our accommodations and services weren't up to your expectations and I will make sure to share your feedback with our General Manager, Alexandra Byrne. On the other...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited le bar tonight and despite it was slow but the warmth of the staff such as Marlos , Juan made a big difference. Sitting in the bar and to hear guests raving about Marlos cocktails was so assuring to my old belief that Marlos is someone who does only perfection - Well done !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monaem M
Joseph C, Director of Operations at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review

Dear Monaem M, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, specially with Marlos and Juan! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the...

813 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (682)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (209)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (110)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Other (209)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (90)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Superior King Room (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
1,110 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
2,715 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
ICI Urban Bistro
ICI Urban Bistro
Cuisines: French, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Price Range: $304 - $1,134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Washington DC staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Washington DC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay extra for a superior room and one that faces outwards, on a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles wucie, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are quiet, but I am not sure there are any great views.”
 of 5 bubbles NicoleG721, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I liked the street facing room, but really I don't think you can go wrong with any of their rooms as it is a top of the range establishment.”
 of 5 bubbles jayz2017, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask if there is a room that has windows that can be opened”
 of 5 bubbles chilangom, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on the fifth floor at the end of a corridor. Our room was opposite a building that was being renovated, no noise.”
 of 5 bubbles RynsMom, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay