We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

University Inn Washington DC

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
University Inn Washington DC
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for University Inn Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,046: English reviews
Cooperstown, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was very pleased with the room - the kitchenette was a nice feature. The bathroom was nice but if you are a highly discerning traveler you would say it needs an upgrade. Couch was on the saggy side but it was a pull out which is nice if you need it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jen F
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind note. We appreciate your feedback and look forward upgrading the hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed the convenience of having a Kitchenette in your room, we will do our best to ensure you have one again during your next stay!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a very quiet, cozy inn located across the street from a Residence Inn. Enjoyed the chilled water and warm cookies/fruit bowl at reception after a long, late night train ride. Had a comfortable and clean room, good-sized shower with tub, with a refrigerator and microwave in a separate section by the bathroom. Was a pleasant neighborhood to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwong_05
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It looks like you enjoyed your stay from the amenities in the lobby to the comfort of your Suite. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Foggy Bottom neighborhood. The Cherry Blossoms are coming soon; we hope you will be back to see them!

Dennis Port, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came to DC to spend NYE with some friends, and found this hotel on Trip Advisor. It was a good value, although I thought I had booked a king efficiency suite, but was given a regular double room. I didn't bring it to their attention, as was fine with the double. It did have a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanMc413
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Happy New Year!! I am happy that despite the mix up, you still very much enjoyed your room. We work very hard to ensure all of our guests are happy and comfortable. We are pleased that you were able to explore the area and see the White House and get a nice jog in. Please...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We could not have asked for a better home away from home in Washington DC- the location is perfect, great staff and friendly service, big rooms that were clean and comfortable ... delighted with the stay and the experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carab2017
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice note. It's always nice to hear that we have provided a cozy and homey feeling to our guests. We hope you join us again soon to explore more of DC.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the George Washington uni inn and we were welcomed by a warm friendly face at checkin and the staff on desk couldn't help us enough and upgraded our room free of charge and whilst a lot on reviews on here mention how the hotel needs and update to it decor I didn't find it offensive and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisa J
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am happy to see that you enjoyed your room and the charm of our property. We appreciate you recommending us and moreso hope to also see you again soon.

Akron, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall we were very pleased with our stay, it was walking distance from the Kennedy Center and a very diverse selections of restaurants and close to the subway system which is easy to use for a novice and the onsite restaurant was nice, now for my complaints I paid for my rooms ahead of time for the 3 nights we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mason500
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It is great to see that the location of the hotel allowed for your easy navigation around the city. I do see that you used our Valet Parking option and hope that the desk was able to explain the In and Out privileges that came with that. We do our best to set fair prices...

Fairfield, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although it is obvious this is an older hotel, it was clean and maintained. All the employees we encountered were very friendly and helpful. It is conveniently located to most of the popular sights. Our only complaint is we could hear the wind outside and some cold air would come through the windows. We could also hear hallway noise, although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdeven13
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for your Review! We are happy that you were happy with the cleanliness of the hotel, our Housekeeping team works hard to keep it that way. We look forward to your next visit to our Nation's Capital.

Manitou Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at GWI where we left our rental car and rode the Metro which was about a block away. We visited two Smithsonian Museums, the Washington Monument and walked to the Lincoln Memorial via the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and the Reflecting Pool. From there we walked to the Watergate Hotel for dinner. After dinner we walked the quarter mile...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ManitouExpert
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It looks like you had a great time visiting the sites of DC. We are happy that we were able to be a part of your visit. Our location really does come in handy when site seeing and we are pleased that you were able to get out and about easily. We hope to see...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 15 December 2016

If decor is how you judge a hotel room, then know that the property itself could use a bit of a modern update. The sofa and chairs are a bit worn, but certainly not dirty. That being said, the room is quite spacious, the bed is SUPER comfortable, and the shower pressure better than most hotels I visit. It's an...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quinnster64
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for your Review! I am pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and enjoyed the size of your room. It's always great to hear from a satisfied guest. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Philadelphia
Reviewed 13 December 2016

My stay was very pleasant. The rooms were clean and well presented. The bed was very comfortable. The hallways were quiet. The staff were responsive to any needs I had. I was very happy with my stay here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SabrinaPhiladelphia
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for your Review! Our staff loves hearing comments from Tripadvisor and I will most certainly share yours with them. We are happy that you were well taken care of and that you enjoyed the amenities of your room. We hope to see you again soon!

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
1,512 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
1,637 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#69 of 140 in Washington DC
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#7 of 140 in Washington DC
1,337 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
1,581 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Price Range: $163 - $766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from University Inn Washington DC staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
Monterrey, Mexico
over a year ago
Lindenhurst, New York
24 days ago

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from University Inn Washington DC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to stay up high or bring ear plugs or music to help sleep”
 of 5 bubbles Eyeball2, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I only put very good for cleanliness because of the out-dated furniture, bed spread. Feels a little "grandma" to me, but perhaps other may like that. ”
 of 5 bubbles Quinnster64, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing away from the GW Hospital to avoid ambulance noise”
 of 5 bubbles GracefulUnderFire, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on higher floors have great views of the Potomac and over to Virginia”
 of 5 bubbles globaltraveller570, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the first floor room near the entrance”
 of 5 bubbles kanespbj, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay