We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

University Inn Washington DC

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
University Inn Washington DC
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for University Inn Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,047: English reviews
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We stayed here 5 nights. We visit DC every few years. Advantages: great location (two blocks to Metro, 3 blocks to Whole Foods and inexpensive salad restaurants, 0.5 mile to Georgetown). Reasonable price. Quiet, spacious room (designed for handicapped guest), hot shower, comfy bed, windows can open. Room has refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. TV has 4 HBO channels. Free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d33j
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Greetings d33j, Thank you for staying with us! We’re delighted you found our location perfect for your stay and enjoyed our many amenities we offer our guests, such as the compliment wifi and wide variety of cable TV. We can’t wait to welcome you back the next time you are in Washington DC, where we will make sure everything is...

East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

The inn is not brand-spanking new; there are a lot of minor cosmetic blemishes that might be concerning at first, like warped wallpaper, loose faucets, etc. But look past that, and this is a great place to stage a visit to DC from. First of all, it's close to the Foggy Bottom Metro station, and a nicely walkable distance from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryq333
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Maryq333, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. We’re overjoyed you found our team an added bonus to a wonderful stay. We truly aim to please and I’m delighted we succeeded despite the few cosmetic challenges mentioned. We can’t wait for you to return as there is still plenty...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Although an older property, we loved this charming, comfortable hotel. It's located within walking distance to GW medical and university as well as downtown Georgetown. Metro is quick two blocks away from this tree-lined street.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrnoel
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Greetings jrnoel, Thank you for staying with us! We’re thrilled you had a wonderful stay and found our location perfect for your visit to Washington DC. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in our Nation’s Capital. Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel is within 2 short blocks of Foggy Bottom metro station and 10 minutes walk from Georgetown. We stayed in a triple room and were given one on a high floor looking towards Georgetown. The room was very spacious and well equipped with refrigerator with separate freezer, microwave oven, iron and ironing board. The TV channels were well organized...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Putu K
Hamilton, Ontario
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Our party of 3 stayed for several nights at this cozy, low key property while touring this beautiful area. We were so pleased with our choice! This is a very nice hotel with friendly staff and well appointed rooms. Yes it is a bit older than some other places but it has character and you don't seem to mind the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthernGuy13
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello NorthernGuy13, Thank you for staying with us! We’re delighted you had such a wonderful stay and found our location perfect for your exploration of Washington DC. We can’t wait to welcome you back to your DC “home” the next time you visit! Kindly, Wil Laura

Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Very clean, nice, and well equipped hotel next to GW campus. Tucked away in a very quiet and safe neighborhood. Great location with a quick walk to the Foggy Bottom Metro stop which allows you to go anywhere in the city. Staff was very helpful. Easy walk to Georgetown and Kennedy Center. Great price for DC too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 509hoosier
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello 509hoosier, We’re happy you had such a great stay with us. We love being tucked away in Historic Foggy Bottom where our guests can enjoy DC without the city noise. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the city. Thank you, Wil Laura

Northern Kentucky
Reviewed 6 June 2016

I was in DC on government travel, but I also brought my family so they could do some sightseeing. This hotel is very convenient to the Metro stop at GWU Hospital so it was very easy for me to get to the center of DC. I was paying a government rate and I know that the regular rate is much...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanna P
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Jeanna P, We’re delighted you were able to bring your family with you while traveling for work. It’s always nice to be able to fit in a little fun in the middle of a business trip. Please note, while our rates do vary throughout the year, we’re more than happy to work with our guests to get the very...

Birmingham,MI USA
Reviewed 6 June 2016

This is NOT a luxury hotel, but it is perfectly nice. Almost $100 cheaper than the Residence Inn across the street, no breakfast, no problem! I was in a 1 bedroom suite, with fully equipped kitchenette, king-size bedroom with USB in bedside table, and living room with sofa (sofabed? I didn't check). My ONLY complaint was the sofa needed re-covering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hapajgv
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Hapajgy, We’re delighted you had a wonderful stay with us and found our amenities perfect throughout your stay. I’m very sorry for the experience you encountered with our sofa. We will definitely look into this, and appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We can’t wait to welcome you back the next time you visit Washington DC. Kindest Regards,...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 June 2016

GWU Inn is tucked away on a quiet residential street. The Inn itself is just over a block from the Foggy Bottom Metro station, and within easy walking distance of the Inn are Georgetown, DuPont Circle, Pennsylvania Avenue / White House, and Kennedy Center. Unexpectedly, we arrived about three hours prior to our planned check-in, but the front desk quickly...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chicagonavigator
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Chicagonavigator, Thank you for staying with us! We’re very happy you found our location perfect for your get away to Washington DC. Being located in the quiet Foggy Bottom neighborhood is undeniably ideal, especially if you like the quietness it offers while staying close to many of DC’s historic locations. We hope to welcome you back the next time...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the George Washington University Inn. Every time we either entered or left the building, the front desk staff greeted us and asked if we had everything we needed. They were very accommodating and the rate was very reasonable for the area. While it is located on the outskirts of the city, it is only...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Debbie S, Thank you for staying with us! We’re thrilled you had such a good time with us, found our hospitality top notch, and our location convenient for your travels throughout DC. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit our Nation’s Capital. Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
1,512 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
1,637 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#69 of 140 in Washington DC
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#7 of 140 in Washington DC
1,339 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
1,581 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Price Range: $165 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from University Inn Washington DC staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
Monterrey, Mexico
over a year ago
Lindenhurst, New York
24 days ago

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from University Inn Washington DC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in Room 601. It was spacious, comfortable, and clean. ”
 of 5 bubbles teresak637, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask to stay up high or bring ear plugs or music to help sleep”
 of 5 bubbles Eyeball2, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I only put very good for cleanliness because of the out-dated furniture, bed spread. Feels a little "grandma" to me, but perhaps other may like that. ”
 of 5 bubbles Quinnster64, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing away from the GW Hospital to avoid ambulance noise”
 of 5 bubbles GracefulUnderFire, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on higher floors have great views of the Potomac and over to Virginia”
 of 5 bubbles globaltraveller570, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay