We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

George Washington University Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
George Washington University Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for George Washington University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,014: English reviews
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed 13 May 2016

The guest rooms are really large with lots of open space. The room furnishings and overall style feel out of date and a bit tired. It's like visiting an aging aunt who has a guest room with quilts and wallpaper that is 20 years old. Some might find it charming. It's not my taste. The hotel is on a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrequentFlyerFred
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 11 May 2016

The location is convenient and people very friendly. The room was more spacious than I expected and it has a separate small space for fridge and microwave. I rented three umbrellas when it was raining and the front desk was friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siau C
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Saiu C, We love being able to surprise our guests with our large room. We’re very happy you found everything to your liking. Sorry to hear about the room temperature, it’s crazy to see May’s temperatures get so cold in the evening. We hope this did not inconvenience you too much, and does not deter you from returning. Thank...

Oxford Uk
Reviewed 11 May 2016

This is a comfortable place to stay. I had a pleasant suite, with kitchenette, windows that could open (I like to have air) and a restful bed. It felt homely, without being in any way pretentious. The location is excellent. Staff were very friendly and pleasant. It was good to have a computer and printer to print out documents.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralph D
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Ralph D, We’re honored you would call us a “Home from home”, a feeling we strive to produce with all our guests. We’re glad to see you found everything well suited in your room, including the windows that let fresh air in your room. Sometimes it’s the small things that really stand out. Respectfully, Wil Laura

Reviewed 10 May 2016

From college shopping in DC, to dropping off and picking up, the George Washington University Inn has been our "go to" hotel. It is very convenient to the university, the metro , Whole Foods and many restaurants. You can even walk into Georgetown. We find the hotel quiet, convenient, clean and comfortable. We've never used the on-site restaurant. Two issues:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Julie B, Thank you for staying with us these past couple of years. I’m happy to see we’ve been able to meet your overall expectations despite the few cosmetic issues you mentioned. Please feel free to reach out to me directly when you visit the GW area so I can personally make sure we offer you the very best...

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewed 8 May 2016

quaint hotel with great location and price in Foggy Bottom near Geo Washington Medical Center and JFK PAC. the affiliated restaurant Notti Bianchi has a great menu but horrible service. only one waitress and one cook staff for breakfast on 5/6/16. no one ever came to our table and we walked out rather than late for meeting. GW Thomas, MD

 Report
Helpful?
Thank george t
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello George T, I’m very sorry to read you had a disappointing experience at Notti Biache. Please note, the service you mentioned is not the norm and I truly hope you are able to give us another opportunity the next time you visit Washington DC. Please feel free to reach out to me directly for your next reservation. I promise...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 5 May 2016

The hotel is clean and nice. The front desk was efficient and helpful. The restaurant is available and pricey. If you go to the GWU website and use their parent/alumni discount, you can save quite a bit of money! Without the discount, I'd call the rates fair. With the discount, I'd call them good!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zamoore_app
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Greetings zamoore app, We’re happy you found our rates competitive, especially with our GWU discount code. Please note, if you ever see a rate lower that we offer, call us and we will be more than happy to not only match the advertised rate but beat it, no matter what. We look forward to your future stay with us! Kindest...

Dix Hills, New York
Reviewed 4 May 2016

extremely pet friendly (even gave us a dog bowl and treats) and amazing and funny staff. rooms are very big and clean, hd much more room than i expected. came to visit colleges and was able to book this pretty last minute, and very happy i did!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ginag648
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello ginag648, You’re right we absolutely love pets! We know how important they are and wouldn’t feel right not giving them the VIP treatment they deserve. We’re thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us and glad you were able to book a last minute room. Thank you, Wil Laura

Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 May 2016

If you want to be within walking distance to GWU and Georgetown as well as the Metro station which offers easy access to all major sites and you prefer the old world flavor and ambiance DC has to offer this is the perfect hotel! Staff is amazing and it even has attached restaurant and bar. Love this place and will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Susan C, Thank you for your kind and insightful review. We’re happy you found our location perfect while visiting our Nation’s Capital and look forward to welcoming you back! Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 May 2016

My boyfriend recently stayed here for an anniversary trip. We were really happy with the ease of getting to and from our hotel on the Metro (you're really close to the Foggy Bottom stop). With this spot you're close to the fun of the Georgetown area and can also access the monuments/museums easily. We were excited that they had Newseum...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meredith W
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Meredith W, Happy Belated Anniversary!!!! We’re overjoyed you decided to stay with us while celebrating your memorable moment. We’re glad you found everything to your liking and were able to take advantage of our location by walking or commuting to your places of interest. We hope to see you again next year…or sooner. Kindly, Wil Laura

Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Ended up here for a night unexpectedly when our reserved hotel was "overbooked" for the night. This hotel is well located and convenient to restaurants and sightseeing. In my opinion, a three star hotel has met its obligations if it is clean and safe. And this hotel definitely lives up to those requirements without a doubt. That said, while all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Michael K, Thank you for sharing your experience, we greatly appreciate it. We understand we’re not the newest hotel in town but strive to offer our guests the very best service in a clean and comfortable room. I’m happy we succeeded, and were able to accommodate you during your one night stay with us. Thank you, Wil Laura

199 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
1,488 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
1,589 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#36 of 140 in Washington DC
1,562 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
1,973 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The George Washington University Inn evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about George Washington University Inn

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Price Range: $159 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Washington University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your George Washington University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from George Washington University Inn staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Monterrey, Mexico
over a year ago
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
3 months ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from George Washington University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on higher floors have great views of the Potomac and over to Virginia”
 of 5 bubbles globaltraveller570, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the first floor room near the entrance”
 of 5 bubbles kanespbj, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I have stayed in two rooms and both were great.”
 of 5 bubbles 10helenx, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for AAA or other deals.”
 of 5 bubbles 1945angela, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We have stayed in room 11 on both the 6th and 7th floors. It's a one bedroom with king bed, overlooking the street. Very quiet. ”
 of 5 bubbles 674suzannek, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay