We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
1501 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$186
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/22
Expedia.com
US$186
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$184
View deal
TravelocityUS$186
Hotels.comUS$186
PricelineUS$186
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (324)
360
Panoramas (20)
Room & Suite (236)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#84 of 156 hotels in Washington DC
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Downtown Washington DC, Near Attractions and METRO! The Holiday Inn Central White House is located in Downtown Washington, DC within walking distance of two METRO stations at Dupont Circle and McPherson Square, plus many Attractions, Embassies, and Government offices. Visit one of the many Smithsonian Museums including the Air and Space Museum, the Museum of Natural History, the Museum of American History, the Museum of African American History, the Museum of the American Indian, or the National Zoo. Visit the White House, US Capitol Building, Washington Monument, the Memorials to Jefferson, Lincoln, and Martin Luther King Jr, plus the Korean, Vietnam, and World War II Veterans Memorials. Ask our staff about various city tour options at the Front Desk. We offer packages that include METRO passes. The Washington Convention Center is within walking distance of the hotel. Use METRO to attend an event at Nationals Park, Audi Field, or Capitol One Arena.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
105Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
31Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1725Reviews70Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 659
  • 698
  • 273
  • 55
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sunrise83 wrote a review Yesterday
Chandler’s Ford, United Kingdom157 contributions72 helpful votes
We had a 3 night stay here. It’s an easy walk to the metro and not too far out from reaching a lot of the main attractions. Reception staff were always friendly, polite and helpful. Our room was on the 2nd floor. It was a decent size room with good, hot water pressure and fast WiFi. Cleaned to a high standard. Beds were comfortable and not too much noise from the road traffic. Personally we would have preferred larger towels. The only criticism I informed the reception staff about, was that the room smelt musty/cigarette smoke each time we walked in. It was as if the room hadn’t been used in a long time and it’s a shame with the limited ability to open a window to be able to change the air flow as I think this would have made a difference. It would also have been useful to know the rooftop pool/area was out of bounds before spending so much time walking around the hotel trying to work out how to get up there! There are two great places for breakfast we tried around the corner on P ST. NW: Call Your Mother and The Commissary.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lexi D wrote a review Sep 2022
Hamburg, New York3 contributions
Very clean hotel, very nice staff, close to National mall and museums. Starbucks located on hotel premises and McDonald’s further down street within walking distance. Prior reviews complained of the trains. Trains are not bad. You do hear them but it’s not nonstop. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you to everyone who works at this hotel. They are doing a great job!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Lexi, Wow! What an excellent rating to read. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House and all we offer. Please return soon for another fantastic experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen Jane L wrote a review Sep 2022
Redcliffe, Australia38 contributions25 helpful votes
Great central position, friendly helpful service. Clean rooms, well appointed. Currently undergoing renovation but this had little impact on our stay. Vouchers available for nearby restaurants for breakfast - I would recommend the Commissary ( one block away). Free laundry facilities available.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Helen, Thank you for making Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House a part of your trip. We're glad our clean, welcoming accommodations and convenient location were ideal for your visit. We appreciate your patience while we update the property, and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jay wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I have to say seeing the reviews before booking i was extremely worried because it was alot of consecutive bad reviews. But i just took a chance and decided to see for myself( They also had the best prices for being in Downtown). Overall it turned out to be a good choice because it was a good visit with little cons. Pros - I literally biked, walked and scootered everywhere, - Staff was friendly and helpful - room was cleaned & towels were exchanged everyday i was there ( 4 night stay) - Very comfy bed Cons - Although the bed was very comfy, bed bugs were tearing me up - something that was very annoying is you can literally hear every door close on my floor and they dont just close they slam every time. So like i said overall a good stay to me. Would i stay here again? I wouldn't mind but I probably wouldn’t just because i like to try out different hotels and this one didn't do enough to bring me back. Would i recommend this to other first time travelers? Yes i def would , it was budget friendly compared to other hotels, Very central and nothing is too far. So if this was a bad hotel like they say they actually might have got their groove back or are in the process.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jay, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and we're happy to know that you had a good time overall. From our friendly team members to our prime location, we're thrilled to know that you enjoyed nearly everything about your visit. In regards to your comments about the bed, we're a bit surprised, as what you've described isn't a normal experience for us. We'll have our pest control team look into your comments as soon as possible and we encourage you to reach out to us offline so that we may gather more information. We hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anngie R wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I wish the hotel would have advices before that the kitchen was under construction, instead they gave us vouchers to go outside and buy, which at the end we ended up paying more. I chose the breakfast at the hotel for a reason, the experience is better, and I have many options.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Ann, It was a pleasure having you with us at Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House. We apologize for any issues caused by our kitchen renovation and will discuss your comments with our team to ensure a pleasant experience for our guests. Thank you for the helpful feedback, and we hope you will be back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin T wrote a review Sep 2022
Redlynch, Australia25 contributions2 helpful votes
Was apprehensive about this booking noting quite a few negative reviews. Glad we didn’t change our booking, happy with our stay. Booked the full breakfast rate, ended up with $15 voucher each daily which can be used at nearby restaurants. Good value as you can save them up and go all out for dinner etc. Coffee machine downstairs was good, also bottled water available at the rooftop pool. Great place to relax prior to sunset. Complimentary laundry was also appreciated, 2 washing machines and 2 dryers. Ask for a room on the 9th floor if you have dirty clothes. Housekeeping was good. Couple of gripes. 1. Some of the reception staff could learn about customer service. Made you fell as you were interrupting their phone/online time. 2. Had to get the swipe card redone 4 times during our 5 night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Kevin, It was a pleasure hosting you at Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House! We're glad you appreciated our many onsite amenities and that your overall stay was pleasant. However, we apologize for any disappointment with the service and for any issues with the key cards. We'll look into your comments further, and we invite you to stay with us again during your next trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
drsimonmadge wrote a review Aug 2022
Hereford, United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
Pleasant place, centrally located, clean but basic. Fun rooftop pool. No frills but a positive experience. Comfy beds. Pleasant helpful staff, free washer / dryer use if needed. Housekeeping wouldn’t service the room despite reminders, nor would they deliver fresh towels to the room; had to pick them up
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 23 Aug 2022
Thank you for sharing your comments with us! We are thrilled that you appreciated our central location, clean accommodations, fun pool area, and friendly staff members. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Winston M wrote a review Aug 2022
New Bern, North Carolina34 contributions38 helpful votes
Stayed here in July and what a disappointment.Front desk staff were the only good thing about this place.\,as I entered the lobby a guest was arguing with staff for over 20 minutes causing a log jam to check in.My room smelled like cigarettes and the sheets had black specs of something and filled with small black hairs.The pillow cases and sheets were stained with yellow blobs and did not smell clean.Please do youself a favor and find another place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Thank you for expressing your concerns to us. We apologize wholeheartedly for accommodations that weren't in proper condition for occupancy. Our housekeeping team will address the issues you mentioned, and we'll also work to enforce our non-smoking policy properly. That being said, it's good to know that our front desk attendants were the bright spot of your visit. We value your comments and wish you safe and pleasant travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margit K wrote a review Aug 2022
Seljord Municipality, Norway158 contributions78 helpful votes
The reason I even give two points was because of the comfortable beds and because all the men that worked there were kind and helpful. Our trip was marred due to the angry and rude woman in reception. She was rude to other people when I was there and was rude to me. This is NOT a person that should be working in the service industry. Otherwise, the rooms were of adequate size, but were “tired” and smelled of old cigarette smoke. We had an issue with a hole in the ceiling of our bathroom that got worse during our stay. It looked like water damage that needed repair.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Aug 2022
We're saddened to learn you did not enjoy your stay. Please accept our apologies for any confusion about parking as well as for any issues with the elevator and AC. We'll pass your comments along to our staff for further review, and we hope you'll consider staying with us again should you be back in the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lish9782 wrote a review Jul 2022
East Peoria, Illinois68 contributions6 helpful votes
What an affordable hotel. Located in a neighborhood that is always moving. The rooftop pool is a bonus. The onsite free laundry is amazing. The only complaint is no breakfast. Have to use coupons at local restaurants. Also parking is an extra charge.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Dear Lish, It's a pleasure to know that our wonderful facilities impressed you at Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House and that our amenities were perfect for your needs. Please come back to stay with us again the next time you're in the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$138 - US$257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn washington - central / white house hotel washington dc, holiday inn washington dc, washington dc holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCUpper Northwest / Downtown / Dupont Circle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
212
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Barbie Pond on Avenue Q (0.3 km), National Geographic Museum (0.4 km), and The Studio Theatre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Commissary, Logan Tavern, and The Pig.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (4.4 km), Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (4.2 km), and The President Woodrow Wilson House (1.6 km).