We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Capital Hilton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
Panoramas (22)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,786 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,445: English reviews
Start your review of Capital Hilton
 Click to rate
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location, staff very helpful. Nice room. Be aware that they do not have self-parking, you will have to pay a Valet fee of 59.00 per day. Also, if you are sightseeing, bring your bike, everywhere is bike friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendyd904
Phoenix
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Stayed here recently for 3 nights. Perfect location to explore the city with easy access to monuments, museums, Metro station and restaurants. Reservation was made easily at hilton.com. Once made was able to request a roll away bed as was needed for the 1st night. Simple online checkin the day before allowed me to select a room, with map of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JLS300
About Hotel's Favourite Review
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear JLS300, Thank you for sharing your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed many of The Capital Hilton features. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, David Piscola General Manager

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When we came for a competition, we had high hopes for this hotel. When we entered the room, we immediately noticed the double beds and no couch would not be ideal for 4 people. The paint was peeling in our bathroom and the beds were not well made. The competition was a great time for all of us, but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingoveryonder
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear travelingoveryonder, Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your honesty. We look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our appearance is an area we are actively examining. We hope you will give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future. Thank you, David Piscola General Manager

Land O Lakes, Florida
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were tired from an auto train trip to move my daughter for a job in New Jersey. We didn't think we'd be able to check in early at such a busy hotel but were pleasantly surprised and given and even larger corner room than what we had reserved. Excellent location just down the street from the White House. Easy...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank FanoFL
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear FanoFL, Thank you for sharing your review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your upgraded room. I hope you were able to get some rest as well as enjoy the sites. We look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, David Piscola General Manager

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

They Put 2 of us traveling in a super small double room and then put 1 friend traveling with us, in a super big room. One morning we had no hot water on in the morning and when I called to tell them there was a rude front desk person that told me no one has hot water and your...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracyhT6770NV
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear tracyhT6770NV, Thank You for taking a moment to share with me your experience from your recent stay. I sincerely apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff. Please be confident that I will follow-up on the points you have outlined. The time taken along...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Capital Hilton offered a clean, spacious, and comfortable room. It is close to the White House and other area attractions. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable of local family friendly restaurants. I definitely recommend the hotel for your next visit to D.C.!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea L
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Andrea L, Dear terrysandra32, Thank You for taking a moment to share your recent Capital Hilton experience. I'm delighted our location, clean and spacious guest room, and friendly staff left a lasting impression on you. We look forward to your return! Sincerely, David Piscola General Manager

Hot Springs, Arkansas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had to have a change of rooms I was not happy with accommodations initially with my rooms cost at $294.00 I expected much much more for the money and when I requested that change they accommodations were adjusted

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank blueskyes68
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear blueskyes68, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Capital Hilton. I have shared your feedback to our Security team. I believe they have been in contact with you. If I can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to reach me. Sincerely, David Piscola General Manager

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The front desk staff was friendly and very efficient. A young man named Baron made sure we had a the room we wanted and made my wife and I feel welcome . The trip was to celebrate my birthday and the staff sent a nice bottle of wine and a cheese plate to,my room... a very nice touch. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave W
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Dave W, Thank You for staying with us and for taking a moment to provide feedback. Our team here at The Capital Hilton is dedicated to making our guest feel welcomed as well as providing exceptional customer service at all times. I'm delighted Baran left a lasting impression on you. I hope to have a future opportunity to provide...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As Hilton honors Gold members we always stay at Hilton hotels. The location is great,the beds are comfortable and their breakfast is awesome. We had the bad luck that a pipe burst and there was no hot water on a cold morning and we were unable to shower on Saturday morning before a meeting. The front desk personnel is not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eliken4
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Eliken4, Thank you for sharing your recent stay. I sincerely apologize we fell short in providing you an exceptional experience. In an effort to make it right, at your earliest convenience, please contact me personally to ensure you received the points you requested. I look forward to hearing from you soon! Sincerely, David Piscola General Manager

Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

Centrally located and good service in Washington DC. Concierge will make your bookings. Well assorted breakfast. In walking distance to the Mall and attractions.Had an issue with locked in-room safe upon arrival and was swiftly transferred to another room. Built in 1943 as Statler Hotel, two blocks away from the White House

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaerbu
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Jaerbu, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm delighted our central location was ideal for your visit to Washington DC. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, David Piscola General Manager

578 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (432)
Viewed
Room/Suite (138)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (145)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (87)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Executive Room (17)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)
Viewed
Two Double Room (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
718 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
1,766 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
684 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
North Gate Grill
North Gate Grill
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Price Range: $238 - $1,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Hilton staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
1 day ago
5 months ago
Philadelphia, PA

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Hilton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“upper rooms have a better view as expected...”
 of 5 bubbles charlesf705, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper levels were quiet, not to say that bottom ones weren't.”
 of 5 bubbles robtravelSt_Louis_Mo, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Executive Rooms (including breakfast, etc.) are great and higher floors are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles happy672, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't book executive room”
 of 5 bubbles prashantsh1928, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room that faces the street”
 of 5 bubbles Beetky, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5