We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 174: English reviews
Los Angeles, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

3rd time I've stayed here. it looks like a motel six, very very plain 2-story motel with small parking lot. but my room was fine, good bed, clean, all the amenities. considering it is in very downscale Alturas, it wasn't bad at all. a bit pricey for alturas, but its the best in town, so what the heck.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Hobes
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, The_Hobes... Thank you for your continued and repeat business. We do our best to keep you coming back; and where we're not fancy, we'll always provide a clean, comfortable stay in a friendly environment. Continuous improvement is our goal and welcome any comments to help us be your go-to hotel while traveling.

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Maybe a bit small area but is the one of the best breakfast with such a variety we have had at a Best Western. Very clean and worth the cost! Location was perfect for driving on a long and fast trip! Rooms could be a little more room with the 2 beds and the coffee machine could be the Keurig...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billd829
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review

Hi, billd829... Thank you for staying at our Best Western Trailside Inn as you traveled through our part of Northern California. We appreciate you taking a minute to write a review on our TripAdvisor page as well. Blessings and travel mercies be yours until we see you again! :-)

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This hotel is not new, but is well maintained. You can tell that they care about the property from the lovely flower boxes on the railings. The rooms are fairly small, but adequate. All the rooms open off the parking lot. There are no elevators, so ask for the first floor or be prepared to climb the stairs. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CKT808
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, CKT808... Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on our TripAdvisor page as well. Your comments are most welcome and crucial to our success in providing a great stay for each guest. Sorry that our attendant seemed off-putting. Their desire was to provide quick restocking of the breakfast items. We hope we'll always be your...

Fruitland, Idaho
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We got in late and the person at the desk was very accommodating and polite. Our room was clean and comfortable and everything was in working order. Free wifi, comfortable beds and they offered a good breakfast in the morning. They even had wipped cream for the waffles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sqeeky17
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Sqeeky17... It was great having you stay with us! Thanks for reaching out to other travelers on our TripAdvisor page as well. We'll always be here for your travel comfort and hope you'll keep us in mind when you travel to and from Idaho in the future. Peace be your till we see you again. :-)

Port Angeles, Washington
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Nice little room, clean and comfy, wifi, lots of tv channels, FEATHER pillows! which I forgot at home! Thank GAWD for a regular tiny coffee pot so we could brew our own coffee. Has a mini frig and micro. We were happy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Lisa B... We aim to please and glad you took a minute to let others in the TripAdvisor community know we did! We hope to be your stop on both sides of your trip to the lake every time you travel by. :-)

Vancouver
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Pet-Friendly BW Trailside Inn was a welcome relief due to location, upscale rooms in the middle of the high desert. It has lots of amenities like wifi, breakfast, clean rooms, etc. Be sure to give BW Trailside Inn a try, you will not be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Margaret A... It is great to be added to your TripAdvisor review journey! Thanks for staying with us and letting the rest of the TA world know that we're a great stay. Whether you're going to and fro or coming directly to us though, we're here for your resting needs, and make your comfort a lasting ease. Peace be...

Simi Valley, California
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Just terrible! I reserved an ADA room two weeks in advance. I explained that I was travelling with an older person that CANNOT climb stairs. Cherie, the front desk clerk reserved the room. When I got to the hotel to check in, the front desk claimed that there was no reservation for an ADA room! I explained to her that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dodgerdog05
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review

Hi, dodgerdog05... What a terrible experience for sure. Not something we could have predicted or prevented due to your reservation having been booked online. We love the convenience of being the master of our own destiny; however, online booking sites prevent human to human contact and consideration. Please know we would have put you in any available downstairs room had...

Hayward, United States
Reviewed 23 September 2016

If you are a business traveler and frequently need to change your plans, don't make a reservation here. They push back if you need change or cancel your reservation. With cancellations, t hey will charge you for the room anyway if they can't re-rent it. Very unfriendly to the business traveler.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Gene Mr M
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review

Howdy, Daniel Gene Mr M... I have traveled quite extensively and every hotel with which I have stayed has, like us, a 24-hour advance cancellation policy. It is unfortunate that you didn't cancel your room within the 24-hour window. When we make a reservation, we have take that room out of inventory so as not to disappoint a traveler when...

Washoe Valley
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We have used this hotel for a number of years attending a week's car tour. Staff is great, hotel is clean and quiet at night. Breakfast room very small but they told us this time they are going to expand. Always enjoy the pool but this trip it was closed the whole time we were there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Sharon S... Yes! We're making a lot of updates and thank you for your continued business. It was great having you again this trip and we'll be looking for your return again soon!

Marysville, California
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. This is our second stay here while visiting family and again we were not disappointed. They offer complimentary breakfast, which we had the first time we stayed and were pleased with it. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda W
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Rhonda W... Glad to have you on your recent trip up from Marysville! Your recommendation to other travelers is warmly received and very appreciated. We'll be looking for your return next time you travel by! :-)

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alturas
1.7 km away
Rim Rock Motel
Rim Rock Motel
#1 of 6 in Alturas
151 reviews
0.2 km away
Super 8 Alturas
Super 8 Alturas
#4 of 6 in Alturas
120 reviews
31.3 km away
JnR Hotel
JnR Hotel
#4 of 4 in Cedarville
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Niles Hotel
Niles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alturas
35 reviews
0.8 km away
No photo provided
Hacienda Motel
#3 of 6 in Alturas
16 reviews
0.9 km away
No photo provided
Essex Motel
#6 of 6 in Alturas
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover this great Alutras hotel- 100% non-smoking near the beautiful Warner Mountain Range. The Best Western Trailside Inn is a clean, quality hotel located in Alturas, California. This hotel is close to many outdoor activities including hunting, hiking, golf, fishing and bird watching. Guests will also find convenient access to key area attractions and restaurants. The hotel is in close proximity to local events such as Fandango Days, the Modoc District Fair, the Hot Air Balloon Festival and the Migratory Bird Festival. A seasonal outdoor heated pool is on the property, business center and continental breakfast. Dogs are welcome to the hotel for a small fee. For superior customer service make a reservation at the Best Western Trailside Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn

Address: 343 N Main St, Alturas, CA 96101-4065
Region: United States > California > Alturas
Price Range: $145 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Trailside Hotel Alturas
Best Western Alturas
Alturas Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Modestotrekkerl, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms are a bit more private, and may have a view, but then you need to carry all things up the stairs, no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles DJ7933, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“An upper floor as far back from the main street would be the only way you could minimize the noise, but only just barely.”
 of 5 bubbles mo32a, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Second level is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles krherrick, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“ground floor if you have mobility issues.”
 of 5 bubbles DianneM755, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay