We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hermosa Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hermosa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hermosa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 295: English reviews
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Their site stated that the cottages were small and basic but were priced accordingly. It was what I expected and had a great stay. The small cottage had a small kitchen area that was nice to be able to use the fridge and other items. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the luggage room was nice so we could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gaspar72016
HermosaHotel, Owner at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review.... you're right on point!

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We live local on the mainland and stayed at the hermosa hotel for 3 night and had a great experience, the staff was friendly and willing to help us out with anything we needed, they were great with the kids, I would recommend this hotel for stay on yhe island it's local to the main town shopping and both beaches....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denleyj
HermosaHotel, Owner at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are so glad to hear about your great stay with your family and look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 10 August 2016

We stayed August 5th and 6th, We found the staff pleasant, room clean. The place is very old, but refurbished. For the price it is a good value, my only advice is if you have any back issues you may want to stay elsewhere as the mattress in our room was the old spring type, not of high quality, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duane B
HermosaHotel, Owner at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. If you wouldn't mind sending us a personal email (info@hermosahotel.com) with the room you stayed in, we can take a look at the bed you mention. We are in the process of replacing mattresses and it sounds like that room should be our next stop! Again, thank you... your feedback...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

I know this place is historically old but it doesn't mean the owners should not upgrade it. it is in very poor condition and barely clean enough to pass some type of hospitality inspection? the hotels charges extra for additional towels, so bring your own. there is a water shortage on the island. the hotel room doors are old with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg T
canyon lake ca
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I have to premise the story with once again I showed up with injuries! I broke my ribs and almost cancelled trip over the puddle to Catalina. I called manager Mark and he said they would have a limo cart waiting to pick me up with luggage so we went forward. They took such good care of us including a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank canyonlakejba
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We booked Hermosa for the Fourth of July weekend. It is conveniently located. The staff is incredibly helpful and nice. We had one of the cottages. Room was very small. They don't clean your room or change your towels. It's a good place to stay if you just want a room to crash. Very nice staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank donna p
HermosaHotel, Owner at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make your posting, we always greatly appreciate our guest feedback. For the purpose of clarifying our housekeeping procedures for future guests reading this post, we do provide room service daily (make beds, empty trash, sweep/tidy) unless there is a Do Not Disturb sign. Due to our severe water shortage and water rationing on...

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

The place is in great location but my ok only concern is the air conditioning. There is no cool air coming in and the cottage is so hot . There is no way I fell asleep for a night here and I hear almost everything in the street . Only if the place will be a little bit quite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina L
HermosaHotel, Owner at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review

Oh no! So sorry to hear about your AC. We have checked all of our units and they are all working just fine. There IS a dial right next to the units that give them their power, so perhaps the dial was not turned first? As always, we have managers more than eager to assist all guest issues immediately, and...

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

This place had all our accommodations we needed. It wasn't super tiny. The people were super friendly and I like the fact that even though they did some modifications, they're still trying to keep the history of the buliding.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank breenahjayy
HermosaHotel, Owner at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. All guest feedback, whether positive or constructive, is greatly appreciated. Please come back and stay with us again!

Helendale, California
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

The price is right! The hotel staff was super accommodating & the location is close to everything you need (including a Vons right next door). The rooms were small-but all you really need them for is to sleep & shower. The balcony overlooks the street & the upper deck has ocean views. Budget friendly & great proximity to the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JennyBenny0827
HermosaHotel, Owner at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback, thank you and please come visit us again!

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Our stay was good. It's all you need when you are there to see the island, dive and relax. Nothing more is necessary besides a clean room/bed and towels to compliment a hot shower:) It's close to a grocery store for water and snacks as well. The price of the room including the ferry ride was the cheapest we found...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dana G
HermosaHotel, Owner at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your post... we'll see what we can do to strengthen the WIFI on the upper levels!!!

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
342 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
179 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
1,028 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 km away
El Terado Terrace
El Terado Terrace
#10 of 20 in Avalon
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hermosa is Catalina’s friendly, quaint, economy hotel located in the heart of Avalon half block from the beach and a short, flat walk from the boat landing. The Historic Hermosa Hotel has been serving guests of the island as far back as 1896 and, as was the style then, our rooms are small and simple. No thrills or frills- ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hermosa Hotel

Address: 131 Metropole Street, PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range: $109 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermosa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hermosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hermosa Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hermosa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms near the balcony are very convenient for making the balcony your living room! :)”
 of 5 bubbles Mikegbrennan, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not face Metropole Street or you may hear the golf carts going up the street.”
 of 5 bubbles JayA427, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you can walk up alot of steps to get to your room. Book early for August as you will need an air conditoned room in the daytime.”
 of 5 bubbles 3Hondas, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“None. For comfort stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles robertmD2019ER, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just pay more and stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 822ninaf, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5