We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Avon Old Farms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Avon Old Farms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Hartford CT
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here recently for a nearby wedding. The hotel is beautifully decorated for Christmas. The foyer and all the furnishings are updated nicely. The towels and linens were very good quality. I did find the bed a bit uncomfortable and the headboard wasn't attached properly so it shook with every move. Overall, it is clean and staff was pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DVCmemberHartfordCT
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful setting in Avon, CT. The hotel is comfortable, quiet and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The room is decorated in classic furniture and our king size bed was very comfortable. I would go back in a heartbeat!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bella3020
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is a nice example of an older motel property well taken care of, expanded and kept in the spotlight. I had a room on street level, inside away from the two busy roadways so noise was not an issue. A peer stayed in a room on other side of the building and complained of hearing the traffic all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boatwaco
Beaverton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at this Hotel and was extremely pleased with both the Hotel and the Staff. It has many amenities and is in a lovely setting for a quiet getaway, wedding or other gathering. The Seasons Restaurant/Lounge has great food. The bar is quaint and cozy. I was served by 3 servers Jeff, Chris, and another gentleman who my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank solsenz
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a very pleasant stay at Avon Old Farms Hotel. The staff was extremely friendly (especially in the Tap Room at Seasons Restaurant), the food was very good, and my room was generally comfortable. My only suggestions for improvement would be to spruce up the showers a bit and invest in new mattresses. The tub/shower in my room looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank STK1124
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. I am very happy to hear that our staff and your dining experience met your expectations and I am grateful that you brought your concerns about the quality of your room. It is very helpful to us when our guests are honest about their impressions and experiences and...

Greenland, United States
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Beds were nice... A catering company somehow got a hold of this beautiful country in a restaurant... and runs it like a Marine boot camp. Marketing is great... Makes it sound like you are staying at an old world bed and breakfast... not even close. If you like regimented you will love this, Clean and organized for the moment they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
Jeffrey H, Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tim, I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and it’s disappointing that your recent stay wasn’t filled with the hospitality and relaxation you were hoping for. I assure you that I will speak to the hotel staff to ensure that all of our guests are greeted with warmth and no matter the nature of their...

Reviewed 3 November 2016

There is a mountain with a nice hiking trail with a great view not far from the hotel. The rooms are nice. The entrance to the hiking trail is off of rout 185. The gps will send you to the wrong place,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drew H
Jeffrey H, Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Drew, Thank you for stopping by. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were not aware that the gps sent people to the wrong location. We will use this information in the future. We definitely appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Connecticut
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We attended a wedding at The Riverview and stayed at the Avon Old Farms Hotel. We highly recommend it because our experience was excellent, from the moment we checked in was nothing but great service. The young lady at the Reception desk, not sure if the name was Jenna, welcomed us with a smile and was very professional, to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nsadlow
Jeffrey H, Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Excellent service reviews are what we strive day in and day out to hear and also read. We will make sure that we let Jenna know about the feedback. If you live in town, or not, we would love for you to stay at Avon Old Farms Hotel again!

Lakeville, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We were in town with a large group for a wedding. Our room was in the Annex, room 434. The room was very spacious and very clean. Most impressive was the thick, soft bathroom towels. We only stayed overnight, so we didn't get to experience all that the hotel had to offer. I can tell you the staff is extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank momdukes16
Jeffrey H, Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Cleanliness, quality, and service are definitely three key areas we focus on so knowing that you were impressed in all three is amazing! We know you do not live in the area, but if and when you visit again we will be here to welcome you again.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Looks like a charming New England Inn but the rooms are small and dark more like a motel. The many of the hotel staff were not friendly and after our first night we were moved for a scheduled maintenance. We booked the room for a week so they knew we'd be there and shouldn't have booked us in that room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darla K
Jeffrey H, Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We take all comments very seriously and I would like the opportunity to speak with you further about your stay. At your earliest convenience, please give me a call at the hotel (860-677-1651) or send me an e-mail with the best time and way to reach you. Looking forward to...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
5.3 km away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
176 reviews
1.6 km away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
8.7 km away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#5 of 7 in Farmington
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
18.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
13.0 km away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Avon Old Farms Hotel - a luxury hotel in the suburbs of Greater Hartford, CT in the picturesque Farmington River Valley. In fact, Yankee Magazine has rated us a "Best of the Best" lodging property. The Avon Old Farms Hotel has also received a Mobil Three-Star Award and AAA Three Diamond Award.Our hotel began as a 24-unit motel in 1955 and through two expansions has grown into a 160-room luxury hotel in Avon, Connecticut resting on 20 acres of manicured landscape with all of the services and amenities desired by the modern corporate and leisure guest. As a guest of the Avon Old Farms Hotel, you can expect a distinctive ambiance representing luxury and charm including fine furnishings, down featherbeds, four-poster beds, antiques, and original watercolor paintings of the historic area in which we reside. Our classic approach to service means that guests will be pampered and appreciate our innovative attention to detail and willingness to accommodate. Additionally, our unique facilities - including the handsome, state-of-the-art conference facilities, stunning banquet space, and lush outdoor garden areas - make us a leading choice for meetings, corporate events, weddings, and social affairs in the Greater Hartford area.Guests of the Avon Old Farms Hotel enjoy the award-winning and stunning Seasons Restaurant and Tap Room serving inspired innovative American cuisine.We look forward to welcoming you to our luxurious country hotel in Avon, Connecticut just 10 minutes from downtown Hartford! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avon Old Farms Hotel

Address: 279 Avon Mountain Rd, Avon, CT 06001-3942
Region: United States > Connecticut > Avon
Price Range: $197 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avon Old Farms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Avon Old Farms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ct Hotel Avon Old Farms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avon Old Farms Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Avon Old Farms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms might be better away from the bar as wedding parties end up there and it can be a bit loud.”
 of 5 bubbles solsenz, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed at the hotel not the motel part”
 of 5 bubbles nsadlow, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the main hotel are larger than the annex. Our room had 1 queen bed.”
 of 5 bubbles momdukes16, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The higher the floor the less reliable the wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles JSD53, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The corridor between meeting rooms is noisy for guests when groups are changing sessions.”
 of 5 bubbles marlaned2015, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay