We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portofino Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Portofino Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

588 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 562: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We LOVED the Portofino. The resort has so much character, is absolutely stunning, and is first class service. We snorkeled, visited shark alley, and were able to relax on the beach. We'll be back for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine V
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The service we received at the Portofino Resort was top of the line. The staff was knowledgeable and very accommodating to our needs. The location of the resort is perfect. We can't imagine staying anywhere else. We will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahNicholeLowery
Venice, California, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Portofino took care of everything from the moment we stepped off the plane in San Pedro. The location and resort are amazing and the staff is wonderful and always available to answer questions. It was very convenient having a dive/snorkel shop on the premises, as well as kayaks and bicycles supplied by the resort. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maya S
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hello Maya, It was indeed a pleasure having you and Shea here with us. Very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Portofino hopefully you are able to visit us sometime again in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

There are not enough words to say about the resort and the PEOPLE!! It started with a phone call asking about transportation to Portofino, in which Lorena was fantastic and so helpful in arranging everything for us. We we greeted with nothing but hospitality by Moe the boat captain and the service continued with each and every person we encountered....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jami H
West Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently booked and stayed at Portofino Beach Resort based on highlights from their website. Being located far enough outside of busy San Pedro was a plus and the boat service between the resort to San Pedro was very well organized. The resort and restaurant however was a disappointment vs the high price that we paid and the food that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hello Mike, We are sorry to hear that your stay with us here at Portofino was not a pleasant one for you and your family. We were very much aware of your complaints about the noise in the upper mansion and because the resort was a bit busy we were unable to relocate you appropriately. We did make the effort...

St. Louis, MO
Reviewed 1 week ago

First trip to Belize courtesy of the ‘Southwest effect’. Decided to spend time on the beach on Ambergis Caye rather than heading inland for the jungle or Mayan ruin experiences. Spent 3 nights at Portofino in November. Portofino is undeniably beautiful. Property is well maintained and rooms are in good shape. It was definitely still the slow season as there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank STLTravelDave
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an amazing time at Portofino Beach Resort. The staff was so nice and helpful. Ill mention a few things about the trip. First of all, I strongly suggest doing a package that includes breakfast and dinner. Dinner is fairly expensive. We did the no problem package and it took care of that. Lunch you could either go into town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
Tenerife, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Due to other reviews and becasue management was in touch with me several times to arrange transportation to the resort for our arrival, I had high expectations for this stay. Unfortunately instead of being created at the dock, by a shuttle, we waited 45 mins to be picked up after the hotel had been called. When we did arrive, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roadie218
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Portofino Beach Resort takes pride in our services as well as in our different room options provided for our guests. We do recall your incident which took place exactly one month ago. Our boat captain and representative was about 10 minutes late to pick you up due to the water taxi coming in a bit earlier than scheduled...

Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewed 27 October 2016

From when they pick you up at the San Pedro Ambergris Airport, water transfer to the hotel, the level of service is just top of the line. The service at the property all staff, restaurant, housekeeping, dive shop, activities, etc. Then again to have the owners on hand at the property is also more welcoming. The pool, rooms, restaurant, bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy R
Reviewed 17 October 2016

From the time we arrived until the time we left the service and staff was incredibly friendly and attentive. Sandra and Jan take customer service to the next level. We actually felt like they invited us into their home. A Soap Butler? Really? Its beyond awesome. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing! Recommend it to anyone!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hello David, It was a pleasure having you and Emily as our guests here at Portofino Beach Resort! We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt like family in our little piece of Paradise. We take pride in what we do and our best compensation is knowing that our guests are well taken...

1,248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (651)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (116)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (236)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Jaguar Suite (86)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Standard Cabana (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)
Viewed
Treetop Suite (80)
Viewed
VIP Suite (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
13.9 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
960 reviews
6.2 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.4 km away
La Beliza Resort
La Beliza Resort
#23 of 53 in San Pedro
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
1,239 reviews
1.1 km away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
2.8 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Price Range: $282 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#23 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portofino Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Portofino Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“beach cabanas are the way to go.”
 of 5 bubbles MayaS527, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you decide to book here pick a top floor or seperate cabin”
 of 5 bubbles F445AGmiker, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only 17 rooms. Royal Orchid is 2nd floor and has beautiful view of ocean”
  • View from Royal Orchid/Honeymoon Suite
 of 5 bubbles STLTravelDave, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“can't go wrong with a beach cabana”
 of 5 bubbles RachelJ583, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else, or request a room that is on a second floor. The layout of the facility is NOT conducive to privacy.”
  • Difficult to see in this photo, but the ceiling had
  • Note the caked on dust
 of 5 bubbles Roadie218, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay