We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howler Monkey Resort

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belize District
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Howler Monkey Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
Start your review of Howler Monkey Resort
 Click to rate
lichfield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The gap between expectation and reality at this ‘resort’ was so huge a visit here can only come as a let-down and a significant disappointment. In the couple of months we spent backpacking around Central America it was the worst place we stayed at and we couldn’t wait to leave. Its run by a couple and their son; the father...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DandAde
EdTurton, Manager at Howler Monkey Resort, responded to this review

Typically we would not have dignified this review with an answer but since Adrian’s comments are so ridiculous we could not leave it unanswered. First, Adrian and Denise DID NOT come in a tour package nor did we do any tours for them. We only supplied transfers to the destinations. We have absolutely no control over what the entrance fees...

Oregon
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Rustic cabins on a bend in the river. Perfect setting with howlers right along the river. Ed and Mel were great hosts. Mel prepared terrific meals. They were very prompt with communication prior to our trip. We did a tour with the community baboon sanctuary. But, we actually saw more howlers at the resort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4onthego
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 17 February 2017

As a senior couple, we felt very safe and welcome at this family-run cluster of comfortable cabins on the banks of the Belize River. The food prepared by Mel, Ed and Yusef was excellent, and a great introduction to Belizian fare. We opted for the 3-night package, but would have liked to stay longer. Highlights were canoeing all alone down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dick C
Minnesota
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We began our first trip to Belize here in the jungle with Ed, Mel, and their two fine sons. We couldn't have asked for a better welcome! They have spent 18 years creating this little retreat in the jungle, with lots of love. A trail winds through the jungle, and the river pool is inviting on a hot afternoon. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank midgeo
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We stayed for four days and thoroughly enjoyed our time there and getting to know Ed and Mel and their family. They are excellent hosts offering ideas for tours and taking care of all the transportation, entrance fees, and generally sharing all their knowledge of Belize while providing a relaxed and comfortable stay. Howler Monkey Resort (we called it a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Great trip down the Monkey River. Alex was knowledgeable about the history of the village and river. He took us into the forest to see the howler monkeys and could spot a crocodile a mile off in the river! Very interesting yet peaceful trip. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmckinney2017
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed three nights with Ed and Mel. They picked us up from our B&B in Belize City and had a cabin on the Belize River ready for us. It had a porch facing the river with a porch swing and a hammock. They had water coolers to refill our water bottles. The breakfast and dinners were served family style,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
New Hampshire Lakes Region, New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We enjoyed our stay the week before Christmas. The Belize food was very good. Saw lots of animals, mainly from our back porch facing the river (see pictures). Rained only a couple of times since it was near the end of the rainy season. Slow internet in the main lodge, especially in the afternoon and evening. but fine for email....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amun2017
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Ed, Mel and family were great. We were traveling with 5 adults and 3 young children and our crew had a variety of dietary restrictions (gluten allergies, vegetarian, etc) and they did a wonderful job catering meals to meet all of our needs (and making them delicious!). We also really enjoyed the cabins overlooking the Belize River. Great for early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcfrank73
California
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We had 3 couples in our group. We rented the Butterfly cabin with 2 double beds in each of the 2 rooms. The beds were surprisingly good, way better than many beds of 3 or 4 star hotels where I have stayed in California. The rooms were very clean, although we were there during rainy season, bugs were generally not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ActiveAdventurer10

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belize District hotels
14.4 km away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
551 reviews
37.7 km away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
32.8 km away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Nature Resort
Nature Resort
#1 of 16 in Belize City
25 reviews
25.0 km away
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Crooked Tree
45 reviews
33.8 km away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-friendly jungle lodge, owned and operated by a Belizean family since 1998. The lodge is the middle of everything, the perfect base for your Belize vacation - only 30mins from the airport/45 from Belize City, excellent paved roads. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howler Monkey Resort

Address: River Side, Community Baboon Sanctuary | Bermudian Landing Village, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District
Price Range: $69 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Howler Monkey Hotel Belize District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howler Monkey Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Howler Monkey Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think all cabins had a great view of the river. Ours had a hammock and a porch swing. Very peaceful.”
  • view from hammock on porch
4onthego, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay here only took the river tour.”
dmckinney2017, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The staff will choose the right cabin for your family size.”
N3991ZUlisah, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Butterfly Cabin has a great back porch and hammock. The porches for each room are connected together, which is nice if you rent both rooms.”
amun2017, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the river are good for birding”
mcfrank73, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5