We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 41: English reviews
Charlotte
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We were recommended this place by locals who had stayed multiple times here and raved about it. They were very disappointed in how much it's changed this time. We got a 2 BR suite since there were 4 of us. It had 1 room with 2 double beds and 1 room with 2 single beds. 2 full baths which had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nestlesmama
Riveradellago, Owner at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review

Unfortunately, the arrival of this guest was handled by a new employee at our reception desk who put the guest in a unit without arranging a maintenance inspection beforehand. The complaint about the conditions was directed to reception, but the same employee failed to notify the management when the refrigerator couldn´t be immediately repaired. Certainly if the guest had insisted...

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 8 March 2011

when you get a gut feeling like something is not right.... trust it when you think something is too good to be true....it is when someone speaks to you rudely......you can expect the same treatment the next time they speak to you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valuetraveler805
Riveradellago, Owner at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review

It is difficult to respond to bad reviews that lack specific substance. However, management at our hotel has been trained to be aware of guest-employee relations and to do it´s best to correct any lack of courtesy. We are not aware of any complaint made in this case.

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 30 January 2011

The hotel is situated right by the Nature Reserve and on the shore of Lake Atitlan. The location couldnt be better for a quiet, romantic get away (Pana is a 5 min tuk tuk ride away). Rooms are spacious, well kept and u can always get one of the suits which are also very good value for money given their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VoyM
Tucson
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed in a large suite with another couple, 2 bedrooms kitchen the staff was excellent, the accommodations clean, and comfortable. We only had breakfast in the restaurant but it was very good. I feel for the space comfort the price was reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gjgoods
Paris
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Avoid this place like the plague, unless you like paying $160 for a YMCA-camp like experience. Came here because TripAdvisor gave such great reviews and wanted to spend a nice place for christmas. I do not know what planet they are on, perhaps they have never traveled in developing countries before. I know that for $160 here you should get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieFR
tmecnrg1, Owner at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review

Prices for our units vary between high and low seasons. The highest daily price we charge for a suite for two during Christmas season is $156 USD. This includes the 22% in taxes charged by the Guatemalan government. The same suite for most of the rest of the year is $123 USD.Single and double rooms are less expensive. These prices...

Altdorf, Germany
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We came to this hotel many times. It will always be my favourite place at Lake Atitlan because of it´s spectacular setting directely at this beautiful lake. Beautiful views from the terrace, and it is nice to have breakfast or dinner and just enjoy the beautiful setting. Another great thing is the tropical garden and I find it also very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colocha70
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The hotel overlooks Lake Atitlan and is located right by a beach. (also has a pool) The service, hospitality and the food was excellent.. I highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annemiebaker
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Reviewed 14 April 2010

my comments would echo many of the other reviews. true the Riveriera hotel is looming but it may be better in the apartments for 4 people that is where I stayed and I loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franni44
Chicago
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We spent 10 days in Panajachel at the Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan. With their large spacious suites, private and public gardens, swimming pool and playground for the kids all our desires were met. Wonderful view of the lake from our suite, private beach with dock, sauna and spa, we were delighted. Close to downtown but far enough away to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dillonfarm
Perth Australia
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed a week with 3 small children. The accommodation was spacious and clean with a great pool for kids and adults alike. The hotel is close enough to walk to town but far enough to feel secluded. There are things to do less than 3 minutes walk away. Hotel Atitlan Gardens is great for lunch and a stroll in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magnificent9

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
1.1 km away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
396 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
222 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
190 reviews
1.2 km away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
120 reviews
9.0 km away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#9 of 30 in Panajachel
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan

Address: Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Price Range: $104 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Panajachel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suite 5 had views of the late from the windows and the patio deck”
 of 5 bubbles Sportsanchor, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles the_halletts, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
2 of 2