We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 169: English reviews
Guatemala Department, Guatemala
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Worst experience I've ever had at a hotel in Panajachel. Our organization routinely brings large groups to the area and we were willing to try the Don Rodrigo. However, we will not be using the hotel again. The staff told us that the rooms would be ready at 3pm, but by 4:15pm our group was still waiting, unable to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joonboom
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are very sorry to hear your dissapointment. We will definetely work with our staff to improve the time with the rooms to deliver them at the right time. In regards to the prices of the rooms, there is a % fee which is legally required by our government. 12% tax fee, and 10% INGUAT...

Willis, Texas
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Through an error by a booking agent who verbally assured us that our reservation was in Panajachel and not in Antigua as the confirmation showed, we arrived after a long ride on a crowded van to find that indeed we did not have a reservation in Pananjachel and, worse, the hotel was completely booked for the night on a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are very happy to hear that our staff handled the inconveniente very well... it´s very nice when clients acknowledge our hard work, we will let everyone in the hotel know your appreciation. We hope to serve you again in the near future... Kind Regards, Management

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Location: ideal Service: no complaints, very helpful Rooms: eh Fairly limited options in the area unless you are looking for a $20/night type of place. Have a feeling that the area is a day trip kind of town. Those staying overnight typically have a backpack and need a shave if you know what I mean. So for the extra $...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcus S
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! We apologize you felt our hotel wasn´t to your standards, however we appreciate all of your suggestions and will take them into consideration to improve our facilities. Your observations and suggestions are always welcome! Thank you once again for your time, and hope to have the chance to...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for several nights in January. We were a little worried it was too far from the action in town, but it is ideally located...you can easily walk all over town from here. And, being situated right on the lake, it had breath-taking views of the volcanoes. The price of the rooms are a bit higher than we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schleuder
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience while staying with us! It is such a pleasure to hear all of the details of your stay, and know that you enjoyed it... Our customer satisfaction is our number one goal, and we feel honored to have such great reviews from you. Hope to serve again in the near...

BRITISH COLUMBIA
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Four of us were early in arriving and our rooms were not ready but the front desk staff were very good about storing our bags while we walked into Panajachel for some lunch and shopping. When we returned to walk down to our rooms with our backpacks we suddenly had 3 porters to assist us, all looking for tips. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DIVERSTWO
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are terribly sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We will take all of your comments into consideration to improve everything in the hotel. Again please accept our apology and note that we will take immediate action into our hands. Thank you for taking the time to write this review! Kind Regards...

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Excellent value. Clean. Service was excellent! Great location. Good food. Staff extremely helpful in all ways. Definitely would come back here. Recommend the top floor for best views. Breakfast was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurabsachs
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for all your kind words, and for taking the time to write this review! We hope to serve you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Management

Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two night in mid Jan 2014. As you can see by the map view, the hotel is in an excellent location with beautiful views of the lake. Our room was in the 300s which has french doors that open onto a grassy/garden area with beautiful lake and volcano views! The doors themselves were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liv D
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us, regarding the hot water in your room, it´s a problem that Panajachel has for quite some time, however there is no excuse for this inconvenience. I will personally make sure this problem gets fixed. Thank you again, and...

bucks
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We enjoyed our short visit here, breakfast with smiley staff in restaurant with stunning views over lake. Room a bit dark but ok, lady in reception not particularly friendly or welcoming, maybe we expect too much? But great position in Panajachel. Sister hotel same name in Antigua very different, definitely recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BucksLiz
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us... We hope to serve you again in the near future. Kind Regards Management

Toronto
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We visited this hotel in Dec 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Few things I liked : - booked everything on the web - quick and courteous responses - excellent location just like it looks in the pics - right on the lake with the best view of the volcano - excellent property - nice rooms - ours was lake facing;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shail_Guggali
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We appreciate your kind words, and at he same time we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us... We hope to serve you again in the near future! Kind Regards, Management

Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We had bad experience and the management team did not seem to care. The toilet seat in the bathroom was all chipped. This not only is not hygenic it looks horrible. We had to put paper every time we had to use it as we do in public bathrooms especially because of our 5 yr old girl. When we informed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crisbeasan
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write this review about your stay with us... We apologize for any inconvenience your experienced at our hotel, we take all of your comments and suggestions very seriously, and we will definetely make the necessary changes to improve everything in the hotel. Again we apologize, but we hope...

289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (272)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 km away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
411 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
226 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
195 reviews
0.1 km away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 30 in Panajachel
269 reviews
1.0 km away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Price Range: $173 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Auxerre, France
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake view at the end of the hall”
 of 5 bubbles CatOrchid, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to request a room with a lake view. The corner room are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Caymanm, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Again, mid-range to expensive for Pana. Subjective and based on area in general.”
 of 5 bubbles cazcindy, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wifi unreliable in room. Wifi was better on the terrace”
 of 5 bubbles donnasZ9136QH, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Views of lake are available”
 of 5 bubbles rosss775, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5