We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We arrived here quite early and although our room wasn't ready they kept our bags safe for us while we went and had lunch. We booked two lakeview rooms which were very large and had a great view of the lake. The pool was enjoyable for us, especially the waterslide since I was traveling with my son. Close to shopping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ttravelerbug
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review, and at the same time we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to serve you in the near future. Once again thank you for your words, Kind Regards, Management

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our room led to a garden overlooking Lake Atitlan. It was a beautiful view. The staff were friendly and the restaurant was good. We had dinner and breakfast there as we were exhausted when we got to the hotel. We only stayed in this hotel for one night but as beautiful as the hotel was, I was glad to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shuhan C
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review! We are very sorry to hear that the beds were not comfortable. It is very hard to have beds to the expectations of each of our clients since some prefer softer and some harder beds. However we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and service of our restaurant. We thank you once...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Hotel is situated on the Bank of Lake Attitlan, many rooms as ours have view to the lake and the volcanoes on the other side of the lake. We took many nice pictures without moving from our room.Our room was spacious with large beds, that's what we ask for every room we reserve, so we were completely satisified. Some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimtraj
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you enjoyed you stay with us in Panajachel. We pride in having wonderful views to the lake from some of the rooms. we thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, and hope to serve you in the near future. Kind Regards, Management

Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in Don Rodrigo. Rooms are pretty we had a lovely garden! Excellent location, easy access to the beach and kayaking. Good service, lovely food and nice bar. Had a few glitches with breakfast the first morning, but nothing major!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edina C
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write this review from your stay. We are very happy to hear that in general you had a nice stay hearing that you enjoyed our food and service. However we are sorry to hear you had a slight problem for your first beakfast. We would love...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great hotel, service, location, rooms, staff. This place was amazing and highly recommended. The entire experience in Guatemala was exceptional. We have always been treated like family. In the posada it was no different. Everyone was there to make our stay pleasant. The food was great and the hotels also provided kids entertainment which was great after the day's activities

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max C
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We feel very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel in Panajachel. We work very hard with our team members to provide this kind of service to our clients. Once again thank you so much for taking the time to write this, and we hope to serve you in...

Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I have eaten at the restaurant here numerous times over the past several years. Most of the time, I have come with a large group (20+ people). Every single time the food and service have been fantastic. My favorite dish is the Plato Chapin, a traditional Guatemalan feast consisting of tenderloin, plantains, black beans, guacamole and goat cheese. I've also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_Tamiwithani
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are honored to receive such amazing comments from your stay. We are very happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us each time you come to Panajachel. It will be our pleasure to serve you again in the near future, and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 June 2013

As with our other experiences in the Guatemala highlands we were struck by the extreme hospitality of our hosts. From the guys who wrangled our bags to the front desk clerks, restaurant staff and every other associate with whom we interacted we were struck by the sincerity of our welcome. It must not be unique to us. We mentioned this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boldtownbob
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Reading your review just brought a big smile to my face... It is an absolute honor to read such lovely comments, and to know directly from our clients that our staff members are delivering what we stand for; which is excellent customer service and quality of food and services. We thank you for taking the...

Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed here for one night, the spa was broken pool heater was not working , no hot water for my shower, no extra towels in the room, old tvs. The view is good staff is very nice, food was okay too. The landscaping is nice and neat. Wish to see a little more security around. If you walk out back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Altruism111
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are very sorry to hear so many inconvenients went on your stay with us... Our number one goal is to please our customers in any way we can, and hearing this problems are absolutely unacceptable. We will take all this in consideration to make changes inmediately. Once again I apologyze for all inconveniences... We...

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed a night at this hotel very clean and peaceful. The lights off at 830-930 made me spent an hour just relaxing at the hammock while enjoying the nice breeze that is coming from the lake. I wish we could have stayed longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ladypame
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are honored tohear that you had a wonderful stay at Panajachel... We hope to serve you soon in the near future! Kind Regards, Management

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Lake Atitlán's volcanos show themselves best in the am (about 6:00 when we were there). The view from the patio as night turns to dawn is excellent; later in the morning and day we couldn't see the volcanos at all for mist and cloud. Standard rooms just fine though dark because of vine covered walkways. Supposed to be eco-conscious in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaraF742
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are apologize for any inconvenience you had while staying with us... We do pride in being an eco-friendly hotel, with small changes such as re-filling bottled waters, however I am sorry to hear that was not the case with you. I will personally make sure that this will be corrected, as well as letting...

278 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 km away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
376 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
217 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
183 reviews
0.1 km away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 30 in Panajachel
262 reviews
1.0 km away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Price Range: $201 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Auxerre, France
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Again, mid-range to expensive for Pana. Subjective and based on area in general.”
 of 5 bubbles cazcindy, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wifi unreliable in room. Wifi was better on the terrace”
 of 5 bubbles donnasZ9136QH, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Views of lake are available”
 of 5 bubbles rosss775, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Book a lake view!! You won't regret it!!”
  • View from boat as we arrived in Santiago Atitlan
  • Afternoon view from room
  • Morning view from room
  • Morning view from our room
 of 5 bubbles Be_as_you_are, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
“There are cheaper rooms without immediate views. There are pricier rooms with direct views of lake. There is a terrace area for viewing.”
  • Humming bird gathering nectar outside my room
  • Humming bird gathering nectar
  • Morning view of Lake from garden outside my back sliding door
 of 5 bubbles GoTrvlWld0988, 12 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay