We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Posada de Santiago

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago Atitlan
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Posada de Santiago
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Posada de Santiago
See the most recent reviews
Showing 281: English reviews
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

This is a beautiful and quiet jewel with amazing views of the lake. The cottages are clean and comfortable with fireplaces to drive off any morning or late evening chill and purified drinking water piped into your room. There is a full service restaurant that will even bring coffee to your room. (With hot milk!!!) All of the food is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cjval
New Paris, Ohio
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I just love this hotel. The dining room is wonderful, the rooms are clean with potable water, The showers are hot, some rooms have tubs. Sometimes the tubs are big enough for two. The rooms have safes, And the staff, oh my gosh, the staff is fabulous. You can enjoy a cocktails on the mirador, go to the hot tub,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine D
northwest
Reviewed 28 June 2016

This place is very nice and for the most part is good. We stayed in cottage 4 and it worked out well for the 3 of us. When we arrived, the employee carrying our luggage up the steps was great! The dining area was good for meals, drinks and playing board games. We got a kick of looking out the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ooke
DJGSant, Owner at Posada de Santiago, responded to this review

Some off your comments are just ridiculous. I have a recollection of someone standing near the dock awkwardly quietly staring at us as we took two entire minutes to get in our kayak. Juan Pablo would have hurried to attend you more quickly had you told him you wanted something. I am so sorry we do not read minds. Oh,...

Reviewed 14 June 2016

Stayed in the "hacienda" (3 room/2 bath) suite for 2 nights with my fellow Penn volunteer colleagues. I was extremely impressed at the rustic yet comfortable/clean ambience provided by the Posada. Very well kempt garden with beautiful, exotic flowers. Would recommend this place to nature lovers who also enjoy comfort and also to foodies who will certainly enjoy the restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina R
DJGSant, Owner at Posada de Santiago, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the review.

Monteverde Costa Rica
Reviewed 28 May 2016

This review is really only based on staying in room #17 in the large building. I did not have a chance to look into the cute cottages but looking at the pictures and reading reviews they would seem to be much more upscale and of course more expensive. The place was really good and I particularly enjoyed the pool area,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monteverdeguy
DJGSant, Owner at Posada de Santiago, responded to this review

The bull, horses and all but two of the dogs belong to neighbors. We compost. No one spread manure in the gardens.

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

My husband had visited years ago and had a wonderful experience. We were so happy to find the place just as he had remembered! We loved how the bar is carved out of rock. The food was superb (the breakfast was on a level I won't soon forget!). The rooms were so charming and unique. One of our favorite things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhitneyKoonce
Richmond, California, United States
Reviewed 21 April 2016

The rooms were in spacious cottages surrounded by lush, green vegetation and flowers. The birds sing all day long. There's a sauna which I didn't try, a swimming pool and hot tub which I did use. They're heated with unique looking solar panels. The hot tub is elevated right above Lake Atitlan. The food and sometimes entertainment here is exceptional....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Of all the accommodations that I've staying at in Guatemala, Posada de Santiago is is clearly the very best. Everyone that I've traveled with in Guatemala agrees that we would be happy to spend our entire trip here, where they have the best quality food, beautiful accommodations, marvelous views and artistically landscaped grounds. The new addition of the art gallery...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marylawyer1222
Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Beautiful location by Lake Atitlan, the grounds are beautifully planted and good for those interested in plants and birds. Fantastic views of the lake from the jetty and early in the morning good for birds and watching local fishermen. It is close enough to town to be able to easily and cheaply travel in to Santiago by tuk tuk, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
Xela
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We stayed with two couples at Posada de Santiago for 3 nights in March. We rented the "Casita", with two bedrooms, kitchen, living area and 1 bathroom. The Casita was just fine. Don´t expect too much from the kitchen, not many pots and pans and a really dirty/old oven/stove. But it´s nice to have a fridge and being able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peet200
DJGSant, Owner at Posada de Santiago, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Due to your comment about the stove, we replaced it with a new one.

342 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (334)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (132)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago Atitlan
11.8 km away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
614 reviews
12.7 km away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
463 reviews
14.9 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 4 in Santiago Atitlan
111 reviews
12.5 km away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
280 reviews
14.2 km away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For over seventeen years the Posada de Santiago has built a reputation for excellence among travel agencies, tour groups, and countless satisfied guests from across the globe. Nestled between the volcanoes that cradle the indigenous Tzutujil village of Santiago Atitlan, the Posada provides the perfect base from which to experience Guatemala's natural beauty and colorful cultures. With charming stone cottage lodgings, renowned cuisine and luxurious lake front amenities, the Posada is a place where happy guests want to return. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Posada de Santiago

Address: Apto. 1, Santiago Atitlan 07019, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santiago Atitlan
Price Range: $50 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Posada De Santiago Hotel Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Hotel Atitlan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Posada de Santiago staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Posada de Santiago staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Aguacatal worked great for us. I am sure every rooms has to have its own charm”
 of 5 bubbles LMSerrano, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have fire places, and wood is delivered every morning to you Enjoy!”
 of 5 bubbles 493CatherineD493, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Call the hotel to get transportation from Pana to Posada. Private boat will be double.”
 of 5 bubbles ooke, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Private suites make the experience like living at home away from home in terms of comfort.”
 of 5 bubbles christinar918, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Book early. All the cottages are lovely and in demand”
 of 5 bubbles 429dianap, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5