We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Vecchia Toscana Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Vecchia Toscana Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vecchia Toscana Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Friedrichshafen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I found this wonderful - Oase - Vecchia Toscana in Livingston right at the ocean. Perfect place to stop and relax while you are taken care of by Daniela and the excellent italian cook Ivan. The athmospher is so charming family minded, clean and the swimming pool just cools you down after a long journey. They help you out with... More 

Helpful?
Thank MartinaW229
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We' ve spent 5 days here and ggt no discount. The room and especialy bathroom was smelly and humid. Good location on the beach, however the beach is quite poor and it takes you15 minutes to get into centre of Livingston. The english speaking staff member from Guatemala was extremely helpful, the breakfasts were below average. The resort has nothing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
ivan c, Proprietario at Vecchia Toscana Resort, responded to this review

This comment makes no sense and honestly I do not understand the reasons of writing negative things because the reservation books indicate that he reserve for three days and he stayed with us two more nights, in total five nights. For me it is difficult to understand that if the rooms are not good ..... etc. Why he stayed longer... More 

Saint Jeannet, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Vecchia Toscana is located on the water edge, facing the ocean on the outskirts of Livingston. The hotel grounds are tiny, but Daniela and Ivan, the italian owners, have managed to fit a lovely pool, a restaurant with the best pasta I have ever eaten, and decent rooms with a ventilator and air conditioning, in this Caribbean and Garifuna nest,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Malagueta1
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We want to thank the owners of Vecchia Toscana, Daniela and Ivan, for taking care of us during our stay in Livingston: thanks to them rainy days became a pleasurable and friendly stay in their resort, where we ate amazing food, from real Italian pasta to fish with tropical ingredients like mango! The rooms are really beautiful and welcoming (with... More 

Helpful?
Thank BruxellesZzzz
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Probably the best room is the one right in front of the pool or just above it but I enjoyed the clean room, food and hospitality. The hotel is about 10mins walk from the water taxi point so worth getting a taxi if you have luggage. Try the home-cooked food, especially the bread.

Helpful?
Thank DuncDyason
Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Pros: 1. Pool is fantastic – big, deep and clean 2. Garden is excellent - huge, nice, well-maintained with hammocks, flocks of parrot’s, funny frogs, lizards 3. Very quiet and calm place, right on the beach. 4. Internet is rather fast and stable Cons: 1. Room (we got a double) is small, gloomy and stuffy. AC is not a luxury... More 

Helpful?
Thank VKalmykov
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Having stayed here for 3 nights I am now really surprised by the glowing reviews. I was treating myself over Xmas but it turns out it was the wrong decision. First, I was travelling alone, and it is a 15 minute walk along the beach to the town (past reviews say 5-20 minutes). I timed it. The issue with the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Crysee
Panama City, Panama
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

It´s a beautiful place. I had a great experience during my vacations in this place.The owners are very friendly. The room was very clean and cozy and the food was fantastic. I really recommend It's an unforgettable paradise.

Helpful?
Thank Elena C
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The best place for relax and a enjoy of the beach or the swimming pool and the amazing italian food! The position its strategic just on the beach and no too far from the city, just 10min by walk! Room are impeccabily cleane,and the stuff its always available for do everything we want,they help us for organized the tour and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ReginaDIDI
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Vecchia Toscane. The service was perfect and the rooms and surroundings quite idyllic. Serious drawback is the location quite far from the town's center (20 minute walk). At night, when the beach and roads are deserted and dark, you don't want to walk that far to your hotel. Summary: + Friendly service + Nice food... More 

Helpful?
Thank World_traveller_9823

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
7.1 km away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 9 in Livingston
315 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 9 in Livingston
228 reviews
0.5 km away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#8 of 9 in Livingston
38 reviews
21.1 km away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
140 reviews
34.4 km away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In vecchia toscana the most part of the people feeling like to be at home,here ist family operated,the armony its frendly and quiet,even becouse we are right on the beach,thats why we always raccomanded to catch a taxy for the first time to come here,and than from here you can walk in town from the beach or the street in just 10min.We even serve a lovely italian food and for other even the only nice one in town!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vecchia Toscana Resort

Address: Barrio Paris, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Price Range: $71 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vecchia Toscana Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
San Benito, Peten, Guatemala

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Vecchia Toscana Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second level overlooking the sea”
 of 5 bubbles frannkazul, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“They are all quite and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles briany732, 4 May 2015 | Read review
“Choose a room away from the fish pond to avoid mosquito ;D There is free wifi in the lobby”
 of 5 bubbles NetinBoesche, 9 Jan 2015 | Read review
“all the rooms are nice and close to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles K6397VHmichaell, 7 Jan 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are interesting. We had a little preference for the ones facing the pool, the largest ones and on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Gimarc, 27 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5