We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Barrio El Centro, Copan Ruinas Honduras
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (3)

About

#6 of 9 Specialty lodging in Copan Ruinas
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With lush gardens, beautiful corridors and the soothing sounds of the stream makes this. hotel/hostel anything but ordinary.. Music, art and food now bring a sense of community and sharing for all types of travelers. If you are in for experiencing cultures, meeting new people, we are the place. Great place to meet and share.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room features
Kitchenette
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
16Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 3
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Goingplaces98 wrote a review Feb 2020
Chino Hills, California534 contributions351 helpful votes
This isn't a hotel but more of a guesthouse. There are no obvious markings on the door or front, except a small faded sign when you get close. It's ran by an older gentleman who keeps a watch on the place for the owner who lives in the US. No restaurants or food served. There's a kitchen but I wasn't sure if guests could use it. Lovely corridor with plants and hammock overlooking the creek through Copan Ruinas. You do feel that you're in a sanctuary away from the "hustle & bustle" of the town (which is tiny). Rooms, fixtures, and furniture are quite old, maybe best described as rustic. Decent bedding though, with nice soft imported sheets. For hot water you'll have to request for it to be turned on, and the caretaker will promptly turn it off when you're done. Weak pressure but does the job. The water from the tap comes from the creek so it's often muddy or discolored, so suggest brushing teeth with filtered water available from the caretaker. Credit cards are accepted through the owner who can take your info over the phone or you can settle the bill online. Wifi is a bit weak and slow but again, usable and does the job. Good choice for a few nights base in Copan. I had a bunch of flea bites a few days afterwards but not sure if it was from the guesthouse or on hikes or on the bus to San Pedro Sula.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Freefred wrote a review Feb 2019
Chichester, United Kingdom84 contributions39 helpful votes
This is one of the best hotels we have been to. The unassuming front hides a little corner of peace (and you need it with the noise of the traffic of Copan). Shiny wooden floors, large cool rooms with nice dark wood furniture, a massive terrace with tables, chairs, hammocks and potted plants overlooking a beautiful garden with a massive bugainvillea full of blooms and a gurgling stream that keeps you company (as does the chirping of birds). The whole place needs a bit of maintenance, although it is kept spotless and we felt at home immediately, also thanks to the lovely Gustavo. And prices are very reasonable too. We'll definitely go back and we definitely recommend it (but don't tell too many people, it's best kept a secret)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Goal100Countries wrote a review Dec 2018
Cheltenham, United Kingdom615 contributions8351 helpful votes
I would definitely recommend the hotel here due to its lovely decor. The plants and trees nearby, added to the river, created a really lovely atmosphere in order to relax. The rooms were very large and were of a very good price. They also all have two beds and an en suite. The staff were very friendly and we happy to accommodate me and grant my requests.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
12 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Kevin988 wrote a review Sep 2018
55 contributions42 helpful votes
Madrugada was just great. The terrace is amazing and it's perfect to relax before or after visiting the ruins. Our room was lovely with a comfortable bed, nice furniture, clean bathroom and ceiling fan. WiFi worked fine. The ruins itself as well as most restaurants/shops are only a short walk from the hotel. We'd advise to take a tuk-tuk on your arrival since there is no sign on the outside and you might walk past the hotel not noticing it. The staff was extremely helpful and patient though we only speak little Spanish. There was a slight misunderstanding on our departure regarding our payment, which was cleared up easily with the friendly and English speaking owner. Overall, we can definitely recommend Madrugada for a stay in Copan Ruinas.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
choccychamp wrote a review May 2018
London, United Kingdom23 contributions7 helpful votes
Madrugada Hotel in Copan is excellent value accommodation just one block from the main square. It is very clean, extremely quiet and has hot water. The terrace area with hammocks are peaceful and extremely well maintained. Myself and my daughter had a lovely couple of days here
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GeorgeJetson wrote a review May 2018
Guatemala City, Guatemala23 contributions
Despite there being some positive reviews for this place my experience was terrible. To begin with, I arrived after not sleeping for 30 hours, on a hot day. The room came with a broken ceiling fan so loud you can't sleep in the room. The hotel only had one other guest but, at first, they wouldn't let me use another room because of the bed arrangement and because they were all booked the next night. After some persuasion, I was switched to another room. I went to take a shower and there was no hot water. They said it was turned off because there were no guests. My reservation was made days earlier and there was one other person at the hotel as well. There were some other minor issues such as there being no toilet paper or blanket. Despite advertising wifi it didn't work at all. The next day I found another hotel. It's more expensive but it has hot water and a working ceiling fan.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank M, Owner at Madrugada Copan
Responded 8 May 2018
Hello Jeff, I am so sorry you had such a long trip and bad weather and mostly that we were not able to accommodate your rest to your expectations. We have had no issues in the past regarding the fans but will address them immediately. The minor issues that you state regarding toilet paper and blankets are something I unfortunately can't agree with as the hotel, even as a property that offers basic accommodations, we ensure that these items are always available to our guests and our rooms are clean and equipped. The property has two water heaters that are on at all times, if this was not the case this will be an issue that we will address with our staff to ensure it does not happen again. Regarding our wifi service, this is something I can't control as we work with the most "reliable" company in town and the service they provide us fails from time to time. Again, I am extremely sorry your stay was not a pleasant one and that we made you uncomfortable. I do hope that the rest of your stay in Copan was a pleasant one. We will take all your comments into account and make the necessary changes so this does not happen again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rapha_y_nici wrote a review Mar 2018
Zurich, Switzerland5970 contributions11147 helpful votes
The place is very nice and clean. It‘s located 2 blocks from the main square, slightly uphill to get there. The room was spacious with ensuite with hot water. The wifi was good. Best of all was the lovely receptionst, he gave us all information without asking. He (is not the owner but the only receptionist) is such a nice person and he is willing to have a chat with you about the country, so welcoming, he is the heart of this place! We would come again because of him. Muchas gracias señor! Furthermore, it‘s a really nice place which invites to relax and enjoy the environment and the wifi. It‘s good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank M, Owner at Madrugada Copan
Responded 21 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for recognizing Gustavo’s effort! He is the heart of Madrugada Copan! Thank you for your visit and kind words
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruben D wrote a review Feb 2018
16 contributions3 helpful votes
This is a very good hotel for the (cheap) price you pay. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and the owner is friendly. (he does not speak English though) You have a chill balcony next to the river.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bajabirdy wrote a review Jan 2018
San Diego, California32 contributions37 helpful votes
The hostel has a lovely setting by the river. We enjoyed the serenity of sitting on the patio and hearing the river rush by. The lush garden plants provide a nice bird blind, as well. Unfortunately, we were there during an unusual cold spell. The room had no heating, and the overhead fan had to be on in order to have the light on. This made the room even colder. The internet was not reliable and the rooms do not have individual televisions. We chose to move to a hotel in the center of town.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The center of town is up a steep cobblestone street from the hostel. It was difficult for me to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
phouska wrote a review Jan 2018
Prague, Czech Republic452 contributions87 helpful votes
This place has some spirit as its right next to the creek and featurea pretty nice colonial style. Potio in front of rooms is just awesome for sitting in evenings. Rooms are slightly worn down but nothing what would dissapoint. Internet doesnt work most of the time and promoted breakfast is not offered on reality which are the only downsides for me.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
LOCATION
HondurasCopan DepartmentCopan Ruinas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MADRUGADA COPAN: See 12 Reviews, Price Comparison and 29 Photos (Copan Ruinas, Honduras) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Madrugada Copan
Which popular attractions are close to Madrugada Copan?
Nearby attractions include Luna Jaguar Hot Spring (0.2 km), Finca el Cisne (0.3 km), and Main Square (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Madrugada Copan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Madrugada Copan?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Madrugada Copan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe San Rafael, Sol de Copan, and Café Welchez.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Madrugada Copan?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Madrugada Copan?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mayan Ball Court (1.3 km), Sepulturas (2.1 km), and Pyramid over Rosalila Temple (1.3 km).