We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown

Show Prices
#2 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

628 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 624: English reviews
Athens, Georgia
Reviewed 19 June 2016

This hotel is kept very clean. The lobby is beautiful, it's got a decent restaurant downstairs, and the staff is very friendly. There's a little store behind the front counter with beverages and whatnot. The rooms are comfortable. And the hotel is right downtown. Parking is the only complaint, but it always is with anything downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgia_Peach30650
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Athens area.

Statham, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 18 June 2016

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary night on the town, and we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was large and comfortable and we had a view of the Classic Center so we could people-watch whenever we weren't part of the action ourselves. The best part of this hotel is its location. Everything a person would want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient and enjoyed your stay.

Hull, Georgia
Reviewed 15 June 2016

My stay at the Hilton will Super everything's was very clean the staff was very nice My overall stay was A plus, I would recommend anyone that's coming to Athens Georgia to stay at the Hilton one of the best hotels there is in Athens Georgia.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your accomodations with us.

Manchester, GA, United States
Reviewed 14 June 2016

The Hilton Garden Inn in Athens, GA, is the best! It's location downtown, directly across the street from the Classic Center, is perfect. It is within a 12 minute walk of anywhere in the downtown area, which is packed with great restaurants and shops. The people at the Hilton Garden Inn are wonderful! From the front desk to the restaurant...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and our service met and exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Ideal place to stay close to UGA. Walking distance to this beautiful campus. Great place for walking and exploring. Hotel is also close to shops and eateries of downtown Athens. We enjoyed our stay. Parking at the hotel is covered and safe for $10/day. Possible to walk for all your meals and entertainment. UGA has a shuttle that stops near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CFoleyBrinza
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you felt our location is ideal for events downtown and visiting the University of Georgia. I hope to meet you in person on your next visit to the area.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 13 June 2016

If you are going to an event at the Classic Center, this hotel is right across the street. We stayed with a family of four (2 small children) and it doesn't work for us. There used to be a pool which made things better, but now there's really nothing to do with kids here. It's cramped, so there's not even...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SavannahLeigh
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I understand how frustrating it is to find that there are not enough amenities for your children. I apologize for any inconvenience this caused. We are continually updating our hotel and will take your comments into account during our planning process to improve our hotel.

Jasper, Georgia
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Everything was fine and we enjoyed our stay. Our room didn't get cleaned one day but housekeeping came that evening a brought us what we needed and did a touch up of the room. We look forward to coming back. It is so convenient.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chip W
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you felt the hotel is convenient. I understand how frustrating it is to not receive housekeeping service when you expect it. I apologize for any inconvenience this caused. I will discuss this matter with my housekeeping team and ensure we are properly servicing all of the room on a...

Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this Hilton Garden Inn during a college visit to UGA. Made reservations without having ever been here and were very pleasantly surprised to find the hour minutes from everything we wanted to see, beautifully oriented with lovely commons areas, excellent rooms and friendly staff. Parking was around $10 each night but worth it. We also had an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellysR2868ZM
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to exceed your expectations. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit with us.

Osage Beach, Missouri
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family. The location of the hotel is perfect for walking to downtown attractions. All of the staff members were especially helpful and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F692ZEelizabethw
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Roswell, United States
Reviewed 9 June 2016

The staff were great but the hotel and being charged for an extra day of parking was pretty under-handed. for this to be THE hotel in Athens GA, it was pretty average. There was a very loud disturbance Friday night of my stay where somebody was trying to knock a door down or something but the hotel never even acknowledged...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I understand how frustrating it is to encounter unexpected noise and charges. I apologize for any inconvenience this caused. I am happy to answer any questions on charges please feel free to call the hotel at (706)353-6800 and any team member can assist you. We make every effort to reduce noise in the hotel and...

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 km away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
648 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
3.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
3.5 km away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#5 of 23 in Athens
422 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Adjacent to the Classic Center, Athens primary meeting/concert venue. Walking distance to over 75 unique eateries and pubs in a very quaint setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown

Address: 390 E Washington St, Athens, GA 30601
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: $208 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown Hotel Athens
Hilton Athens
Athens Hilton Garden Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Merchantville, New Jersey
7 months ago
over a year ago
Savannah, Georgia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are really no bad rooms. Great location, right downtown just off campus”
631chuckw, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room on a high floor in the "back" facing the garage”
Flying_Lawyer, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Second Floor may have noise from the lobby.”
RandyN810, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors offer good views if that is important to you.”
Z5598SZbens, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“top floor (8th) had spectacular view of city environs and beyond.”
mpontheroad, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5