We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Blue Pearl Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Blue Pearl Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blue Pearl Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 65: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2015

The first night the A/C in my room exploded and started sprinkling hot water and I got several burns as I tried to get of the room. I received no apology or deduction on price--that's kind of hotel this is. Elevators which never work, internet doesn't work, rooms are shabby and need renovation, but the price is still almost £60...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drazen C
Sumeet N, Manager at Blue Pearl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking your time to write a review for your stay at our hotel. I am sorry for the delay in responding to your sincere review and I am indeed sad for this unpleasant experience you had in our hotel. I apologize on behalf of our staff who were on duty on that day and...

Montpellier, France
Reviewed 8 May 2015

There is 6 lifts in the Hotel, during the week, no one was available When your room is at hte 12th floor, it start to become a problem. The other problem is that there is no light in the stairs and that they are outside, sleepy when raining, and in May, it rain a lot. More than one hour for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jm_GlobeTrotter
Bonn, Germany
Reviewed 28 October 2014

I stayed at Blue Pearl Hotel several times because of its location: Ubungu. The location is good if you have to leave by car in direction Morogoro and want to avoid traffic jams in the inner city. Apart from the location, the hotel is not the most charming. Rooms are spacious and not too bad, but restaurant and bar are...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Ralf R
michael b, Manager at Blue Pearl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir... Have you checked the New Blue Pearl Hotel... Under New Management... Regards.. Michael Braggs

Tacloban, Philippines
Reviewed 7 October 2014

I was a guest of this hotel when at 8 pm Wednesday 23rd September 2014 ,without any advance warning, I was amongst about 25-30 guests thrown onto the street by a bunch of thugs numbering 10-12 as the Hotel had been closed down.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Derek K
MARK G, Manager at Blue Pearl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Greetings from Blue Pearl Hotel! sorry for all inconvenience. there was some Govt issue for the building which been resolved and we re-open from 20th October 2014.

Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Reviewed 19 August 2014

checked in for 2 nights following a business trip to Dar es Salaam.The hotel is a distance from the city centre and I was going to a Government office in the same Ubungo Complex so the hotel was ideal.Stayed at room 1201 on the 4th floor which was an executive 2 roomed apartment.Each room with a T.V. with limited chanels,adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Munir T
michael b, Manager at Blue Pearl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir... Have you checked the New Blue Pearl Hotel... Under New Management... Regards.. Michael Braggs

Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I am one of three businessmen (Key experts) who are staying in the hotel to set up a long term project for our companies - a water project for the Ministry of Water. It is a stay of going on a month. The project duration in 3 towns will be 3 years. 15 days after we were here we went...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Josie_Bliksem
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This doesn't serve well as a business hotel at all. I was there for a business conference it was roundly disastrous. It is in the middle of nowhere... if you need to be in the area it might make sense but it is not in Dar proper. The rooms are relatively shabby, the internet virtually did not work, the food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JKurz2008
michael b, Manager at Blue Pearl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thanking you for taking time to write your view about us..This shows that Yes You Care about us and Yes we have noted our shortfalls. Your views are taken seriously and we have already initiated our actions to rectify our shortfalls. I do hope that you may visit us at least to see that there has been improvements....

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel was recommended by a local partner as the destination for a capacity building workshop for a UN organisation. The hotel itself is well located with government institutions and other UN organisations located close by. For business requirements, the hotel was not suitably equipped with fast internet connection and conference organisation facilities/team. Being a developing country one does need...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SumaleeKhosla
Sumeet N, Manager at Blue Pearl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear esteemed guest, We thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We have noted about airport pickup and are however happy to note that you had a wonderful stay. Looking forward to see again at Blue Pearl, we remain with, Best Regards Mr.Sumeet

Crosskeys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed at the blue pearl for 4 weeks on a working secondment, this hotel was well situated in Dar es saleem, it was pre booked by the agent at Transaid a transport driver training organisation in London u.k. My stay was a working business trip and the hotel is one of the largest in "DAR" it has hundreds of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wyn s
London
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I used this hotel for business purposes and because of the traffic situation the hotel was good because it was close. The bed was hard which may be good for some and less so for others. For the price paid the hotel is good. Advantages large rooms Swimming pool on 14th floor with great views of Dar es Salaam and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith T

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
8.0 km away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
77 reviews
0.0 km away
MIC Hotel
MIC Hotel
#70 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
17 reviews
12.5 km away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#47 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
624 reviews
3.7 km away
Safina Hotel & Apartments
Safina Hotel & Apartments
#79 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
8 reviews
8.2 km away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#31 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the blossoming Ubungo area in Dar es Salaam, the Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments is the largest all apartment-suite style hotel in the country and offers a wide selection of luxurious suites, conference venue and fine dining. We offer the best of business, leisure and luxury in the area with excellent amenities including the only rooftop swimming pool in Dar es Salaam. All of our spacious suites include air-conditioning, large beds, Wi-Fi and continental breakfast served from 6am to 10am in the Famished Restaurant. Our proximity to the Dar es Salaam University Campus and Mlimani City Shopping Centre as well as inter-city bus and train stations makes us a premier destination for travellers, business people and conference groups. For Luxury and Value, visit The Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments – The Largest Apartment Hotel and Premiere Conference Destination in the Region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Pearl Hotel

Address: Morogoro Road, Ubungo Plaza | P.O. Box 4868, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $104 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Pearl Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Pearl Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Blue Pearl Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good if you are on the go and boarding buses from Ubungo Bus Terminal and the UDART - Rapid Transit”
 of 5 bubbles mpelim, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“As far away from the huge church as possible - it is VERY noisy especially weekends!”
 of 5 bubbles josibliksem, 3 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Get as top floor as you can for quiet rooms away from the hustle and bustle of cars on Morogoro Road downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles peterwP7720RJ, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
“If you want a good room, find another hotel...”
 of 5 bubbles nbalsari, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
“the loud prayers from the nearby church at 5.00am can be heard I think from all the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MunirT, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay