We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 414: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here before and returned because I was happy the first time. I was not disappointed. A good stay. Great service. The Wifi was good and free. The room spacious and clean. Food and service top quality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColmV
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel taxi was waiting at airport - very good driver. Check in took a bit of time and involved 2 receptionists. Nice to get an upgrade to an executive room with access to lounge and breakfast included. Room ok - a bit small. And the AC did not really cool the room, rather made a lot of noise. Nice rooftop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hans L
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Positive: Staffs are friendly Nice Breakfast area Fairly good choice of food for breakfast lunch and dinner. Have a better size swimming pool than some other neighbour hotels.. Negative: I stayed on the 8th Floor and the whole floor smells damp!!!. It was same experience when I stayed here last time for one week. Bathroom needs complete upgrade, tiles, grouting,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hyolmo A
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Hyolmo A, Thank you for staying with us and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and restaurant service good, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

They were busy and maybe they just gave me poor rooms, however when there is so much noise on the mains electrics it messes with your laptop it is not good. I changed rooms once because of the smell of chemicals and the whistling windows that wouldn't lock. To another room where the windows didn't whistle as the gaps were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianmilne667
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear ianmilne667, Thank you for providing feedback on your experience during your recent business travel. We sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us due to the smell of chemicals, whistling windows and size of swimming pool fell below your expectations. Please know that these are not the standards that we aim for, nor that which...

Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We went for breakfast buffet. It was good spread. There were usual variety of breads, sweet and savory entrees, Egg omelettes made to order, variety of cereals both cold and hot. Coffee and tea with juices. There were fresh coconut split open with coconut water. Overall it was good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf M
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Yusuf M, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you liked our breakfast service. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble...

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Very nice hotel I like the roof too restaurant. Friendly staff and very clean room. Convenient location with very good night view of the city. The hotel has taxis for hire to help customers move around easily and securely without worrying of being left stranded.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hellen W
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Hellen W, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I appreciate your compliments regarding our property being nice, rooms clean and staff friendly. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The hotel could be updated, but the service, location and food sort of make up for it. I ate in the top terrace and had breakfast downstairs. It was really good. The rooms are quiet, clean and sort of contemporary. Dar is a safe city, so walking around the hotel is fine. The reception area is small, but the 1st...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AVM2016
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear AVM2016, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property and for choosing us. I am pleased with the positive remarks regarding our hotel location, clean accommodation, staff service and food served during your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you may have encountered and for the negative impression you had with...

Reviewed 28 September 2016

I visited place with my friends from Norway after a long working day. So we decided to walk by Holiday Inn at night for dinning. We had a lovely meal at the rooftop bar on a Thursday night which had fantastic views and brilliant live music. I strongly advise anyone looking to stop off in Dar to stay here and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel H
Tanzania
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel with great facilities and very professional team . The food was tasty and the service was outstanding .. we wanted to stay there for few more day and book for wildlife safari but we don't have time.. the place was so peaceful.. and the gym is nice. we would like to come back again in the same place soon

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noor Pop e
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Stayed here for one night with a family of 5 in 2 adjoining rooms. The rooms are modern, bright, clean and comfortable. Wifi worked great. So did the shower. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was very good and fairly priced. The only issue I would have with the Holiday Inn is that it is a bit over-priced compared to some...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bmccann07

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.8 km away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#18 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
201 reviews
0.1 km away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#11 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
107 reviews
0.6 km away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#15 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
624 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#23 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
91 reviews
0.6 km away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $173 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Priceline, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd go somewhere else in future”
 of 5 bubbles ianmilne667, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Roof top bar”
 of 5 bubbles 522noelh, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms overlooking the Indian Ocean are best”
 of 5 bubbles 466japhetk, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Standard room and executive rooms are very similar.”
 of 5 bubbles amrid2015, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher Floors are nice”
 of 5 bubbles shaf_qh, 13 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay