We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

472 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 418: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Travelled to the city of Dar Es Salaam for business. The hotel is adequate. The facilities are good for a hotel situated in the city. The good is good. Although the hotel clearly needs renovation in most parts, its clean and offers its guests all the facilities required. The service isn't the greatest, but I guess that's expectant of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GusBehn
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Gusbehn, Warm Greetings from Holiday Inn City Centre Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for writing a review about our property on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your good comments about the cleanliness and the facilities. The renovation of the property is currently being done in a phased manner as this is a functional property. In order to minimize the inconvenience...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great hotel.Room is great.Food is excellent.Service is impeccable.Vibrant atmosphere on the 11th floor after 22:00. Beautiful view from the sundeck on the 11th floor.Shuttle departs for beach area at 10:30 daily.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis02
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Louis2, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! I thank you so much for the nice words you have written about our property here at Dar EsSalaam. All our efforts are always focused to surpass the expectations of our esteemed guests like you. The positive feedback from guests like you make us happy and we feel satisfied that...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for business, and despite the good location, should you be seeing clients in City Centre, the hotel rooms are in serious need of upgrade. The lobby and breakfast restaurant have all the look and feel of a Holiday Inn any where in the world, but thats were it ends. The rooms are a good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SA_Business_Traveler
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear SA_Business_Traveller, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! I thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com. I appreciate your comments about the Lobby, food and particularly the breakfast. We apologize about the inconveniences caused to you by faulty internet but this has been looked into and rectified. The rooms are being renovated and are certainly going to be...

Hants, Uk
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This Holiday Inn is in the centre of the city, the traffic at peak times from the airport can be pretty awful, so one innovation is the offer of Helicopter transfers for USD $275 to beat the traffic, certainly not to everyone's budget. The infrastructure is a bit shaky, a good storm will knock out the lifts and leave you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GreboGuru
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Streitferdt, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on tripadvisor.com. We understand that you are a traveler with special need and we try to ensure that your need for wheelchair accessible room is handled efficiently. As per the Holiday Inn standards we have to have...

Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little more used, but not more as Holiday Inn hotels Italy or USA or Canada. Or OMG dirty Crowne Plaza Amsterdam or terrible H-Inn Lisboa City center. Of course, IHG chain members in Germany, China, Hungary or for example Slovakia are much much beter. What is not OK is complicated WiFi internet access with insufficient signal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pan P
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mr.PanP, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on tripadvisor.com. We also thank you for rating our hotel better than other hotels mentioned in your review. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you because of internet/wi-fi not being good enough as per your expectations....

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had to stay for one night, because our flight was canceled. The management did a goo job. I needed a wheelchair accessible room and after a littel back and forth we got it. The bathroom is small but ok, the room was clean and the bed good. Enough space to move with a wheelchair. Unfortunately with carpets, but that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Streitferdt
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Streitferdt, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on tripadvisor.com. We understand that you are a traveler with special need and we try to ensure that your need for wheelchair accessible room is handled efficiently. As per the Holiday Inn standards we have to have...

Gurgaon, India
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on a business trip. I'd rate this place as an average business hotel. The rooms are decent sized, the breakfast is ok. There was a lot of renovation going on when I was there, there was tarpaulin all over the lobby and the intercom wasn't working. Would have appreciated if I were informed when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salilsood
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Salilsood, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your inconvenience with the renovations. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed here a few weeks ago, but I gotta say it is a great place to stay. Right just at the perfect place from the centre city centre. You feel like you are at the centre of it all! Fantastic for site seeing. The staff are friendly, and the rooms are a very decent side. The roof top restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank varmull
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Varmul, Greetings from Holiday Inn dar Es Salaam! We thank you writing a review about your experiences at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam. We are happy to know that you like our rooms, services and the roof top restaurant. We appreciate your good words about our staff. It feels good to know that our staff is taking good acre...

Pune, India
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This a three star property, Service is bad , I had to approach the General Manager to get basic things moving. Food is average. Pool is a tank filled with water, best avoided. They charge you money for room service and deliver really pathetic food. So do'nt even try. bathrooms are very small and clogged. Stay here if it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deekshitm
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear deekshitm, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the unsatisfactory quality and service you have received during your stay. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small,...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I would really like to review this hotel better, but I was kind of disappointing. I've stayed at this hotel twice over the past two months and can't say I was impressed either time. On the plus side it is in a great location, right in the center of the city with nice staff. There is also a nice rooftop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Eric D, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and...

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.8 km away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
209 reviews
0.1 km away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#10 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
121 reviews
0.6 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#7 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#15 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
401 reviews
0.8 km away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
638 reviews
0.5 km away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#26 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $156 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd go somewhere else in future”
 of 5 bubbles ianmilne667, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Roof top bar”
 of 5 bubbles 522noelh, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms overlooking the Indian Ocean are best”
 of 5 bubbles 466japhetk, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Standard room and executive rooms are very similar.”
 of 5 bubbles amrid2015, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher Floors are nice”
 of 5 bubbles shaf_qh, 13 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5