We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heritage Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heritage Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
Start your review of Heritage Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

I read many reviews, but after checking in yesterday, I honestly have to say, life is what you make of it, and that includes your own attitude towards it! I love my tiny room! Being used to brilliant 5 star hotels, does not mean this is a bad room or hotel! Good quality furnishings, fresh linen, friendly staff, and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek N
Heritage M, Manager at Heritage Motel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Novello, Happy New Year from us here at Heritage Motel, We acknowledge the receipt of your compliments and appreciate the time you took to lodge it in.We really appreciate your kind words and understanding our Three star Motel, as it is,we shall not hesiate to share the same with our staff. Should you experience any problems during your future...

Chicago
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We stayed here in October after being in a bad car accident while on vacation. We drove back into Dar hoping for a really nice hotel room to relax in before catching our flights back to Dubai to get treatment and were unpleasantly surprised to find out that nearly every hotel in the city was sold out. My husband and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mauionmymind08
Heritage M, Manager at Heritage Motel, responded to this review

Dear Mauionmymind08, Greetings from Heritage Motel, We appreciate the time you took to lodge in your comments.Kindly note that we shall share your kind sentiments with our staff to enable them provide professional and consisitent service. In regards to the A/C problem,we truly apologize for any inconvenience caused;however should you experience any problems while staying with us,please always inform our...

Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is clean and our room was big enough. The staff were so kind and helpful. It's a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel to the ferry terminal, which makes this a great spot for catching the ferry. It is also well coated to see the sights of Dar es Salam.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gypsysoul81
Heritage M, Manager at Heritage Motel, responded to this review

Dear Gypsysoul81, Greetings from Heritage Motel, We acknowledge the receipt of your comments.It gives us great pleasure when our guests get the feeling of home away from home;kindly note that we shall share the same with our staff to keep them motivated and to continue providing consistent and professional service. Once again we thank and appreciate the time you took...

Reviewed 24 October 2016

I checked in to Heritage Hotel on the morning of Sunday 23rd October 2016 at about 5.15am and requested for a single room. One was available but then the shocker came much later after I had made payments for the room. They said that company policy dictated that since I had checked into the hotel before 5.30am, I needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aloyo A
Heritage M, Manager at Heritage Motel, responded to this review

Dear Aloyo, Greetings from Heritage Motel, We appreciate the time yuou took to lodge in your complain after your stay with us.After careful investigation,we found out that during your check-in you requested to know the check-out time to which our receptionist responded. Please note that for guests who requests for late check-out,we ususally approve based on the occupancy of the...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Nice budget motel. Only thing that was missing was room service.Please implement this as there is a nice restaurant next door. Otherwise it is a nice place to stay. If you do not need much, the dormitory feel might work for you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank archiechep
Heritage M, Manager at Heritage Motel, responded to this review

Dear Archiechep, Greetings from Heritage Motel, We acknowledge the receipt of your comment and appreciate the time you took to notify us.Kindly note that Heritage Motel has out-sourced the Albasha Restaurant for provision of breakfast in the restaurant. Kindly note that we do offer room service on case to case situations(e.g.if a guest is sick) or having an early check-out....

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 19 September 2016

As an American entrepreneur who travels throughout Africa and is rather "picky," I'm always looking for a nice hotel with affordable rates that is safe to stay in, conveniently located, with clean rooms (I usually get a room on the 3rd floor), various amenities such as in room wifi, coffee and tea in the room, TV with movie channels and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KenStewart
Heritage M, Manager at Heritage Motel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Stewart, Greetings from Heritage Motel, We acknowledge the receipt of your compliments and great experience you had while staying with us.We appreciate and don't take lightly your loyalty to us;kindly note that we shall share the news with our staff to keep them motivated in consistently providing professional service to all our guests. We look forward to have you...

Moshi, Tanzania
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I think the hotel's design is not appealing with narrow corridors and a dormitory feel. There are times at which the housekeeping staff are noisy. The furnishing is practical and the beddings are clean. Their breakfast is probably the best thing about this place. I particularly enjoyed the Lebanese.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rasberry_blush
Heritage M, Manager at Heritage Motel, responded to this review

Dear Raspberry_blush, Greetings from Heritage Motel, We would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had while staying with us and also thank you for informing us.Kindly note that we have taken the necessary action in ensuring that the noise problem you experienced does not recurr. We also want to thank you for appreciating the cleanliness of our Motel;kindly...

Harare
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Located in the city centre, the hotel offers guests an opportunity to experience night life in Dar es Salaam...The cost is also very good for your wallet! The service is also not very disappointing..i liked it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George M
Heritage M, Manager at Heritage Motel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.George M. Greetings from Heirtage Motel, We acknowledge the receipt of your compliments and appreciate the time you took to make your experience known via Tripadvisor. Kindly note that we shall share your kind words with our staff so as to motivate them in consistently providing professional service to all our guests. We look forward to having you stay...

Oman
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I’ve decided to evaluate this hotel after staying for several times in many years. The reason for staying is that the hotel is in the city center which is best point for commercial and particularly traveling by sea between Zanzibar – Dar es Salaam, walking distance to all commuter boats / ferry etc, good internet connection. To my opinion it’s...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Said A
Heritage M, Manager at Heritage Motel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Said A, Greetings from Heritage Motel, We acknowledge the receipt of your compliments and appreciate the time you took to make it known on this site. It is our daily duty to provide consistent yet professional service to all our guests so as to provide an experience that makes them feel home away from home.When this goes noticed,we feel...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

The manager was very rude to me as well as his staff. He treated me as if am not a customer. I left with a very negative impression about the manager and hotel. Staff are generally friendly. Was surprised though that I wasn't allowed to pay in local currency using my visa card.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ANDREW L
Heritage M, Manager at Heritage Motel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ndindi, Greetings from Heritage Motel, Dar es Salaam – Tanzania. We refer to your stay, at Heritage, from Sunday 5th to Friday 10th June 2016. At the time of your Check Out, we understand that you had difficulty due to non acceptance of your Visa Credit/Debit Card, denominated in Tanzania Shilling. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to...

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 km away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#31 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
131 reviews
0.3 km away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#18 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
209 reviews
0.3 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#7 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#15 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
401 reviews
0.3 km away
The Amariah Boutique Hotel City Center
The Amariah Boutique Hotel City ...
#32 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
35 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#26 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Heritage Motel

Address: Bridge / Kaluta Street | P.O. Box 786, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $85 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Heritage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritage Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Heritage Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a view away from construction sites around the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles aloyoa, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top floors are better galvanized against noise”
 of 5 bubbles georgemB7766BJ, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor room 303 or any room on the same site of 303”
 of 5 bubbles 320saida, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get rooms towards the road”
 of 5 bubbles RajS450, 30 Jul 2015 | Read review
“inspect your room first and check that everything works and it is clean.”
 of 5 bubbles TanZimSa, 3 May 2012 | Read review
5 of 5