We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 289: English reviews
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Pros: - This hotel enjoys a good location in Mbezi beach north of Dar es Salaam - Has many sea facing rooms - Large and well kept gardens where you can enjoy a leisure walk or exercise - Short boat ride to nearby islands and marine reserve from here Cons: - They don't start serving breakfast at the advertised time....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthonymJ8980FF
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Anthonymj8980FF, Thank you for staying at Hotel White Sands and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor., Your feedback is highly appreciated as it enables us to improve on areas we maybe lacking. And please note that all information especially about our website has been passed on to management to be rectified. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Very nice place, very good service. Always not crowded so u can easily enjoy ur time. Lots of local weddings around the beach during week ends. Lots of activites availble. A bit expensive entrance fees compared to other beaches. Sometimes the water at shore is not clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahmed a
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ahmed, Thank you for visiting at Hotel White Sands and thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to enjoy the services and activities provided. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Hotel White Sands Team.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

I spent to nights at Hotel White Sands for the New years. I must say we have had a wonderful stay! Risha assisted to make the booking and it was very professional service, Thank you Risha! . The check-in was smooth and easy and most important it was quick! Devotha and Flora keep smiling : ) The rooms were perfect,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alpamit
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Alpamit, Thank you for staying at White Sands during the new years festivity, I am happy that you were able to really enjoy your time with us and that the team ensured your needs were met with a smile, I will pass on the message to the team. I would like to thank you once again and look forward...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Stayed three nights, nice relaxing place to take a break from Safari driving. Very nice accommodations including comfortable bed, AC, hot showers, private outside seating area. Although a large resort, very quiet in sleeping quarter areas. Beautiful grounds on the Indian Ocean including several swimming pools and many areas to relax and enjoy the views of not only the ocean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Y
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl Y, Thank you for staying at Hotel White Sands and for taking the oppertunity to review us on TripAdvisor, Firstly I would like to thank you for your generous and detailed feedback, we highly appreciate knowing that a guest has trually experienced what Hotel White Sands has to offer, I am happy to know that all expectations were...

Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Stayed in White Sands for 5 lovely nights while attending a meeting. With so many participants, it was a huge effort on the part of the hotel management to ensure seamless services. A rich and diverse buffer was on offer at every meal and there was always enough for all guests. Enjoyed early morning walks on the beach and gazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank temituoyoo
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Temituoyoo, Thank you for staying at Hotel White Sands and for taking the opportunity to you review us on TripAdvisor. It is always a great feeling, to know that you enjoyed your time during the conference, as well as taking the opportunity to enjoy our post card environment. Perhaps on your next visit you will also get the opportunity...

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Depending on when you go (especially weekend daytime), this hotel loves to charge visitors an entry fee which, when: 1) The guard who is collecting the fee can't tell you what the hotel has to offer in exchange for it, and 2) There are plenty of free and frankly better places to go in the area, ...I don't understand why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin G
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gavin G, Thank you for visiting Hotel White Sands and for taking the opportunity to review us on TripAdvisor. In the Hotel industry every property is different and also run differently. We do charge entrance fee, like among many other beach side hotel in Dar es salaam, we believe in maintaining a standard for our guest to enjoy whilst...

Reviewed 13 December 2016

We had guests from Nairobi and took them for dinner at Whitesands on a holiday. At the restaurant , we were very unhappy with the service, the waitress brought food one by one, by the time the other food came, the earlier food brought to the table was very cold.We complained several times, but service was still poor. The Manager,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abida A
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Abida A, Thank you for staying at Hotel White Sands and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I do apologies for the lack of service you received, it is not the service we we stand for, but I am happy knowing that Norbert was able to assist and ensure that all went smoothly. Kind regards, Hotel...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Beautiful place but very poor service. I had visited this place two years back and then now. I find immense decline in the service quality. I had to call three times for few more bathroom towels and guess what I am still waiting for a bottle opener, which they were supposed to bring with my Coca-Cola bottle. At restaurant, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arjun M
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Arjun M, Thank you for staying at Hotel White Sands and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, I do apologies for the lack of services you received during you stay, and we will assure that it is addressed accordingly. Thank you once again I do hope you will visit us again soon to see our improvement....

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

We had gone for a day out . Everything was okay but our only concern was price. They charged us 50000 for adults n 25000 for kids at the entrance saying they have only buffet today. Buffet menu was nit up to the mark n we were disappointed. Otherwise all other things were good. I request them to change their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burhanuddin M
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is right on the beach in Jangwani beach. I stayed here for four days. The room was clean, and had all amenities. The staff at front desk and house keeping are really good at making you feel at home. Big up to the IT staff who made every effort to make sure that I got Internet on my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry N
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Terry N, Thank you for staying at Hotel White Sands and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Firstly I would like to thank you for your detailed and generous feedback and I am very happy to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were able t enjoy all services provided. Thank...

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 km away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
277 reviews
4.1 km away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
264 reviews
1.9 km away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#17 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
644 reviews
9.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
14.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The real gem of the East Coast of Africa! The White Sands Beach Resort is situated on an idyllic stretch of private beach front, just 25kms North of Dar es Salaam city centre, making it the gateway to a unique East African experience!Immerse yourself in the welcoming culture of Africa whilst you enjoy sincere, heartfelt GUEST service. The seaside accommodation comprises of 118 spacious, well appointed, standard rooms and 28 studio, one or two bedroomed apartments.Satisfy your palate with sumptuous fare from one of our restaurants, quench your thirst with an ice cold drink on the deck of the Pweza Jetty overlooking the warm Indian Ocean, unwind with a relaxing treatment from our White Sands Spa, take a boat trip to one of the nearby uninhabited islands, be adventurous and experience the beauty of the underwater world with a Scuba course from our PADI Dive Centre, have a work-out in our Gym or simply relax at the swimming pool or on the beach. Whether on Holiday, Business or Conferencing, the White Sands Hotel & Beach Resort is proud to provide our GUESTS with everything that they need and more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort

Address: Africana Road | Jangwani Beach, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $173 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel And Dar Es Salaam
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Reston, Virginia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are same and on seaside.”
 of 5 bubbles 168irfanq, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you like walking ask for a room in the 400's, if not get something around 200-300.”
 of 5 bubbles ewenlb, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a 2 bedroom apartment villa right on the beach. Room 119 - excellent , spacious and ideal for families and all the luggage”
 of 5 bubbles MiAlpesh, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles anthonymJ8980FF, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms closer to main area are no 300 to 330”
 of 5 bubbles Alpamit, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5