We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
Tunis, Tunisia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel Golden Tulip in Tunis has the "standard Tunisian service level": friendly but imprecise, not really professional, slow and somewhat old fashioned. The staff means well and tries decently hard, but one can see that training was poor and that they lack the understanding of basic, 21st century Hospitality Industry standards. Restaurants are OK (the Indian restaurant on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank henristetter
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Henristetter First of all thank you for visiting Tunisia, following the comment posted yesterday on the trip advisor site, expressing your discontent. Sir is it possible to specify whether it is our hotel or not ? we are Golden Tulip El Mechtel Hotel located in the city center. The positive things that catches our attention during your stay...

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the hotel room is convenient, and quite conformable. service is good. Breakfast was good too, with free wifi. The hotel is strategically located close by main attractions, within walking distance fro Habib Burkaibah street, and bab al khadra, old market,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samir B. S
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Samir Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience you had with Golden Tulip El Mechtel, We are pleased to read all the positive comments you mentioned ; please be assured that we will share your feed back with the respective team members because your satisfaction is important to us. We look forward to welcome you again...

Paris, France
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Well situated, has some fine restaurants. Internet is fine. Good security. Very clean. Beware of the taxis though. Take one from the street not from the front of the hotel. Try to get a room from back (park) side Verdict: Good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gp1973-tr
Adel G, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Sincere thanks for taking the time to post your comments about your last stay at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our services (room, service and location ) was satisfied your needs, also be assured that all of your remarks have been noted. Thank you again...

Spain, El Centenillo, Spain
Reviewed 12 October 2016

First of all very nice meeting and very clean hotel, i recommand to whom is going to visit tunis and looking for accomodation stay in El Mechtel because all facilities is availaible and the staff are very nice team .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nhkelaswai
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments; awesome to hear you enjoyed our facilities, service, and delighted you found the hotel "very clean" . Also we will share your comments with all the team that would be most gratifying to read your kind comments and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you...

Tunis, Tunisia
Reviewed 3 October 2016

English gap for communication. old furnitures and bath tube leakage of water. towels does not smell fresh but seems clean. bathroom materials is very bad quality. razor for breakfast purpose is not even close to shave! taxies out of hotel just wait for tourists to fool and over charge to destinations. Try to pick up from Street but it sometimes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ufukisik
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel... We sincerely apologize that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectation We assure you that we have taken into consideration all your remarks following the inconvenience occurred during your stay. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to have...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

I would not recommend this hotel either for tourism or for business. It is in need of refurbishment, with a stale smell in the room and in the corridors. The hotel is used by people from the region receiving medical treatment in Tunis. The lobby, lifts and corridors look more like those of a hospital than like those of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous2603
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologize that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectation I hope this experience hasn't put you off staying with us in future and we look...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

My wife, daughter & I stayed at Golden Tulip Tunis for 4 days - from 10th August to 14th August 2016 and we thoroughly enjoyed stayed at the hotel during our trip to Tunis. The room size was excellent with tea-coffee facility, however it could have been better if they have ironing facility in the room -they have daily laundry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sirajul2015
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Sirajul, Thank you immensely for your great review! It is with pleasure that we read about your holiday experience at the Golden tulip El Mechtel Hotel. We are delighted you found such enjoyment and comfort in staying with us. It was a great pleasure to look after you and I am thrilled to learn we are to become...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Average hotel need Maitenance spa is poor service is week I forgot my hard drive in the room and they didn't find it for me and they didn't call me back the price is fair nothing around the hotel to visit the porters are very kind and helpful to be honest I think they need to renew the decoration in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fadibenni
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, thank you for staying with us in Golden Tulip El Mechtel We would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay with us. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies Please be sure this does not reflect at all...

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Very very good Hotel at more than reasonable prices. Even during Ramadan, breakfast stays at 4 star level. Staff is very helpful and polite. Rooms are large and very clean. The big park right next to the hotel is the place to go running or with your children The Medina and city center is a walk away and one can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miguel N
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Miguel, Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend the Golden Tulip el Mechtel, we are so glad that you enjoyed our facilities of the hotel, and thank you for noting our friendly staff andthe convenient location to the Park and Medina... We sincerely hope you will keep good memories of your stay in our beautiful...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

I have booked this hotel for 7 days stay last October along with a Twin Kids. I liked the hotel room since it was big enough to fit for two beds and in addition to the double bed, there was an additional single bed. The room had all the necessities... tea kattel with sufficient no of tea & coffee bags...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manal1975
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Manal, Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor after your stay at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, we are proud that you enjoyed our great location and our friendly staff and we are so happy to read that we were capable of exceeding all your expectations during your stay as our team took care of you...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.9 km away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#3 of 53 in Tunis
339 reviews
1.7 km away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#2 of 53 in Tunis
417 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#5 of 53 in Tunis
332 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 53 in Tunis
284 reviews
9.9 km away
Le Corail Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Golden Tulip proudly opens its new doors in previous Hotel El Mechtel.Situated on the perimeter of the Belvedere Park, Hotel El Mechtel, now under the management of the Golden Tulip chain, combines the ideal world of both business and relaxation. Having gone under extreme renovation of it's rooms, reception and conference facilities, with a focus on service upgrade, the Golden Tulip El Mechtel is now prepared to welcome international and local guests, while still offering international service standards. Relax and recline in the luscious greenery that surrounds this pacifying hotel, where service is ready at the ring of a bell.Please let us know your feedbackPaul Z. DiabGeneral Manager ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Address: Avenue Ouled Hafouz | El Omrane, Tunis 1005, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Price Range: $85 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip El Mechtel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Golden Tulip El Mechtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel El Mechtel
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis, Tunisia, Africa
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden Tulip El Mechtel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Individual "villas room" are located in quieter areas on the ground of th Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles henristetter, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“i recommand the fourth floor”
 of 5 bubbles nhkelaswai, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the higher floor - 8th/9th - swimming pool view”
 of 5 bubbles sirajul2015, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“High Floor”
 of 5 bubbles americanquality, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Good views”
 of 5 bubbles welisawi, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay