We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dar El Medina

Expedia.comUS$60*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$62*
US$60*
US$62*
US$62*
US$60*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Dar El Medina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dar El Medina
See the most recent reviews
Showing 86: English reviews
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We spent the last two nights of our 12 days in Tunisia here. It's a beautified older house right smack in the medina, down the street from the Casbah, where there's the changing of the guard and other government buildings. We were in a top floor "junior suite" that had sweeping views of Tunis. The room was a bit odd;...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steven M
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred. We are sorry for this missunderstanding Again, your comment is helpful and welcomed in order to improve our shortcomings we hope that you spent or will spend a great time with us. Thank you for continuing to give us your feelings. Marahbé.

Reviewed 9 November 2014

If you want to stay in a museum like building - and the plumbing etc though ancient does work - this is the place for you. But be prepared for a very odd breakfast (a small ration of cake, orange juice, bread, processed cheese, butter, halva and jam) served in a ritual and painfully slow fashion. The staff are well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianw33
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred. Thank you for your critics we appreciate it. Concerning, the breakfast,please , be informed that is composed by : -An orange juice -Homemade cake - Coffee, chocolate milk or tea - Melaouis( Tunisian pancakes ) - Traditional Breads -Butter, jam and chamiya -Boiled egg -cheese ,Tomatoes and...

Northampton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 September 2014

Based on their website, I had great expectations of this hotel. It's just the sort of place I love: atmospheric, exotic, off the beaten track,full of character. And, in those areas, it did not disappoint. But. The staff (especially the male desk clerk who works the late afternoon/evening shift) was incompetent at best. Within the first few minutes of my...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank barbarsharp
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

The Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accrued. We are sorry for this miss understanding. Please be advised, that we are currently training our staff. Again, your comment is helpful and welcomed,in order to improve our shortcomings.

Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed 7 September 2014

Dar El Medina is a lovely small hotel / riad at the edge of the Medina. The hotelier is quite nice and the rooms were spacious. When my air conditioning didn't work (and it must in that humidity!), I was quickly moved to a larger room that had working a/c. Terrific place to visit Tunis from.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NeverHomeInLA
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

“Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accrued. Thank you for this comment. We will always guarantee you , with our best services and will be at your disposal. Again, your comment is helpful and welcomed, in order to improve our shortcomings.

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 5 September 2014

very nice roof top terrace without bazar hassle at one of the highest points in Tunis center, Rue Sidi Ben Arous is a nice street with local artists without the hassle of the two tourist streets. super relaxing atmosphere!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeLaura07
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

The Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accrued”. Thank you for this comment. We are pleased that you have spenta great time. We would be glad that you will come back.

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights based on the Conde Nast Traveler recommendation from a few months ago, but after booking, I became worried after reading a number of negative reviews. Upon arriving, the taxi called the hotel from the medina, & the hotel sent someone to get me. It was just a few minutes walk, and once I got...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1234_10
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

“he Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accrued” Thanks for your comment, we do appreciate it. Please be advised that Dar El Medina is situated at the heart of the Medina of Tunis. And as you know, The traditional houses have theirown characteristics and charms. Concerning the bathroom, Please, be informed that this luxury hotel...

New York
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were there three nights. Location in the Medina is great, but $140/night for a hotel that promises Wi-Fi and delivers none is absurd. (Some may say "You're in Tunisia, do you really need Wi-Fi?" Well, yes, if it's promised as part of the purchase price.) The cleaning staff was very nice. Our room was cute, if dark. The rooftop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian C
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

The Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accrued.” Thank you for being in our hotel. We appreciate any comment coming from you. Please, be informed that,the dinner is 20€, starts with: - A soup or a salad: Typical Tunisian salad called Mechouia - Grilled ( fish or meat) - A dessert - Mint tea. Please,...

Tunis, Tunisia
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very very nice private hotel with great staff (apart from the owners who often hang about putting everyone else on edge) and lovely decor, rooms and bathrooms. The rooms are a bit dark, as one would expect in this traditional style house, and made worse by lights not working (bit of simple maintenance). Wi-Fi was supposedly available but basically dysfunctional....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MaliTaus
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

The Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accured” Thank you for your comment. Please, be advised that we are a residence of charming, we had to keep the ancient atmosphere with its traditional aspects As you mentioned “it is a bit dark”, however it is not. We wanted to keep all the rooms as it...

Firenze
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I spent one night at the Dar El Medina with my family. We were given two rooms very far away from one another, in spite of having reserved in advance. The common areas did reek from smoke. On the evening of our arrival, we discovered that the rooms were not serviced, towels and toiletries were missing. The manager sort of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GiampieroGFirenze
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

The Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accrued. Thank you for your comment, we appreciate it a lot. Please be advised that the bathrooms have its standard dimensions which is conformed to our criteria : - Large rooms are about 33 square meters ( including toilet) - Small rooms are about 25 square meters (...

Reviewed 5 December 2013

a beautiful magical place with very friendly staff. the location is very strategic during the day since it's in the heart of the medina, however a bit spooky at night once the shops close and the streets turn ghostly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdithBabik
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred unintentionally and we hope that you spent or will spend a great time with us. For The deserted and dark out of season .As you know , Dar el Medina is located in the heart of Tunisia , where you can find all kinds of entertainments, restaurants...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.2 km away
Dar Ben-Gacem
Dar Ben-Gacem
#8 of 53 in Tunis
91 reviews
0.4 km away
Palais Bayram
Palais Bayram
#9 of 53 in Tunis
46 reviews
1.9 km away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#3 of 53 in Tunis
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#2 of 53 in Tunis
436 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#16 of 53 in Tunis
119 reviews
0.7 km away
Tunisia Palace
Tunisia Palace
#12 of 53 in Tunis
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Dar El Medina

Address: 64, Rue Sidi Ben Arous, Tunis 1006, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Price Range: $81 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar El Medina 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar El Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Medina Tunis, Tunisia, Africa
Dar El Medina Hotel Tunis
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dar El Medina staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Dar El Medina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are different, ask to see a few and choose”
JulianW828, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“There's a room with a giant balcony. Ask about that. We had one with a window that opened over the courtyard. Just as nice.”
  • Our comfortable room. Nice balance of antique and modern.
353jennim, 9 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Choose a room in a different hotel!”
Vnyrdr, 1 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Can only comment on the Dougga room, which was a nice room on the courtyard. It is chilly when not in the hot season (March) and no Wi-Fi at all.”
IanC964, 14 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Rooms we had are quiet but fairly small. Check that heating and hot water is working in the winter.”
GiampieroGFirenze, 6 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$60* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$62
Hotels.comUS$60
TripAdvisorUS$60
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates