We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ilala Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ilala Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,056 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 834: English reviews
Start your review of Ilala Lodge
 Click to rate
New York
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Gorgeous hotel that combines traditional design with modern rooms. Air conditioning worked great and the room was spacious and comfortable. The Palm Restaurant is a great place for any meal, and the breakfast that came with the room was plentiful and delicious. Loved seeing the baboons, warthogs, and waterboks that roamed the property. Within easy walking distance of the Falls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank epnewyork
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at Ilala Lodge for 2 nights and enjoyed our experience. We stayed in a renovated room in the adjacent wing, on the top floor with a lovely view of the watering hole and falls in the distance. Breakfast each morning was very good and especially liked being able to order hot breakfast in addition to the cold buffet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5280Tiffany
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our 3 week South African holiday. The hotel is perfectly positioned to enjoy all the things that Victoria Falls has to offer and it is well positioned for trips to the Falls themselves. Staff were all very friendly and switched on and the food in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is truly beautiful, the rooms where clean, the staff were very helpful. The food was great, everything organic. The rooms had beautiful balconies where you could see the beautiful African Sunsets. Overall, l would certainly encourage anyone to stay at the Ilala Lodge as its an unforgettable experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly N
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the recommendation and for staying with us at Ilala Lodge.

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When traveling, you often wonder if you are really going to get what you think you've booked, but the Ilala lodge went beyond our expectations! Our room was exceptional and such a wonderful treat after traveling for four weeks throughout Africa. We were tired and just soaked in the respite....modern fixtures, air conditioning that worked, thatched roofs that don't leak,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mkuboldi
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us for your 40th anniversary! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Ilala Lodge.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really loved this hotel. Very comfortable and very courteous staff. The food was delicious. It is located at walking distance to and from the Victoria Falls and to the border with Zambia. I also went walking to see the falls on the Zambian side. Both sides are worth visiting. The views of the falls are different, but both sides...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHARLES D
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying us us and posting a review. Our location is great and the Victoria Falls are within easy walking distance. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very comfortable rooms, well appointed with all the necessary aids i.e. hairdryers. Very friendly staff who were always willing to help. Special thanks to Heather the assistant manager who always helped and answered our queries no matter how small. Hotel nicely laid out, relaxed and public areas are spacious and comfortable. Small but sheltered pool, plenty of outside seating and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the in-depth review! Was a pleasure having you stay with us. Heather sends her regards.

medford, oregon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A very comfortable and clean room was combined with a great menu and pleasant staff. The hotel had a few monkeys to greet us, so beware. Well located in the town, shopping was easy. Our walking tour of the falls was met with great joy as getting wet is an understatement...We had much fun and enjoyed the stay. No complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank medfordcouple
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. The Falls at this time of year are incredible - guaranteed to get wet! Appreciate the feedback on your stay and glad you enjoyed it.

new york
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I haven't stayed anywhere else in Victoria so don't have what to compare it, however staff was amazing, service was efficient and smooth from check in until departure. Staff was knowledgeable and attempted to help us with everything. The rooms was nice and decent sized. Small pool centrally located, and the hotel is in an EXCELLENT location. We were able...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yupyup
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and appreciate the feedback on the different experiences of your stay.

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in early February. This is a wonderful location, within short walking distance of the Falls, the bridge, shopping, and restaurants. The hotel is very pretty, the air conditioning works like a charm, and the hotel restaurant and bar were both great. It was a very beautiful setting, and reasonably priced (mid-range for the offerings in the area,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica R
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the recommendation. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

773 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (679)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (167)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Dining (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (252)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.5 km away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,149 reviews
2.5 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
355 reviews
3.5 km away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
517 reviews
2.5 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,639 reviews
0.2 km away
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria Falls
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria...
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The perfect base for exploring all the Victoria Falls has to offer, Ilala Lodge provides distinguished yet affordable accommodation in a gracious and secluded ambiance. The hotel is ideally situated and is closest to the Victoria Falls as well as the town centre. Wild animals often graze on the hotel lawns with the spray of the falls in the background. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Price Range: $389 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ilala Lodge staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Ilala Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles 5280Tiffany, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“New building, upper floor, balcony. Room 52 - spectacular room!”
 of 5 bubbles mkuboldi, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try room 32 close to the facilities, but not noisy and you can see the spray from the falls”
 of 5 bubbles JonathanL992, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the lower level, and had a nice patio where we could have coffee.”
 of 5 bubbles JessicaR702, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If the cost is affordable, opt for the new wing.”
 of 5 bubbles 160824, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5