We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Alvalade

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Alvalade
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alvalade
See the most recent reviews
Showing 77: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 October 2014

Luanda is a very expensive city. Even though the Alvalade is one of the more economical hotels, I feel that a lower price (still $550 a night!) does not mean you can skimp on the basics. No hot water for one night, shower curtains held together with a shoestring, one plug for the basin and the bath, poor English among...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rasdok
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 15 October 2014

I was in the hotel in 2013 and now again. The hotel seems to be getting older and the rooms start to need some renovation. On the plus side they let you check in early (8:00) and check out late (20:00). The breakfast continues to be good, but the buffet at lunch is not worth the price (~75 usd). When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TudelaMartins
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Brief review this one. Been here twice, in the last couple of months. My company use it as a safe haven between returning from offshore and the international flight. The company arrange vouchers to be used for food and drink per person. These are worth $40 dollars. We get email confirmation of the voucher request a couple of days before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Japsnpr
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Working for the university of South Africa, I stayed in this hotel more than 10 times. Our work was tough and coming back at the end of the day to the Alvalade was always a pleasure. We used to take our meals there, which were very reasoable. The rooms are clean, with confortable beds. The hotel is really expensive, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica A
london
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Whilst I have eaten here at lunch many times, (food at lunch better than dinner), I have never stayed until last week. Location great if you want to be close to airport, left at 6.30am on return flight and took 7 mins to drive. Probably allow half an hour during busy times. Reception were helpful and check in and out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank middlegam
aberdeen
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having last visited Luanda 10 years ago I was overall pleasantly surprised by how much things have moved on. The hotel according to my prior expectations was overall OK. Public areas and corridors are well maintained, a little outdated but all kept clean. My room was slightly better than adequate. It was kept quite clean despite the various indelible stains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kontiki-T60
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed overnight on a day visit to Luanda. Actually very close to airport, but traffic can make it a nightmare. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Prices are on a very high side. The dinner buffet is costing upward of US$80. The spread was not something I'll call lavish, but good. Wifi was good in lobby but just about average in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Captbps
Island of Gozo, Malta
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First time in the Alvalade and the general experience was good. The hotel is well situated near to the airport with about a 10 minute drive in normal conditions. But beware of Luanda traffic! it can take you a lot longer in the mornings or late afternoons. The check-in process can be laborious with a multitude of forms to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pilotdean
TDHotels, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Alvalade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we want to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your comments on our services, which is very important for us. We try to make the check-in process as quick as possible but there are some procedures that it cannot be avoided, that is why it takes longer than expected. Regarding your food and...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was disappointed at getting the rack rate of $465 and then finding 1) breakfast quite ordinary 2) no English news stations on the TV 3) slow Internet connectivity 4) $35 cash for sandwiches and bottled water. Last but not least, the left hand of the hotel doesn't know what the right hand is doing. A half hour after paying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank constanttraveler71
TDHotels, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Alvalade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your comments. We would like to advise you that we do have an English news station in our TV channels grid. The slow Internet connectivity was because at that time the provider had connectivity problems and it was out of our control. We do apologize for the inconvenience and for the...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel lobby and rooms are okay. For $300-$400 a night you don't expect to be sleeping on a 2 twin beds... You have a flat screen with a number of channels. The room was okay, nothing special. I was grossed out by some the mold in the bathroom tub, but hey it's Luanda... The wifi was pretty slow and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sooner2004

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 39 in Luanda
182 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 39 in Luanda
114 reviews
2.3 km away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Luna Hotel Zombo
Luna Hotel Zombo
#12 of 39 in Luanda
14 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
9.8 km away
Talatona Convention Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A COMPELLING DESTINATION FOR VISITORS TO LUANDA Hotel Alvalade is an excellent choice for visitors to Luanda, whether for business or leisure. The combination of modern architecture, ease of access, great hospitality and welcoming atmosphere is sure to impress guests. A mere 5 minutes from the “4 de Fevreiro” international airport, this Hotel contains 188 rooms and 14 Junior Suites with Wireless internet, a restaurant, two bars, a Conference Centre and many services to ensure you have a pleasant stay. Comfortable, large and well equipped, here you may easily plan meetings, welcome clients or simply relax after a long work day in the city. Choose a room with Luanda Island views and experience the magnificent Angolan sunset. A truly unique experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Alvalade

Address: Av. Comandante Gika, Luanda, Angola
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Price Range: $420 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alvalade 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alvalade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvalade Hotel Hotel Luanda
Alvalade Hotel Luanda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Alvalade staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go somewhre else”
 of 5 bubbles keithcQ4955VD, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“view to the Luanda bay”
 of 5 bubbles JoaoRCosta, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher up would give less noise from AC units in neighboring houses.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanneSvensdotter, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view to the sea. West facing.”
 of 5 bubbles thehzos, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms have a good view over Luanda”
 of 5 bubbles SafariM, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5