We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Friendship International Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Friendship International Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of Friendship International Hotel
 Click to rate
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed one night in this hotel arranged by the tour operator, the hotel is beautiful and the customer service is outstanding plus the location was very convenient for us. Wifi internet connection works properly both in the room and hotel lobby area but lobby area connection relatively fast. Nice experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freyhal
E5939KRgm, Manager at Friendship International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Freyhal, Thank you for taking time to share your experience in our hotel! We are very glad to hear that you had a very good time and perfectly accommodated as per your expectation. Thank you for choosing our hotel and hope to see you again in your next visit to Addis. Hospitality Regards, The Management

Oakland, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the Friendship hotel while on our two week honeymoon to Ethiopia. We were traveling a lot from Hawassa to Addis and then to Bahar Dar and back. The Friendship allowed us to leave bags at the hotel between trips so we could pack lighter. They also have a shuttle that can pick you up at the airport if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BerkCE
E5939KRgm, General Manager at Friendship International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Berk, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback from your recent stay in our hotel! we are always ready to host our guests beyond their expectation and fulfill there request! we look forward to serve you again in our hotel in your next visit to addis. Best, The management

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the rooms are old and dated and are in need of some TLC, one night there was heavy rain and the ceiling had leaked, annoyingly it was above a table which i had my clothes on that I was to wear for the next day. the shower wasnt great There were a number of Chinese business guests that the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank narcher0
E5939KRgm, Manager at Friendship International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Our Guest, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay in our hotel! we are very sorry that you have experienced linkages in your rooms and slow restaurant service during your stay in our hotel . we are well noted and going on an aggressive correction action for all mentioned issues. Hope to host you again in our...

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nothing positive to say about this motel,every thing bellow basic stranded ,rooms dirty with bed bugs,over priced, dirty and dusty environment / surroundings, food uneatable, TV. a joke, outside noise. and many other

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miketodde
Management response:

Dear Mike, Thank you for your feedback and sorry for not meeting your expectation in your stay and Please note that all the unpleasant experiences you mentioned on your review are totally unacceptable by our management. And does not reflect our normal standard Hence, we conducted our thorough investigation and took an immediate corrective action. And if you can please...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Hotel staff where here friendly, I had arrived at a very busy time for Ethiopia there was an African Union conference and all rooms were fully booked. But friendship were friendly enough to allow me to stay they also included a free pass for me n my friends to enter their exclusive club down stairs

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience from your recent stay in our hotel! we are very glad to serve our guest in utmost experience in our hotel and we look forward to host you again here in our hotel! Best regard, The Management

Finland
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed couple of days with my family in this hotel because of our flight was cancelled due to weather in Istanbul. In this hotel nothing works. so bad costumer service from manager to low level special reception name called Lidia the rude human being I have ever witnessed as well as duty manager called Tibebe! Omgd they are extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bikil
Management response:

Dear Bikil, Thank you for your feedback and Please rest assured that the issue you have been through in the first place does not reflect our normal standards and we have taken the appropriate measures in order to avoid any future re-occurrence. Best, The Management

East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017

I was pleasantly surprised arriving at this hotel as it really is well appointed. Check in was simple and the rooms were great but the hot water takes ages to come through, wasting liters of water. The meals were good and the service in the bar and restaurant was excellent. This stay was totally spoilt by the loud music coming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grant W
Management response:

Dear Grant, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay in our hotel! We are very glad to hear that Our foods and services meets your expectation and we are very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise in your stay. In fact we accept that this noise was happened in the night of Friday and Saturday...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

This has been my third stay at Friendship Hotel. More restaurants and lounges have opened on the main street so that is a big plus. It looks like there is a new chef because the food has changed and has been upgraded; not that there was an issue before. This is a good consistent hotel in the heart of Bole.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Will S
Management response:

Dear Will, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay in our hotel! we are very glad to hear that our service were as per your expectation and we are looking forward you in your next visit to Addis with best service experience! Best, General Manager

San Jose, California
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Weekends are a time to avoid this hotel which is next to a big nightclub playing techno music which is causing the building to vibrate. Forget sleeping on weekends here. A little old and rundown, maybe not all that clean, but otherwise (on weekdays) not as bad. I stayed here at the start of my trip on a Monday and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve H
Management response:

Dear Steve, Thank you for taking time to share your experience in our hotel! We are very sorry to hear that you were disturbed for the night of Friday and Saturday though we did not receive any complains from other guests. We will check the sound and adjust as per the hotel standard totally avoid the sound arrive at guest...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Ethiopians are in general very warm friendly people, and you must enjoy the coffee after food PLUS walk in the late nights in the lanes of Bole road, without getting lost. Lot of night clubs in the vicinity... Review of the this hotel - 1. Ordinary hotel with courteous staff - except for the receptionists who look exhausted and wont...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VAggarwal1977
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay in our hotel! we always do our utmost to accommodate our guests. As per your feedback, Please rest assured that the issue you have been through in the first place does not reflect our normal standards and we have taken the appropriate measures in order to avoid any...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.3 km away
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
#18 of 118 in Addis Ababa
78 reviews
0.1 km away
Siyonat Hotel
Siyonat Hotel
#28 of 118 in Addis Ababa
68 reviews
0.3 km away
Harmony Hotel
Harmony Hotel
#19 of 118 in Addis Ababa
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#15 of 118 in Addis Ababa
212 reviews
0.4 km away
Kenenisa Hotel
Kenenisa Hotel
#59 of 118 in Addis Ababa
24 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#10 of 118 in Addis Ababa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Friendship International Hotel

Address: Africa Avenue, opposite to Alem Building, 200 meter inside, near to Robel Plaza, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Price Range: $99 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Friendship International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Friendship International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Addis Ababa
#25 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Friendship International Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Friendship International Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay above 6th floor!”
 of 5 bubbles Freyhal, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“try to get a room without a leaking cieling”
 of 5 bubbles narcher0, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Queen room on the higher floors is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles VAggarwal1977, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“chose a room at the higher levels for a better view of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles 409adnank, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles RaymondGonzales1978, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5