We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AVANI Maseru Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
AVANI Maseru Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for AVANI Maseru Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The hotel needs some updating...suggest staying at the other Avani if you can, since the prices are similar and there's a big difference, even with the food that's offered. That said, the service, especially at the restaurant, was very kind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S R
wvanheerden, Manager at AVANI Maseru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SR, We thank you for sharing your experience in respect of your recent stay with us. At AVANI Maseru, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction at all times and apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We are well advanced in finalising the project for the refurbishment of the property. We hope to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2017

The rooms are spacious enough but need some maintenance as there are some electrical wires exposed and the tap for cold water was to tight and not closing completely with ease.As for the mosquitos in the room during the night it was a big issue and no prio info or warning was given regarding the possibility of experiencing mosquito bites.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgekC2227EV
wvanheerden, Manager at AVANI Maseru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Khunou, We thank you for sharing your experience in respect of your recent stay with us. At AVANI Maseru, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction at all times and apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We have communicated with our service provider to provide a solution regarding the mosquito situation. We...

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This hotel used to be managed by the South African Sun chain. One can only imagine that they thought the refurbishment would cost too much and sold it to Avani. The hotel is in a quiet location. Check in was an issue. The clerk persistently insisted that our reservation was at the Avani Lesotho across town. After repeated attempts, she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmittleman
wvanheerden, Manager at AVANI Maseru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dmittleman, Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you have experienced in respect of your stay with us. At AVANI Maseru, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction at all times. Unfortunately, we did not meet our own expectation in this instance. I have met with with the departmental managers to address the causes of the less...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 December 2016

It is so obvious (from the buildings) that the hotel has changed hands! I have not stayed in the rooms, so I will not talk about accommodation. I facilitated a workshop over a weekend. The conference was fine, but service has nothing to write home about. The buffet was ok, but once again the service was boring. Does AVANI ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samkeliso_2016
wvanheerden, Manager at AVANI Maseru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Samkeliso, Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you have experienced in respect of your visit with us. At AVANI Maseru, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction at all times. Unfortunately, we did not meet our own expectation in this instance. The property is scheduled for a major renovation and we are well advanced in finalising...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 December 2016

The hotel has not been renovated since being bought by the new owners. There are obvious signs of wear and tear everywhere. Some upgrades are required to make it more attractive to travellors. Word of mouth is a powerful marketing tool and if the reviews are not great, you loose out on potential business. The restaurant menu needs attention. Of...

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mosilim
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 December 2016

There is no attention to detail. The carpets are old, chairs on the balcony were dirty, tiles are peeling, the bathtub needs re spraying. Needs TLC. The reception toilets also requires some attention. We were advised not to drink tap water so buying water was very expensive at R20 per 500ml

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank seswai
wvanheerden, Manager at AVANI Maseru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seswai, Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you have experienced in respect of your stay with us. At AVANI Maseru, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction at all times. Unfortunately, we did not meet our own expectation in this instance. The property is scheduled for a major renovation and we are well advanced in finalising...

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Looked like a nice place from the outside , but inside was terrible! The toilet seat was lying on the floor of bathroom , shower looked like someone had been butchered in it , exposed wiring in room, tv didn't work and balcony furniture was dirty from Previous guests. Won't be going back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Milesmet
wvanheerden, General Manager at AVANI Maseru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Milesmet, We thank you for sharing your experience in respect of your recent stay with us. At AVANI Maseru, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction at all times and apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. I have communicated to both our Engineer and Housekeeper regarding your comments for resolution and to take...

Ramsgate, South Africa
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Room aircon not working. The bed side light was short circuiting.Only one plug was working. Restuarant area at back had no aircons working.Beverages served where hot.Staff didnt understand english. Security guards service was poor.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pierresO8161XW
wvanheerden, General Manager at AVANI Maseru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pierre, We thank you for sharing your experience in respect of your recent stay with us. At AVANI Maseru, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction at all times and apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. I have communicated to both our Engineer and Food & Beverage Manager regarding your comments for resolution....

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel has a lot renovation to do. The gym is too small with old machines, the door locks are still keys. The food should be clearly labeled and pork should be separated as it's an international hotel. During the break tea, pork related eats were mixed with the others on one tray. The wi-fi is limited to 250MB per...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariam K
Johannesburg
Reviewed 23 November 2016

My hubby and I had an awesome stay at the hotel is especially loved the pool facility and the FOOD! Great menu great food and beautiful garden! Although I think it's a poor location as we couldn't sleep on Saturday due to some party or club not sure. Came to realize it's next to some night club or event place...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noma J

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maseru hotels
1.4 km away
AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino
1.3 km away
Kick4Life Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mpilo Boutique Hotel
Mpilo Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in Maseru
36 reviews
0.0 km away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
32 reviews
2.8 km away
Scenery Guest House
Scenery Guest House
#2 of 28 in Maseru
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about AVANI Maseru Hotel

Address: 12 Orpen Road, Maseru, Lesotho (Formerly Maseru Sun Hotel)
Region: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Price Range: $151 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Maseru Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your AVANI Maseru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Maseru Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Move to other Avani in Maseru, it looks better”
 of 5 bubbles pietrob504, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I prefer a room with pool view but the other side gives you country views”
 of 5 bubbles HansK774, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room at another location.”
 of 5 bubbles balkanari, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The suite was not that expensive and worth it if you want extra room.”
 of 5 bubbles dmittleman, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the poolside, although if you have small kids the pool is still not accessible from ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles mamosedim, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5