We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 216: English reviews
Start your review of AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed One Night. Value for money. Good friendly professional service. Efficient room service. Good quality breakfast (the bells and whistles all there). Looks like a great Hotel for leisure [big clean pool also gym (did not get a chance to use either) and casino (tie your mother down!)]. Lesotho has great scenic beauty and captures/reflects the true authentic African spirit...

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CasHansa
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Avani was said to be the best hotel in Lesotho. The receptionist was slow and kept us waiting long. The curtain when we touch was so dusty, and the table too. In short, it's dirty. It's sad knowing it's the best in that country.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 25rania
bopsyk, Public Relations Manager at AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

dear Rania thank you for giving feedback on your Avani experience via trip adviser. It is with great to regret to hear that you didn't enjoy the experience especially with regards to our housekeeping department. Avani has very clear service standards to adhere to,cleanliness being one of them however in this case it seems our team fail to meet these...

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at Avani for one night and, although it was quite expensive from a South African point of view, the service, facilities and views were all top class. I loved my time there and would definitely recommend it for business travel to Maseru. It's slightly outside town but being up on the mountain means amazing views, sunrises and sunsets....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thebluetyphoon
willem_vheerden, Manager at AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear thebluetyphoon, Thank you for taking of your time to complete the survey and for sharing your experience with us. At AVANI Lesotho, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction at all times and we are grateful for all feedback regarding your experience during your stay with us. I have shared your review with our teams who are always...

Boksburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I,were also privileged to be part of the Avani golf challenge.From the onset of receiving the invite, provided the itinerary and being kept up to speed with all the arrangements I can only praise each and every staff member that was part thereof. Linky and Shaun, If one has to single out some-one, made every effort in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wikusw2017
bopsyk, Guest Relations Manager at AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Wikusw thank you for giving feed back on your Avani experience via tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed not only your stay but so too the golf experience. the team at Avani Lesotho take pride in ensuring guest satisfaction at all times. the comments on your review have been shared with the team who...

Brakpan, South Africa
Reviewed 23 March 2017

My husband and I joined a group for the Avani Golf Challenge. Firstly we want to thank all the personnel involved with all the arrangements and the surprises in our rooms. The hosts Linky and Shaun were very hospitable and made our stay comfortable. They are surely assets to the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed the golf at Clocolan Golf Club....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank routen17pawnshop
willem_vheerden, Manager at AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear routen17pawnshop, Thank you for taking of your time to complete the survey and for sharing your experience with us. At AVANI Lesotho, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction at all times and we are grateful for all feedback regarding your experience during your stay with us. I have shared your review with our teams who are always...

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

1. This hotel has a very poor service. 2. The rooms are good and the cleaners do a good job. 3. The food is mediocre and there are very few options. The best thing to order is Salad. 4. Breakfast - you have to ask the staff to replenish the food every time. They have very low attention to detail....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adri L
willem_vheerden, Manager at AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Adri L, We thank you for sharing your experience in respect of your recent stay with us. At AVANI Lesotho, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction at all times and apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Both departmental managers have been addressed with regards to the comments in your review. Regards Area...

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Check in and check out were seamless. Staff seems very well trained. Breakfast was terrific with a wide assortment which was different each day. Omlette/egg station was available. Room was nice with a small balcony. Excellent service at the bar.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AuntieAnne22
bopsyk, Guest Relations Manager at AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Auntie Anne thank you for giving feed back on your AVANI stay. The team is very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as personalized service is one of our specialties. we are looking forward to welcoming you back at AVANI LESOTHO HOTEL AND CASINO.

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 5 March 2017

I stayed there on a business trip. This is among the best hotels in town. The architecture is very nice (from the seventies) and the rooms have been recently renovated. Overall, this is a nice hotel with friendly staff, although the rooms are a little small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jam R
bopsyk, Guest Relations Manager at AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Jam R Thank you for giving feedback on your Avani experience. It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our hotel to be one of the best. This review has been shared with the team who are delighted to hear that you enjoyed their services as high service standards and friendliness...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 March 2017

However I did receive outstanding service from Moho at breakfast in the Nala restaurant on 2 March 2017. Having noted my preferences on previous days, he ordered them for me even before I sat down. We'll done, Mpho!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeNgaara
bopsyk, Guest Relations Manager at AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Mike thank you for giving feed back on your Avani experience. it is with great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service received from our team member Mpho. this comment has been shared with our team members who are very delighted to have given you a great Avani experience. thank you again for staying at...

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

The stay at Avani was okay until I woke up one morning and in a span of 2 minutes found 3 roaches in my bathroom. One on the floor, one in the bathtub, and one crawling through my personal hygiene pouch. This is supposed to be one of the best, if not the best hotel in Lesotho and I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
bopsyk, Guest Relations Manager at AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan G Thank you for giving feed back on your AVANI LESOTHO experience via trip advisor. it is with great regret to hear that your experience was not a pleasant one,this said i would like to first apologies for the roaches found in your room. very unfortunately we are in the mist of a rainy season in Lesotho as...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maseru hotels
1.4 km away
AVANI Maseru Hotel
AVANI Maseru Hotel
#7 of 9 in Maseru
115 reviews
0.5 km away
Kick4Life Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Mpilo Boutique Hotel
Mpilo Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in Maseru
38 reviews
1.7 km away
Scenery Guest House
Scenery Guest House
#2 of 28 in Maseru
46 reviews
0.0 km away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino

Address: Hilton Road, Maseru 100, Lesotho (Formerly Lesotho Sun Hotel)
Region: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Price Range: $202 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lesotho Sun Maseru
Lesotho Sun Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pool facing rooms are the best.”
routen17pawnshop, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the pool and high veld in the distance is ideal.”
Phillyjanie, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a mountain view!”
825sr, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on the upper floors for a nice view of the city.”
, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suites are worth it if you're staying a long time--they have refrigerators and are much larger.”
aegreve, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5