We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lilongwe
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin\\
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Start your review of Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe
 Click to rate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Heuglins is a friendly place to stay, and ideal for workers or adults on holiday, The day is shared over a beer or Malawi gini and tonic with the other 8 guests (max) and the guests sit round a table together for a delicious home-cooked supper and huge breakfast. Dress is casual. Guests come from all over the world, doing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanieHampton
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Dear JanieHampton, Thank you very much for your lovely review of Heuglin’s Lodge. We are really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we are delighted to hear that everything at the property was to your liking. Thank you for your appreciative comments about the ambience at the guesthouse, our food, facilities and staff. We look forward...

Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

I am more of a hotel-person, but I really enjoyed my stay at Heuglins Lodge. A lovely bohemian building, good facilities and fantastic staff and ownership. Highly recommended for anyone visiting Lilongwe for business or leisure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Dear Simon H, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Heuglin’s Lodge. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to have an enjoyable stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments about the property, facilities, staff and your overall positive feedback about Heuglin's Lodge which we value so much. We look forward to having...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

A great oasis of calm in a leafy neighbourhood. A suitable spot to stay for an afternoon and evening before travelling home (or indeed on arrival if you're heading out to the bush). Great swimming pool and ‎yet again, wonderful food (this was our last of 10 nights in Malawi and the two packets of biscuits I brought remained untouched....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Banburybaby1
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Dear Banburybaby1 Thank you for your lovely review of Heuglin's Lodge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to relax and unwind at the guesthouse on your last night in Malawi. Our team is really delighted that we could make your mom's birthday special. We also thank you for your kind comments about...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

This is the second time we have stayed at Heuglin's. After a gap of ten years we found it to be every bit as good as the first time. The staff are warm and attentive. The rooms are well equipped, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The large sitting room is full of books and artefacts from Malawi - and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2easyrider
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Dear 2easyrider, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Heuglin's Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you have once again enjoyed your stay with us and we truly appreciate your kind comments about our staff, our food, our standards of service & hospitality and our overall offering. Yes our generator does help us to keep the lodge...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Yet again Heuglins, was the perfect guest house during my recent stay. As a regular visitor I have never been disappointed. The food, room, and hospitality from the team couldn't be faulted. Thanks to all the team and I'm looking forward to returning again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Dear Rachel G, Thank you so much for your wonderful review which we value so much. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the lodge. It is always a pleasure for us to host regular visitors such as yourself and we are so pleased to hear that everything at the Lodge has been to your...

Chertsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We were booked into Heuglin's by our tour operator as a stopover before our flight home to the UK. This is not a place we would ever choose to frequent. Our room was not adequately cleaned and serviced - no hot water, no drinking water left in the room, no torch (for the inevitable power cuts), no soap in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ange086
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Dear Ange086, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As you had also filled in the personal questionnaire we give to all guests we were aware of some of your views and would have liked to have replied to you privately but no contact details were left. We are of course terribly disappointed to have received our...

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Like a previous reviewer we ended up at Heuglin's unexpectedly because our flight to Nairobi was delayed for over 12 hours. A quick call to the colleagues we had been visiting in Malawi for an hotel recommendation brought us to Heuglin's, nestled in the quieter suburbs of Lilongwe - but still on the 'right side' of the town for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EOGdorset
Marketing M, Marketing Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Dear EOGDorset, Thank you for your lovely review of Heuglin's Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and were able to unwind at the lodge whilst waiting for your flight to Nairobi. Despite any stress caused by flight delays, we are so pleased that our team's warm welcome, was able to put you...

Singapore River, Singapore
Reviewed 17 January 2016

I had resented having to stay in Lilongwe because of the flight scheduling to Mfuwe, Zambia and Liwonde my main target destinations. It was with this attitude that I arrived thinking I will just bear this enforced stopover (3 times) . The friendly and homely nature of the place just blew away any reservations I had. This was not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LipKee
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. I'm pleased to hear that your stay at Heuglin's exceeded your expectations. We do strive to create a home away from home vibe for our guests as far as possible. I'm glad you were able to sample the fantastic bird life, we actually recorded 40 species in one day on our last count in...

uk
Reviewed 5 December 2015

I stayed here for almost three weeks while working in Lilongwe. A great base. A few tips if you are there - particularly in the summer. 1. Take swimming things - I wish I had. The garden pool looked very inviting! 2. Either take electrical equipment with a long battery life (as power cuts occur every day) or a spare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kn0wmad
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at Heuglins, though a shame you didn't have your swimming gear as a dip in the pool to escape from the heat is very refreshing! Unfortunately with electricity very unreliable at times in Lilongwe we, along with everyone else, are susceptible to power cuts. I'm sorry your stay coincided...

Schenectady, New York
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Heuglins is in what some describe as the better part of Lilongwe's residential area. Ambassadors' residences abound. The outstanding feature is the food and friendliness of the staff! Not the forced and canned politeness you so often get at chain hotels. Each evening the chef produced original, creative 3 course meals that were a hit with the guests. I noticed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noel S
Marketing M, Marketing Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to having you back again soon! All the best. Richard and the CAWS team.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
6.5 km away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
193 reviews
1.8 km away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
143 reviews
6.9 km away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
185 reviews
6.3 km away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
99 reviews
1.3 km away
Africa House Malawi
Africa House Malawi
#2 of 45 in Lilongwe
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heuglin's Lodge is situated in the peaceful garden suburbs of Lilongwe's residential area, yet is in a prime location being just 5 minutes from Capital City and just 35 minutes from Lilongwe International Airport. The Lodge offers a variety of spacious and tastefully furnished bedrooms accommodating up to a maximum of 18 people providing a perfect base for both visitors and business consultants alike. The lodge has 9 spacious rooms, broadband internet access, TV's in rooms, TV lounge with self service bar, fine dining, swimming pool, extensive gardens, transfer service within Lilongwe, airport transfers and a wildlife library. For business guests a business centre with broadband internet, photocopying, printing and faxing facilities are available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe

Address: 43 Off Blantyre Road, Area, Lilongwe, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Price Range: $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Darlington, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are as good as each other. You can't go wrong!”
 of 5 bubbles 2easyrider, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 is particularly spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles kn0wmad, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The lodge has a variety of differently configured rooms. Select one that fits your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles NoelS454, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room with attached bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles Yakalele, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The corner rooms in the main house are amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles LeahStockholm, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5