We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunbird Capital

CancelonUS$167*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$187*
US$167*
Great Deal
US$182*
US$187*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunbird Capital
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunbird Capital
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 24 February 2016

If the hotel cost half, or less, than it does, then MAYBE it would be worth 3 stars. Unfortunately it is priced beyond anything that might make rational sense given its quality and the alternatives in Lilongwe. For what it does cost one might expect: a workable wifi (there was no signal at all in my room), at least a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Genius
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review on Sunbird Capital. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for your experience here. If you are to ever stay with us again, we hope that you have a better experience than you did. Thank you once again for the review and for the feedback. We will continue to find ways of...

Settle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Good location if travelling to and from the airport. Rooms clean and functional, excellent breakfast. Have stayed here on a number of occasions and always found it very pleasant. Lots of corridors in which a compass might be helpful but a good place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewood2014
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your good review! We hope that you visit us again soon, and that you continue to stay loyal to Sunbird. Much appreciated.

South Africa
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Overpriced. Inconsiderate service. Absent hotel manager. A maze of stuffy corridors. A single threadbare towel. A loud drum band in the courtyard this afternoon. Tonight the courtyard is rented out for a 'private function' and guests are forced to listen to hours of loud loud disco music.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J S
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

I returned to stay at Sunbird Capital for a pleasant two day period. This time the hotel lived up to its best hotel in Lilongwe status. Food was good, room clean, good free Internet and good speed too! A recommendation would be to improve time to bring food once order is Placed. Sometimes this can take a while. Will return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joseph o
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, and we hope that you stay with us again. We will do better to improve on the time taken to get your food after an order has been placed. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 22 January 2016

I recently spent five days at the Sunbird Capital in Lilongwe. Very friendly hotel with generally efficient staff (fast with room service, laundry, etc.). Decent internet, thanks to an Airtel wifi hotspot, which is free to guests. The rooms were comfortable although nothing special. While I think that the hotel's list price can be expensive, there should be lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RockvilleTraveller
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you liked your stay with us and hope that you really do come again. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Maybe the prices are par for the course in Lilongwe (first time there), but it seems like you pay a lot for not a lot. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the staff friendly, but just seemed like they were charging too much for what you get.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gvaguy
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really do appreciate the feedback that you have given us. Our prices are subject to change depending on the exchange rate, but we do not compromise on the service that we provide. We do hope that you visit us again, and that you enjoy your stay.

Reviewed 6 January 2016

This was the first hotel I slept in the first time I landed in Malawi and had a chance to experience both the standard and superior rooms.The standard room is a bit squeezed but the superior rooms are spacious,have both a shower and a bath tub and a mini-fridge.The staff in this facility are extremely helpful and very polite,always welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Diana K
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review. We really hope that you stay with us again the next time you are in Lilongwe (and that you don't forget the hand lotion when you're leaving). We appreciate your feedback and hope that you do come back soon.

Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Very professional staff and incredibly friendly. Always happy to assist. Great food at a good price. Safe and secure. Rooms were clean and came with mosquito zappers. The only negative: the wifi was unreliable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gurleen H
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 December 2015

This is one of the oldest hotels in Lilongwe, I've heard, but not in a bad way. It is a large maze. The food at the restaurant is surprisingly good and your room includes a full breakfast buffet everyday which is very good. There is a gym, a small hexagonal pool, a business center for printing, and many conference/meeting rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Durhambat
Essex
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Very expensive ($272) for the standard of hotel and service. On checkin they couldn't find my Booking.Com booking, had a problem with the AC in the first room and was upgraded to executive room and floor. Executive club room not to the same standard of Crowne Plaza, InterContinental etc. Dinner buffet was acceptable but again pricing. Staff are very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
4.7 km away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
196 reviews
0.0 km away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
83 reviews
4.6 km away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#5 of 12 in Lilongwe
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
152 reviews
5.5 km away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
66 reviews
0.0 km away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunbird Capital (formerly Le meridian Capital) in Lilongwe Malawi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunbird Capital

Address: Chilembwe Road, Lilongwe 3, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Price Range: $205 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbird Capital 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sunbird Capital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Capital Lilongwe
Sunbird Capital Hotel Lilongwe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunbird Capital staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sunbird Capital staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about views”
WP664, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Nice location in the heart of the capital Lilongwe”
memuhu, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room with good wifi as this is bad in the hotel”
Lucien1972, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
andyw255, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“second floor is best”
145jkp, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$167* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$182
Booking.comUS$187
Orbitz.comUS$182
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates