We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Avenida

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Avenida
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 133: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't usually write good reviews because I don't feel the need to right good stuff about anyone since that should be the standard, so this is kind of weird. Anyway let me go straight to the point. I enjoyed stayed at Avenida, for several reasons the most important being the staff there really care about their clients. I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhawila a
United States
Reviewed 21 November 2016

I stayed here for one week for business. The hotel staff are full of welcoming hospitality. The hotel is located in an excellent location with nearby restaurants. The room is comfortable and spacious. My only complaint would be the hotel restaurant is a bit below average. However, there are great places within view of the hotel so you have easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
TDHotels, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you for your review. I am very happy that the staff was welcoming and accommodating and that you enjoyed the hotel location and your room. However, I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the hotel restaurant. We are looking forward to having you again as a guest, Best Regards, Rui Viegas General Manager

Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

A good place in central Maputo within walking distance to shopping and the sea. Very quiet place. Staff are friendly and helpful though the majority cannot speak English. Those who intend to hold business meetings will like this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
TDHotels, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Daniel, thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Best Regards, Rui Viegas

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I stayed here two weeks, and was very impressed with the service overall. Breakfast was very good -- nice assortment of options so you do not have to eat the same thing everyday. My only recommendation on breakfast is that they need to measure the coffee -- it tasted different every day! Service in general is very good, reception is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graceinbeijing
TDHotels, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Grace, Thank you for choosing Hotel Avenida. We are very pleased to know that your stay fulfilled your expectation! We are thankful for the time you spent sharing your opinion with us and especially for your kind words regarding our service. Your comments are of a great value to us and will contribute to improving our overall services and...

Cape Town
Reviewed 19 October 2016

The hotel is nice and comfortable, central, good rooms and very good breakfast with all you want to eat. The gym and sauna was good for me as I work out. Staff are friendly and many staff around. I have been there twice for business and will stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L0veCapeT0wn
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your comment about Hotel Avenida. I am very happy to see that we have reached and exceeded your expectations about our service. we do our work on a daily basis to meet the expectations of our customers it was a pleasure to have you and we hope to welcome you...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Excellent service, very efficient staff; experience fine dining at the restaurant, the food is amazing; very well located, it's a walk away from shops and restaurants, my top choice! Love it! Totally recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zpralesa
TDHotels, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write such nice comments after your stay with us. I am truly pleased to hear that we have fulfilled and exceeded your expectation regarding our service, facilities and food. Our Team's main goal is to offer each Guest's stay an unforgettable experience. It was a pleasure to have you as our...

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. I think it's a little overpriced, but the service is good for Mozambique. Breakfast is above average. The roof top pool is nice but small. The gym is completely adequate for a hotel. Wifi was good. Rooms are clean and very basically equipped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aaronma
TDHotels, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Best Regards, Rui Viegas

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 19 August 2016

The room is very beautiful, and clean. The closet sufficient even for someone staying for a month, They have a nice view and are close to the beach as well as many restaurants. The staff are quite friendly. Would recommend it over and over again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 898sharon
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Sharon Thank you for sharing your comment with us. We are very glad to know that everything went well during your stay. We looking forward to welcome back to our hotel in future! Kind Regards Rui Viegas

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Well localized and Rooms service are very good. The breakfast it's wonderful. For the other side the bathroom could be better. You could hear a lot of noise coming from another's bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik G
TDHotels, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Erik, Thank you for taking the time to write such nice comments after your stay with us. I am truly pleased to hear that we have fulfilled your expectation. Our Team's main goal is to offer each Guest's stay an unforgettable experience. And thank you very much for the suggestion regarding the bathroom, it is very important for us...

Lisboa, Portugal
Reviewed 8 July 2016

The size of the room is okay and with fairly good internet facility. The WC is somewhat small and the toilet paper holder is impossible to use when we are sitting on the toilet. The staff is very friendly and allways very keen to help us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paolo F
TDHotels, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Paolo, thank you for your positive comments.We have taken note of your comment regarding the toilet paper holder. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with. Best Regards, Rui Viegas

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
2.1 km away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#3 of 22 in Maputo
399 reviews
2.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
0.7 km away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Cardoso
Hotel Cardoso
#4 of 22 in Maputo
329 reviews
1.3 km away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
1.9 km away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#8 of 22 in Maputo
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the 5 star Avenida Hotel, you have 159 fully equipped luxury Rooms, of which 7 are Suites and one Presidential Suite. Every Room is equipped with free Wi-Fi internet, Air-conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, Internet, and many other details that will surely make for a very pleasant stay, including our Health Club, so that, even when on vacation, you can keep fit. At your disposal there's a Swimming-pool and a Panoramic Bar, and you can enjoy the local and international specialities at our luxury Restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Address: Av. Julius Nyerere, 627, Maputo 3236, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Price Range: $260 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Hotel Maputo
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Maputo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Avenida staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always ask for a room near the elevators. Corridors are too long.”
 of 5 bubbles 881paolof, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“upper floor which have a view front side”
 of 5 bubbles vrcsfl, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I recommend staying here i stayed at 8floor sea view”
 of 5 bubbles laricagoncalesg, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Sea side room is recommended for nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles luke19562015, 3 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are generally quiet, but to escape the afternoon sun, you might want to request a room facing the street.”
 of 5 bubbles TheLongestHair, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5