We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 270: English reviews
Windhoek
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our trip to Windhoek and staying at Chameleon. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The pool was very relaxing and rooms were nice. Would highly recommend to someone traveling on a budget, but doesn't want to compromise quality.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L7694MEamberb
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017

I stayed in a private room, and it was large, very nicely decked out, and a lovely place to stay - and for a really decent price, too. The staff were also super friendly. There isn't a huge amount of space for parking, but I squeezed my little VW in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Nick A debt of gratitude is in order for your input on your stay at Chameleon highly valued. I'm happy you had an amazing time with us. With respect to I trusted you remained on a night that we had a over flow of cars ordinarily when that happen it can be parked either behind the bar and if...

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

This place is great in almost all ways. The campsite is decent (although hard ground), facilities outstanding, breakfast is great, nice swimming pool, good seating areas and bar etc etc... One small complaint is that smiles from the staff were non-existent. Asking for anything was met with a scowl, like it wasn't their duty to be asked a question. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Alex Thanks for your feedback on your stay at Chameleon much appreciated. I'm glad you had an awesome time with us and that the unfriendliness from the staff did not Influence your stay. Regarding the unfriendliness of the staff I'm sorry to hear that but appreciate that you informed us so we can continue with staff training and better...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Really nice hostel, a little difficult to find with fans in the rooms. Staff is super friendly and helpful, I am very glad my friends and I decided to stay here while in Windhoek. FYI, there is a key deposit in addition to the room charge. It is refunded once the key is returned

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronisha B
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Ronisha Thanks for your feedback on your stay at Chameleon much appreciated. I'm glad you had an awesome time with us. I am pleased to inform you that we just install air-cons in some of the standard/luxury/honeymoon suite so in the future you have an option to stay in a room with air-con/fan. It was a pleasure to accommodate...

Province of Rimini, Italy
Reviewed 21 March 2017

The hostel is really nice. Very very nice, with a garden and a small swimming pool. Kindof central, but not really central. u have to walk about 10 minutes to get there, and u don t want to do that at night..anyway there is an indian restaurant right behind.Or have an early dinner....The hostel is expensive, though,23 euros for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spicchio123
Claire G, General Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Launa, Thanks for taking the time to review us and for giving us the chance to respond to some of the issues you raised. I remember this occasion well and yes, you’re booking was taken last minute on the day before the safari departed. The reason that we had space for you was not due to a cancellation, but...

Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

What great value for money this place is. I paid 110nd to camp. Yes the campsite was small but but the money I was not complaining. The breakfast was excellent. The staff super friendly. Thank you guys for my stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_082
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Amanda Thanks for your feedback on your stay at Chameleon much appreciated. I'm glad you had an awesome time with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate/know you. Wish you all the best with your continues travels. Looking forward to accommodate you again in the future. Cheers Rosa

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Good place. Excellent location. Breakfast good (try the muffins). But some staff go out of there way to make Windhoek sound like one of the most dangerous cities in the world. Far enough to give people some warning but making people read a board about how they can get robbed and how dangerous Windhoek is is taking it a bit...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Andrew Thanks for your feedback on your stay at Chameleon much appreciated. I'm sorry that we let you feel as if Windhoek is a dangerous city that is not the intention of reading the check in board with the information on , we had incidents of robberies before and believe me it can happen on your first/last day of...

Sweden
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Centrally located, friendly and what one would expect from a backpacker hostel. Surprisingly large as establishment with many kinds of rooms and a pool/bar area, kitchen etc. The service was good and the staff helped with booking taxis, shuttle to Swakopmund and they also seemed to offer quite the number of safari tours around the country. Great value for money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lasse L
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Lasse Thanks for your feedback on your stay at Chameleon much appreciated. I'm glad to hear you had an awesome stay with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate you. Looking forward to accommodate you again in the future. Cheers Rosa

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Chameleon two times during our journey through Namibia and both times we were more than surprised how well-equipped, beautifully decorated, comfortable and friendly this place is. The staff is really nice, everything is clean, you'll find everything and more than you need (free wifi, free breakfast, pool, hot showers, relaxing, well equipped self-catering kitchen..). They also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanja S
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Tanja Thanks for your feedback on your stay at Chameleon much appreciated. I'm glad to hear you had an awesome stay with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate you. Looking forward to accommodate you again in the future. Cheers Rosa

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 22 January 2017

I did not stay in the hostel part but saw the rooms. Very nice. I stayed in a luxury room which was large, clean and quirky. The room was very hot in the afternoon. They do have fast moving ceiling fans. I actually stayed in two different rooms. The staff was great. Every person I talked to. There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lalikes
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the feedback much appreciated. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a splendid time at Chameleon Wish you a lovely time and hope to accommodate you in the future again Cheers Rosa

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,257 reviews
0.6 km away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
4.2 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
343 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
200 reviews
2.2 km away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For Backpackers we offer dormitory beds. There is also a range of twin, double and three bed rooms for those wishing for more privacy. Our Guesthouse has spacious rooms with en-suite bathrooms having off street parking and a continental self serve breakfast included. Need safe long term accommodation while staying in Windhoek. We have 3 flats available for stays of more than 3 months. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

Address: 5 7 Voight Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Chameleon Backpackers Hotel Windhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chameleon Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Chameleon Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The guest lodge rooms were fabulous! (I recommend the Love Bird room for couples)”
, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with air conditioning, although all the rooms have fans...”
Viviane_Muller, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want an en-suite room, try and get one of the larger rooms in the guest house area rather than one of the rooms near the pool.”
aviatrix_aus, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in "Leopard" for 4 people, very nice and spacious room”
, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are wonderful and have animal themes”
Lil_0685, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5